Info on SSDs - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 2015-05-07, 01:40 AM Thread Starter

Info on SSDs

Hi.

I'm new to the SSD and I'm looking to get one for my home desktop.

Can anyone tell me some features that I should definitely get when looking for an SSD?

And what should I avoid?

Lastly, if you know of a super deal on a quality product, please do let me know.

I'm thinking around the 250GB range because it seems that those are about $100, which is what my budget is.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 2015-05-07, 02:10 AM
OTA Forum Moderator

Hi, please tell us about the SATA specifications of the machine that you intend to install one into, and let us know which OS you will be running.

post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 2015-05-07, 05:39 AM

Stampeders questions are the most important.
I agree that 240-250 Gb is the sweet spot for price at the moment with the 440-512 size starting to drop to a decent price. My three home desktops have all been retrofitted with SSD. They run W7 and W10

All mine are Samsung 840 drives bought at various times ( and prices!) Intel and Crucial both have a good reputation for these devices.

Transferring the system onto SSD does need some preparation if you have a machine with a big drive and lots of data to determine what apart from the OS should be moved...the SSD manufacturers try to make it sound simple but as you do not want to put any really volatile data ( like TEMP or the Browser cache ) onto the SSD it takes some thought.

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 2015-05-07, 09:09 AM
Veteran

I have been using the Kingston SSD drives here for over a year now.. haven't had an issue yet.
(both desktops, and as laptop replacements).

In some cases, it was a just drive clone from the old regular platter drive to the SSD.

Already a HUGE performance boost, on Win 7.