go to NAS direct or through file explorer? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 2014-07-15, 04:35 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: GTA
Posts: 234
go to NAS direct or through file explorer?

I have an NAS storage drive on my home network. When transfering files from one directory to another directory (both on same NAS drive) using my windows laptop it seems to take quite a while. The other day I logged directly on to the NAS from the same laptop this time going through the browser rather than the file explorer it appeared to transfer files almost instantly. When I was using the file browser (not logged directly onto the NAS) do the files have to some how make an extra time consuming leap. Or was it just coincidental?

Thanks
okmrbh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 2014-07-15, 05:00 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Toronto Downtown, Bell VDSL Fibe
Posts: 286
Using Explorer requires the files to travel to your PC to then be sent back to the NAS - a double unnecessary journey.
Using the web interface moves them directly, just like if they were on your PC and being moved from one part of hard drive to another.

Former Rogers VIP, now Bell Fibe, Sony KDL40W3000, BDPS350, Philips Streamium NP2500 (2). DS209 NAS, Playbook
Norman_C is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 2014-07-15, 05:18 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: GTA
Posts: 234
Thanks, yes that's what I thought might be happening but just assumed that since I was transferring within the NAS that it would skip touting through my pc. Strange that it does that but at least now I know the more efficient way.
okmrbh is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 2014-07-21, 11:48 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 560
can still use Explorer, just need to both explorer windows connect the same way.

Eg if the NAS is mapped to a drive and both windows opened from drive instant transfers. If one window opened from mapped drive, other say from network, you're transferring through PC.
das75 is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 2014-07-22, 01:52 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 7,934
It also depends on how the NAS files are mapped or, in other words, how Windows sees them. If the files are on different shares, Windows treats then as being on separate drives, even though the may be on the same drive inside the NAS. If the transfer is done on the same share, Windows should just move them quickly.
ExDilbert is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 2014-07-22, 03:37 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: GTA
Posts: 234
How do you get you NAS drive mapped through windows It is a bit of a pain going through the browser.

is that the "map network drive" option you see at the top when you open the computer icon?

Last edited by okmrbh; 2014-07-22 at 03:47 PM. Reason: added something
okmrbh is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome