XBox 360 Elite (new version for 2007) - Page 3 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #31 of 147 (permalink) Old 2007-01-06, 12:06 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 366
i like having a seperate HDDVD drive.

1) less chance of the HDDVD drive breaking since you play games for hours on end and the drive spins constantly. how much do you think it'd cost to fix?

2) i like leaving the movie disc in the addon and playing games in the main drive. alot less switching discs. ALOT less (is that an oxymoron? ).

also, MS wants to win the console war. they don't care so much about the format war. if they have to charge more for a 360 with HDDVD Built-in, that hurts them on the console front since only maybe 10% of joe public cares about that. look at Sony. how many more people would be interested in a PS3 if it cost $200 less?
riceman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 147 (permalink) Old 2007-01-06, 12:17 AM
Digital Sage
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Burlington
Posts: 24,794
MS cares big time about the format war.
james99 is offline  
post #33 of 147 (permalink) Old 2007-01-06, 12:47 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 102
They get royalties on VC1. If VC1 becomes the std for BR (it will) then they win either way.
lewdvig is offline  
 
post #34 of 147 (permalink) Old 2007-01-06, 12:50 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Welland, ON
Posts: 271
See the link below........A video with proof of the hdmi output.

http://www.youtube.com/v/tcACuy4x8nA

Yamaha 5660, Samsung 50" DLP, Paradigm Monitor Series, Bev 6000, Dishnet 501 PVR
HydrogenCyanide is offline  
post #35 of 147 (permalink) Old 2007-01-06, 03:02 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 194
YouDaMan don't worry about your second point. Microsoft would never alienate its customers by making a new version of the console where new games wouldn't work on the previous version. This is the console market not the PC market, no company is suicidal enough to do so.
QuantumFluxx is offline  
post #36 of 147 (permalink) Old 2007-01-06, 09:17 PM
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 357
My biggest concern with HDMI is if you would still be able to use Optical digital audio in addition to audio through HDMI for older receivers that don't support HDMI

LC60E77UN, 8300HD+HDD, TX-SR876, TSS1200, PS3, Xbox360, DVP642, H880
LC46D62U, 8300HD+HDD, HT-TQ85, Wii, HOne
macemuscle is offline  
post #37 of 147 (permalink) Old 2007-01-06, 10:59 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 366
Quote:
MS cares big time about the format war.
i think they are more interested in the console war, THEN the VOD war, THEN the format war...
riceman is offline  
post #38 of 147 (permalink) Old 2007-01-07, 12:52 AM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
Back on topic please

Let's not stray from the original topic - would/will you upgrade to Zephyr from XBox 360?



stampeder is offline  
post #39 of 147 (permalink) Old 2007-01-07, 11:01 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,491
I would sell mine (which I'm sure I would take a big loss on) and buy a new one only if the hdmi uncompressed audio for hd dvd was significantly better than the optical (I don't have any issues with the audio lag or muffled sound that a lot of people have been reporting so that is a mute point, and I would need to hear an actual side by side to convince me), and I pick up a receiver or audio processor that has hdmi inputs. As for video performance, component 1080i looks absolutely stunning on my 1080i tv so i'm guessing only a zero to marginal improvement through hdmi would be the case here.

But if M$ does do a free to cheap exchange/upgrade program (probably not but would be nice since I only bought mine at the end of Sept.), then I would be in for sure. It would be a nice show of customer appeciation for people supporting their product, which could at times be very agitating because of it's various issues.

It also would have been nice if M$ would have future proofed this console with hdmi from the get go, but I knew what I was buying and have loved every minute of it.

Last edited by eimaj; 2007-01-07 at 11:21 AM.
eimaj is offline  
post #40 of 147 (permalink) Old 2007-01-07, 05:55 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by HydrogenCyanide View Post
See the link below........A video with proof of the hdmi output.
I wonder how the guy in the video liked playing with no sound.
lorenzow is offline  
post #41 of 147 (permalink) Old 2007-01-07, 08:31 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,307
I play movies and games with volume on so the noise issue is a moot point to me. HDMI? Meh, my "old" HDTV has DVI and the 360 component output looks excellent on my 1080i set. The only thing for me would be the larger HDD. Still not enough to buy one all over again. I'll wait until the new house gets built in '08 and 1080p front projectors drop in price [for my HT room in the basement of course ] and then perhaps I'll add a new and improved 360 to it and retire the first one to the living room with the 57 inch set. That and hopefully a dual format stand alone player that isn't HDDVD crippled like LG's new toy.
HT gearhead is offline  
post #42 of 147 (permalink) Old 2007-01-10, 06:25 PM
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 357
Microsoft seems to be downplaying the rumors http://arstechnica.com/journals/thum...2007/1/10/6563

LC60E77UN, 8300HD+HDD, TX-SR876, TSS1200, PS3, Xbox360, DVP642, H880
LC46D62U, 8300HD+HDD, HT-TQ85, Wii, HOne
macemuscle is offline  
post #43 of 147 (permalink) Old 2007-01-21, 08:24 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: North Bay, Ontario
Posts: 226
I wonder how he did like playing with no sound.

Question should be, Where's the optical output on this baby?
You mean to tell me me i gotta buy an HDMI cable, PLUS still use the old cable just to clutter place in the back of my xbox, so i can hook the Optical cable????? humm...odd

but with 1 vidoe hookup, will 2 work together? I know my TV HDMI overrules. so lets just say this is the case, how will the sound work if by using HDMI the "universal output" is disabled?

hehe....i don't buy that video at all.
fuzzai is offline  
post #44 of 147 (permalink) Old 2007-01-22, 12:34 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
I won't do the upgrade unless my 360 dies (knock on wood). I get 1080p through VGA on my Samsung HL-S5687W and once I get a good audio setup i'll just use the optical audio (im not much of an audiophile, just as long as it sounds good im happy).
Malik112099 is offline  
post #45 of 147 (permalink) Old 2007-01-22, 07:01 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Downtown Toronto, ON
Posts: 2,149
Quote:
Microsoft seems to be downplaying the rumors http://arstechnica.com/journals/thum...2007/1/10/6563
SOP. Otherwise you risk killing the sales of the current unit as people wait for the new version (Osborne Effect).

They'll deny it until they announce it.

Gary

To HD - And beyond.
dialog_gvf is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome