Do you use Java? - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
View Poll Results: Do you have Java on your primary home PC?
Windows YES 34 65.38%
Windows NO 8 15.38%
Mac OS X YES 2 3.85%
Mac OS X NO 2 3.85%
Linux YES 6 11.54%
LINUX NO 0 0%
Voters: 52. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 27 (permalink) Old 2014-08-15, 12:43 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,130
Kids play Minecraft so Java is everywhere for me unfortunately.
j0dest3r is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 27 (permalink) Old 2014-08-15, 06:55 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,485
Some earlier versions of Java did not update properly so it is very possible that an insecure Java component is still on any system. Newer updates provide an option to check for older versions. It's a good idea to use it, or use something like Secunia PSI that will detect insecure files on a system. Java updates are such a PITA that there are probably lots of insecure installations.
ExDilbert is offline  
post #18 of 27 (permalink) Old 2014-08-15, 11:06 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 991
If you need Java for just 1-2 tasks that are not the primary ones on your PC, run it on a Windows VM.
An average computer today is powerful enough to run a 2GB RAM/20GB HHD Windows VM under VMware Player (free) when it is needed.
Easy backup/rollback. No danger to your main system if Java screws something up inside your VM...
four is offline  
 
post #19 of 27 (permalink) Old 2014-08-20, 04:30 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,130
Or just keep on top of your updates and have the plugin work in a second browser and not in the one you use daily. For me Firefox has the plugin disabled but enabled for IE.
j0dest3r is offline  
post #20 of 27 (permalink) Old 2014-08-20, 06:48 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,455
I don't have the JRE installed on any of the Windows PCs I use, if that is what you mean.
classicsat is offline  
post #21 of 27 (permalink) Old 2014-08-20, 10:01 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,485
Java and IE. From a security viewpoint, that seems like a bad combination.
ExDilbert is offline  
post #22 of 27 (permalink) Old 2014-08-21, 08:47 AM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,116
My work computer which I have little control over has an older version of IE as the default browser and Java 6 Update 45. Which I am pretty sure is a VERY bad idea.

Oh and we still have lots of XP machines running.
Jake is offline  
post #23 of 27 (permalink) Old 2014-08-21, 12:26 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,130
Quote:
Originally Posted by ExDilbert View Post
Java and IE. From a security viewpoint, that seems like a bad combination.
Where you go and what you do with that combo is what puts you at risk. It's used for very specific purposes. The Firefox with no JAVA enabled is used for general use.
j0dest3r is offline  
post #24 of 27 (permalink) Old 2014-08-21, 12:34 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake View Post
My work computer which I have little control over has an older version of IE as the default browser and Java 6 Update 45. Which I am pretty sure is a VERY bad idea.

Oh and we still have lots of XP machines running.
Sounds like you guys are ripe for a cyber intrusion. IIRC JAVA 6 is EOL but there was a final patch issued for organizations that still required JAVA 6. Update 51 I think but it was designed to buy time to get your apps over to JAVA 7.
j0dest3r is offline  
post #25 of 27 (permalink) Old 2015-02-22, 02:30 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
When I installed Azureus I started playing Freecol.
When I uninstalled Vuze I kept on playing Freecol.
Rogue_Simulant is offline  
post #26 of 27 (permalink) Old 2015-03-02, 08:20 AM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,116
We are still using Java 6 Update 45 here. Our workstations are administered remotely so we are unable to fix that.

We get weekly lectures on internet security yet they are powerless to block the multiple phishing emails/day we receive.

Sigh.
Jake is offline  
post #27 of 27 (permalink) Old 2015-10-10, 01:10 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Victoria
Posts: 577
Does anyone know if Java security issues still persist? I have it disabled on my PC at home. However I do need it to run for telework purposes. Is it safe now to enable and does using Explorer or Firefox (my default) make a difference?
Nighthawk 1 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome