Connecting PC to HDTV via DVI cable? - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 22 (permalink) Old 2005-11-17, 03:52 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Vancouver Area
Posts: 251
Get stuck into sites like :

http://www.tigerdave.com/wgl/
http://www.widescreengamingforum.com/

They will solve your problem, assuming that you can get 1920x1080 when using Windows to play video or web-browse
Jeffnoone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 22 (permalink) Old 2006-08-08, 02:30 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
New to DVI

Hi all. I'm new to this forum & new to the world of DVI video too, and am having a problem. Hope someone can help!

I bought a Hyundai ImageQuest 32" LCD TV that has a DVI-in port, and have tried to connect it to my home computer DVI-out (MSI GeForce 6600GT video card) with a 15' cable. The resulting picture on the TV has an extreme red hue to it despite any fiddling I try on either end. Not sure if the TV is malfunctioning? Is the PC or video card defective? Bad cable?? I can't tell what's wrong Can anyone relate to this problem, is it common? Any suggestions for how to correct? Thanks in advance guys!
IVxIV is offline  
post #18 of 22 (permalink) Old 2006-08-08, 05:54 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Woodbridge, ON
Posts: 328
HTPC with Sony KFE50A10 which method to connect video

I currently have my HTPC connected to the Sony TV via the TV's VGA port. I used powerstrip as well to get a resolution that closely matches a per pixel display. Be that as it may, I was wondering if I should use my graphics card's DVI connector to the TV's HDMI input so that the signal is totally digital and I get a per pixel display.

Anyone have any feedback regarding this kind of setup? Should I just stick with what I have?

Thanks.

Lobo
Lobo is offline  
 
post #19 of 22 (permalink) Old 2006-08-09, 02:57 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,201
Quote:
Originally Posted by IVxIV
...Any suggestions for how to correct? Thanks in advance guys!
Sounds like a cable problem.
Can you try another short (not more than 6') one?

Have you tried connecting any other player to your TV?

You must have color correction for each connection on your TV. Did you change anything?

Diogen.
diogen is offline  
post #20 of 22 (permalink) Old 2006-08-09, 03:01 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,201
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lobo
...Should I just stick with what I have?
If it works and you like it - why change it?

Yes, passing digital _can_ be better.
But you may have to play with PowerStrip again and possibly re-calibrate your TV set (for this particular connection).
If this is your hobby and you enjoy it - go for it.

Diogen.

EDIT: I think both last questions would be more suitable in the HTPC section.

Last edited by diogen; 2006-08-09 at 03:08 PM.
diogen is offline  
post #21 of 22 (permalink) Old 2006-08-14, 11:02 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by diogen
Sounds like a cable problem.
Can you try another short (not more than 6') one?

Have you tried connecting any other player to your TV?

You must have color correction for each connection on your TV. Did you change anything?

Diogen.
Yes thanks Diogen it did turn out to be a dud cable (whew!). But however, the 15' cable that I originally used that had the problem was replaced by a 25' cable that wound up working perfectly! Hmm, what is the maximum length that DVI cable can be used before noticing video quality loss?
IVxIV is offline  
post #22 of 22 (permalink) Old 2006-08-15, 11:28 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,201
Quote:
Originally Posted by IVxIV
...what is the maximum length that DVI cable can be used before noticing video quality loss?
I don't know.
For cable lengths up to 6' I think almost any cable will do.
As soon as you cross 10' you better pay attention to quality, I'd go with a brand name (but not Monster ).
Above 25' I'd look for people with first hand experience.
Above 50' - I'd probably try to re-arrange equipment in home theatre.

Diogen.
diogen is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome