Network printing problem - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 18 (permalink) Old 2008-10-20, 01:44 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Brockville, Ontario
Posts: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tanta View Post

Lastly, Lexmark phone tech support was superb!
Yeah, I Agree. Its from india (even though the guy on the phone will tell you his name is bob), but still high quality.

Panisonic TH-46PZ80, Yamaha RX-V550, Expressvu 9242, Xbox 360, Harmony 880
Steve0 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 18 (permalink) Old 2008-10-20, 02:37 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Quebec
Posts: 700
Yes 135iAndy; actually that was all that was necessary. You begin by right clicking on 'Properties' under your existing Lexmark printer icon in the Printer and Faxes dialogue.
Then click on the 'ports' tab: the checked port is the one actively used by the printer. If this port is correctly set, upon hitting the 'configure port' button, you will see that the 'communication status' is set to 'active'. If it is 'inactive', you backup to the previous dialogue and 'Add port'; Port type can be set to either 'Standard TCP/IP Port' or 'Lexmark Enhanced TCP/IP Port' (first appears after installing printer drivers, no idea how it differs from 'standard'). Then you type in the IP address assigned to the printer by the router, which can be discovered by printing out the diagnostics page from the printer"s controls or a simpler way is to 'guess' an address, from the known router range, and type it in a browser window. The printer has a 'web interface' very similar to those found on routers, and if it opens, you have guessed correctly, and can enter this address in the 'IP address' box of the new port. The port name is automatically named to IP_192.168.xxx.xxx. You check the box for this port and once again head over to 'Configure Port' and communication status should be active.
Finally, you have to set the new port all your networked computers.

I don't completely understand DHCP, since I thought IP addresses were dynamically assigned on a first come, first served basis. So I am not sure what happens, if after a router reset, the printer is assigned 192.168.XXX.101 instead of 102...

Tech support called back this afternoon to see 'how I was doing', so I asked about the 'Lexmark enhanced port'. "This was introduced for backward compatibility with Windows 98...the Standard Port is recommended as it is more 'stable' under Win XP."
Also if you use the 'extended domain name' of a peripheral for a port name; Windows will over-ride the IP designation, when DHCP is used.

Last edited by Tanta; 2008-10-20 at 07:56 PM. Reason: New info from Tech support
Tanta is offline  
post #18 of 18 (permalink) Old 2009-06-05, 05:30 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
DNS-323 NAS - can't print

I have a Canon Pixma MP760 printer that I plugged into my DNS-323 NAS. It doesn't print. Does anyone have a clue why?
linz70 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome