Why You Should Start Using a VPN (and How to Choose the Best One for Your Needs) - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 62 (permalink) Old 2013-10-17, 10:59 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,991
I haven't seen anything about it on the portal Jake.

I played around with having OpenVPN installed on the router until late into the night and I'm not convinced it is efficient in the long run. While everything works (Netflix, Hulu+, VoIP, Home Alarm Monitoring, etc...) my 25 Mbps / 10 Mbps connection seems kind of sluggish. I looked at the bandwidth stats on the router and we are only ever getting a little over 1/4 of the speeds we see without it.

I'm going to try to find a balance between having everything use it and having just some devices / activities use it. Do I really care if the Apple TV isn't using OpenVPN? Or my IP Phones or ATA device? My wife really loved it because some shopping site which is currently blocked to my ISP (Anthropologie) was no longer blocked since we now appeared to be from Ontario or the US.

I must say though that having OpenVPN on my iPhone has made a huge difference when on public wifi. For some reason everything seems faster / smoother from there.
notsure is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 62 (permalink) Old 2013-10-17, 12:29 PM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,101
Quote:
I signed up for the VPN service
Notsure maybe I am misunderstanding but what VPN service provider did you sign up with?
Jake is offline  
post #18 of 62 (permalink) Old 2013-10-17, 12:54 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,991
I decided to try a month with Private Internet Access. If things worked out I would sign up for a year which drops the monthly price to $3.33 instead of $6.95.
notsure is offline  
 
post #19 of 62 (permalink) Old 2013-10-17, 01:12 PM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,101
Gotcha. So the router VPN was only a test.
Jake is offline  
post #20 of 62 (permalink) Old 2013-10-17, 01:42 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,991
Well, I setup my router to use the Private Internet Access VPN...
notsure is offline  
post #21 of 62 (permalink) Old 2013-10-18, 02:34 PM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,101
I plan to set up my router to act as the VPN host. I will test it from my neighbors wifi to see how well it works. I guess failing that I can go with a VPN service provider like you.

My understanding is that the encryption takes a lot of horsepower. So your oldish router is most likely having to throttle back the bandwidth so it can keep up. But 25% is not good.
Jake is offline  
post #22 of 62 (permalink) Old 2013-10-18, 07:02 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,991
Well Mr. Jake, I need to THANK YOU.

I never thought that maybe the router couldn't handle the VPN but after re-testing, that is exactly the problem. If I take the router out of the equation I can get over 2/3 of my max connection speed from a single machine. That is more than acceptable.

Might be time for a new router.
notsure is offline  
post #23 of 62 (permalink) Old 2013-10-20, 09:03 AM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,101
Glad someone listens to me.

I think my WRT54GL is of a similar vintage.

Yip exact same specs.

Linksys WRT54GL, Broadcom BCM5352 @ 200 MHz, 16MB RAM, 4MB Flash
Buffalo WHR-HP-G54, Broadcom BCM5352 @ 200 MHz, 15MB RAM, 4MB Flash

My new one is,

ASUS RT-N66U, Broadcom BCM4706 @600 MHz, 256MB RAM, 32 MB Flash
Jake is offline  
post #24 of 62 (permalink) Old 2013-10-20, 09:22 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,991
Please keep us informed about the performance of that router if you run VPN directly from it.

I've got the client installed directly on our Macs and we don't even notice it's running.
notsure is offline  
post #25 of 62 (permalink) Old 2013-10-20, 12:04 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 991
With patience, you can find a Cisco ASA-5505 on ebay for under $300.
It is a (relatively) old firewall but will do anything a home network would need and then some.
You can upgrade RAM and Compact Flash for practically peanuts (standard computer parts).
You can install a free (for one year) SSL certificate from StartCOM.
By updating the ASA image on the router you can turn on PFS (Perfect Forward Secrecy) and make NSA snooping on your communication a real PITA...

Two of the ASA's 8 ethernet ports have PoE that can be really useful when running IP phones...
four is offline  
post #26 of 62 (permalink) Old 2013-10-20, 12:29 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 991
Some of the latest routers with enough flash (e.g. the v.4 revision of Netgear 3700) can be flashed with
DD-WRT firmware running the RADIUS server (!). Wi-Fi authentication is taken on a completely different level...
You won't get support for this feature in the free version of the firmware, but the setup is fairly straightforward...
four is offline  
post #27 of 62 (permalink) Old 2013-10-21, 09:04 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,991
Jake, I've been doing some research and it would seem that even the ASUS RT-N66U will top out at about 11 - 12 Mbps when using VPN. Don't know if that will be a problem for you or not.

I'd like something that can take advantage of my full connection speed and I have yet to stumble upon a consumer grade router that is up to the job.

Until then, I'm more than happy to do a device by device connection since my VPN provider allows up to 5 simultaneous devices from a single account.
notsure is offline  
post #28 of 62 (permalink) Old 2013-10-21, 02:00 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,041
Maybe not the best source but an interesting development if true.

Canada Wants VPNs to Log and Warn Pirating Customers
ExDilbert is offline  
post #29 of 62 (permalink) Old 2013-10-21, 03:15 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 991
Isn't "VPN provider" a sort of contradiction in terms?

VPN is used to eliminate snooping, i.e remove any middleman.
While the provider _is_ the middleman...

Considering how long it took the NSA to identify the Silk Road guy, does this (proposed)
law mean Canada ISPs will record and keep for 6 months every encrypted communication?
four is offline  
post #30 of 62 (permalink) Old 2013-10-21, 07:03 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 991
Risks associated with being a "VPN provider" today...
http://arstechnica.com/information-t...r-crypto-keys/
four is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome