ASUS EEE discussions (all models) - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 119 (permalink) Old 2008-03-15, 06:20 PM
Digital Sage
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Burlington
Posts: 24,794
I never knew these notebooks existed until I saw it featured in todays travel section of the newspaper.

Interesting idea for travel. 7" and 2 lbs.
james99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 119 (permalink) Old 2008-03-16, 12:59 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Vaughan, Ontario (near Dufferin and Steeles)
Posts: 1,894
Quote:
Originally Posted by james99 View Post
I never knew these notebooks existed until I saw it featured in todays travel section of the newspaper.

Interesting idea for travel. 7" and 2 lbs.
Not if you're going to the USA. http://www.abajournal.com/news/suit_...rder_searches/ One quote from the article...
Quote:
But child pornographers and terrorists aren’t the only people caught up in the searches. The Post talked to a therapist who said her cell phone messages were erased by a border agent and a marketing executive who said the government seized her laptop at Dulles International Airport more than a year ago, and still has not returned it.
In plain English, US customs can seize your laptop without giving any reason and they can hang on to it forever.

OTA brings you crystal-clear, uncompressed HDTV, no simsubbing, and the real SuperBowl commercials. You can't get all that on satellite... OR CABLE.
Walter Dnes is offline  
post #18 of 119 (permalink) Old 2008-03-20, 02:12 PM
Digital Sage
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Burlington
Posts: 24,794
Just picked this up at lunch today. Got the 4gb model with a built-in webcam. Black of course.

Have the 7" inch model.
james99 is offline  
 
post #19 of 119 (permalink) Old 2008-03-20, 04:42 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lincoln.NB Pop 492,823
Posts: 6,434
Here's a question for you. If you put either Linux or XP on your EEE PC, where does it store it? In the 4GB memory? That doesn't give you much space to run anything else, no? I'm trying to understand how it works cause I would like to dump MyPal 716 for one of those. I have WinSE 2003 (running on system memory) but most of my programs are on flash memory or SD cards.

Home Theatre: Yamaha HTR-6190, Klipsch Speakers, SANYO PLV-Z4, TOSHIBA HDDVD, LG BD555C, Cerwin Vega HTS12 Sub, VIP2300, XBox 360, HTPC.
Danster is offline  
post #20 of 119 (permalink) Old 2008-03-20, 05:38 PM
Digital Sage
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Burlington
Posts: 24,794
It probably does. I doubt I have much room left of that 4gb. That being said, I can easily store data on USB or SD cards and just use the 4gb for applications.
james99 is offline  
post #21 of 119 (permalink) Old 2008-03-21, 01:40 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lincoln.NB Pop 492,823
Posts: 6,434
So, what have you done so far with your new EEE PC?

Home Theatre: Yamaha HTR-6190, Klipsch Speakers, SANYO PLV-Z4, TOSHIBA HDDVD, LG BD555C, Cerwin Vega HTS12 Sub, VIP2300, XBox 360, HTPC.
Danster is offline  
post #22 of 119 (permalink) Old 2008-03-21, 01:51 PM
Digital Sage
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Burlington
Posts: 24,794
replying to this message. I'm at Tim's now.

The HDD is 2/3 full with the 4gb model. I have my SDHC card with my vacation photos in the SD slot, They play fine.

Overall, I'm happy with this bad boy, Not something you would use everyday but it's good for internet cafes, vacations, or anywhere is a hotspot.

Lots of s/w pre-intalled. Firefox for browsing. Thunderbird for email.

Women will love this since it fits easily inside a purse, plus they have smaller fingers.
james99 is offline  
post #23 of 119 (permalink) Old 2008-03-21, 04:15 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,605
Those little computers are definitely useful. Just like James99, I use my Fujitsu U810 in exactly the same way. It's so incredibly convenient when compared even with the smallest notebook class computer currently available.

The eeePC 900 will probably become the benchmark for UMPCs to come. Already, the screen is just the right size and resolution for that class of device. All they need to do now is ensure there's enough processor power, memory and HD space for just about any OS and general purpose app available today.
Francois Caron is offline  
post #24 of 119 (permalink) Old 2008-03-22, 10:15 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lincoln.NB Pop 492,823
Posts: 6,434
james99,
what OS are you using? Let me guess, Linux?

Home Theatre: Yamaha HTR-6190, Klipsch Speakers, SANYO PLV-Z4, TOSHIBA HDDVD, LG BD555C, Cerwin Vega HTS12 Sub, VIP2300, XBox 360, HTPC.
Danster is offline  
post #25 of 119 (permalink) Old 2008-03-22, 10:37 AM
Digital Sage
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Burlington
Posts: 24,794
It came with Linux pre-installed. It's a custom version. I need to become more familiar with it so I can customize the PC. Not sure if it's possible or not but a few PC EEE websites exists for tips, etc.

I installed Opera last night. Works semi-fine but I have to hunt to the exe file in order to run it. Can hit Start, Programs, etc.

Opera also stalls when loading a page. Perhaps it works differently than Firefox when it loads a page.

So far I'm happy. You need to get used to the small screen. Not always easy but since some people surf the internet with cell phones and PSP, this guy is a beast.
james99 is offline  
post #26 of 119 (permalink) Old 2008-03-22, 04:07 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lincoln.NB Pop 492,823
Posts: 6,434
Here's a noob linux question: can it run certain microsoft programs using some emulator or something? If so, then that little pc would definately replace my pocket pc.

Home Theatre: Yamaha HTR-6190, Klipsch Speakers, SANYO PLV-Z4, TOSHIBA HDDVD, LG BD555C, Cerwin Vega HTS12 Sub, VIP2300, XBox 360, HTPC.
Danster is offline  
post #27 of 119 (permalink) Old 2008-03-22, 04:20 PM
Digital Sage
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Burlington
Posts: 24,794
Not sure. That being said it does have OpenOffice which has a spreadsheet and word program that reads MS Office files.
james99 is offline  
post #28 of 119 (permalink) Old 2008-03-22, 08:46 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Vaughan, Ontario (near Dufferin and Steeles)
Posts: 1,894
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danster View Post
Here's a noob linux question: can it run certain microsoft programs using some emulator or something? If so, then that little pc would definately replace my pocket pc.
It can be done for quite few programs, but WINE can require quite a bit of tweaking, which may be beyond the knowledge level of a linux newbie. What program or functionality are you concerned about? There may be a native linux program that can do the same.

OTA brings you crystal-clear, uncompressed HDTV, no simsubbing, and the real SuperBowl commercials. You can't get all that on satellite... OR CABLE.
Walter Dnes is offline  
post #29 of 119 (permalink) Old 2008-03-22, 11:27 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lincoln.NB Pop 492,823
Posts: 6,434
I didn't have any particlar program in mind. It's just that most of my library of program works on the MS OS. If I get this EEPC with Linux on it, I thought I could just run any program from MS without having to put the XP system which hogs so much ressources.

If I use this WINE program, by tweaking, are we talking major headache? Having gone through many different setups through my computer years, it surely can't be that mystical...

Home Theatre: Yamaha HTR-6190, Klipsch Speakers, SANYO PLV-Z4, TOSHIBA HDDVD, LG BD555C, Cerwin Vega HTS12 Sub, VIP2300, XBox 360, HTPC.
Danster is offline  
post #30 of 119 (permalink) Old 2008-03-23, 01:05 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
Cool WINE Platinum or Gold Apps for Eee

WINE is a mature product, so there isn't much tweaking to do if your app is on their lists of Platinum or Gold apps: http://appdb.winehq.org/ (in the Top 10 lists click on the word Platinum to see the whole list, and do the same with Gold). I think you'll be quite suprised at the quantity of Windows-based apps that perform flawlessly on Linux.

If your required app is on their Silver or lower lists or is something really oddball like a custom-coded CadCam app with a parallel port key or something like that, you aren't likely to get it running without a fair bit of tweaking if at all.

My advice is to check out which apps are already on an Eee and find out what they can do. Most or all of what you do is there for you already.

The Eee is meant to do what it is advertised to do. It is not meant to be a replacement for a Vista laptop.

I'm considering getting one for my son, the non-computer type who just needs his email/web/calendar/office apps to work with no viruses and with as few risks of security issues as possible.



stampeder is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome