Installing Samsung PCI SSD - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By ExDilbert

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 2018-12-14, 12:38 PM Thread Starter
Rookie

Installing Samsung PCI SSD

Hello,

I have a Dell Alienware Aurora R6. It came with a standard hard drive, 1T, which is quite slow. I just purchased a Samsung PCI SSD.

I am not very tech savvy at all, I barely know what a BIOS is, let alone have any knowledge in how to operate within the BIOS or makes changes there.

Would anyone be able to link me to a website or post a very details set of instructions on how to install a PCI SSD and then everything that comes after that. I would like to reformat my old hard drive as well, which I think may have a virus. I've run avast and malware already.

I'm hoping to find a detailed set of instructions that will explain in detail how to install windows and then direct the computer to book from the newly installed PCI SSD.

thank you.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 2018-12-14, 04:17 PM
Veteran

I assume you mean an M.2 PCIe drive. According to its specs, the Dell Alienware Aurora R6 has an M.2 PCIe slot.

Obtain some drive mirroring software. This should be available on the drive manufacturer's web site. Use this to create a bootable USB drive. Test the drive to make sure it boots correctly. You may need to press F11 or F12 during the boot process.