New Asus i7 build- Geforce 670 GTX FTW LE freezen-crashing-Help? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 2013-04-03, 01:48 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 272
Exclamation New Asus i7 build- Geforce 670 GTX FTW LE freezen-crashing-Help?

( Note pictures awaiting Moderator Approval, Hopefully they be approved soon)

So less then a week ago, I went to my local computer store here in calgary and they have very well known, good reputation of selling great computer,parts and what not. I have older Pentium D (3 Ghz) and my current
asus laptop, But it started to struggle to play newest Starcraft heart of the swarm and newest Bioshock. So I wanted to build a gaming system. A true gaming system. Everything is new except my old Antec Nine Hundred gaming case and older WD 320 Gig SATA HDD thats only few years old.

Here short version of what I bought
- Asus P8Z77-V PRO Thunderbolt motherboard
- Intel Core™ i7-3770K Processor, 3.50GHz w/ 8MB Cache
- 8 Gig DDR3 Ram DDR3 1600 MHZ
- EVGA Geforce 670 GTX FTW LE 2 GB DDR5
- 6x LG BluRay Burner
- Cheap 725 Watt PSU ( Later replaced with better one )
- Better PSU corsair 850 Watt/30A

http://www.memoryexpress.com/Products/MX40121 (Motherboard)
http://www.memoryexpress.com/Products/MX38982 (CPU)
http://www.memoryexpress.com/Products/MX29792 (Ram)
http://www.memoryexpress.com/Products/MX40136 (EVGA GPU)
http://www.memoryexpress.com/Products/MX39707 (LG BluRay)
http://www.memoryexpress.com/Products/MX41136 (old PSU)
http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/P8Z77V_PRO/#overview
New PSU bought 850 Watt
http://www.memoryexpress.com/Products/MX32589

http://www.memoryexpress.com/Products/MX14869 (my OLD case)

And I just formatted my WD 320 SATA and re-installed windows 7 pro 64 bit. After downloading all drivers and updates from Asus website and installing Nvidia 314.22 -WHQL. My system started acting up. I had tried using Asus over clocking software for windows, Running a simple overclocked.



Supposedly this CPU and motherboard are suppose be very easy to overclock. I got to 4.1-4.2 Ghz and was running fine for a bit.. but with 725 Watt PSU and it only giving a max 28 AMPS.
Things started to chug, I'd run benchmark test where benchmark would play then pause and sound would screech for 2-5 seconds then play again. Or sometime it would completely freeze or would crash with some error saying the 3D device has been removed. Lol
( I will try post my ipad videos later on you tube and post link here)




So I ended up taking my whole system back to memory express,
They worked on for 4-5 days. I phoned the tech on 5th day and told him I did some research and found out that EVGA Geforce 670 GTX card requires
a min of 500 watts and 30 AMPS. When I bought the PSU, The sales guy who sold me the cheaper 725 Watt Psu said it would be fine, as long I don't run SLI (Dual) video cards.. I may in future, but for now one GPU was all I could afford. The Tech had my GTX 670 out and in another machine and said it was running fine.. Put back in my machine and had running ok, did have some problems but he finally agree that that it was 725 Watt/28 Amp PSU was faulty and suggested that get another better one. Which I did buy another 850 Watt/30A one.

Got home, Had everything working not too badly, Even tired light overclock with 4.1 Ghz boost speed. Ran Skyrim, bunch other Benchmarks, Was getting 90 to 150 FPS in new Bioshock. Everything was running prety good, with bit odd slow window lag. Messed with it, record some video with my Ipad and message old collage friend how smooth everything was running.

Had overclock to about 4.2 Ghz, Everything seem run fine for hours. What I've read 4.1 - 4.2 Ghz for that I7 CPU is quite normal. Should not put any huge strain on CPU or motherboard.

Played for many hours into weee morning with Bioshock and messing with bit skyrim, System was overclocked but not over heating, as I kept eye on ever so often. Had my slider door open so Motherboard was around cool 20-21c most the night/ CPU 32c to 40'c and GPU I don't think hit higher then 50c which good. Though I turned GPU Fan speed upto 65% for the night. Went to bed. That was mistake. lol

Next morning woke up, booted system and went go load bioshock and system started acting weird, With play few frames, then Freeze, Play a few frames. Freeze.. I rebooted, went back into the bios and set everything back to default factor settings and leaving Bios in stander mode... Reboot. Same thing. Benchmarks freeze, games wont run. System unstable and not overclocked anymore.

I said hell with it.. Formatted windows again for 2nd time.. Re-installed
everything once again, but this time I installed the drivers that came with the motherboard, Installed windows 7 pro 64 again, installed all motherboard drivers CD, then installed 314.22 drivers from Nvidia website.. Half way threw re-installing everything, I found Oblivion on old backup USB WD HDD and boot it up. Ran it just see if everything was ok, When closed it. BOOM
the crash with Windows screen messing up again.. CTRL ALT Del and i'd get that screen tearing all up which would freeze and force me to do a hard reboot.
( See the first two messed up screen shots)

So I have fresh install win7 pro 64 bit. Installed drivers (CD drivers from motherboard) Started updating with windows update. Tried single game and she started again doing that play, pause, play pause 3-5 seconds, with screeching sound.

I just spent over $1400 and system continues to screw up.. I have built system before but never had this kinda problem, this bad before..
First time GPU wasn't getting enough amps, Now I have fear that may have damaged everything else, Even with system back to default settings in bios
I'm still getting errors. I'm so fed up that I want demand for all new parts.
Except PSU now since I just bought that.

So I suspect my video card is wrecked, as I have older EVGA geforce 8800 GTS 320 PCIe video card I had in before that seem ran fine. At normal and SC speeds with no problems. I can run the on board intel 4000k Igpu with no problems, though games run not very smooth. I will be calling memory Express (The store) again and see what they say. But I'm already past upset and I think I should get all new parts except PSU I just bought 2 days ago. The 850 watt more then enough.

The Ram could be bad, The Motherboard could been damage and the GPU clearly is something wrong with it.. The i7 CPU Could be damaged too?


Suggestions please?

Here is what benchmark is suppose look like for those who have not seen Unigine heaven DX11 benchmark 3.0
http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/pict...pictureid=6146

-Chester
LG 42LD520 42" 1080p,Telus 9241, Yamaha HTR-5250,Xbox 360s,ps3,Asus N617Jq 4gb Win 7 64bit
CentaurChester is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 2013-04-03, 07:23 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 4,200
I was having some issues with a Geforce 660 Ti on my ASUS P8Z77V-LK motherboard, and after swapping out the video card things worked a lot better. Definitely would try that route.
BGY11 is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 2013-04-03, 07:26 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 272
So you think I should tell them give me new Video card? As said they did test the card on another system once before, but i'm already on my 2nd fresh install win7 and still having issues.. But thanks.

Anybody overclocked there I7 with any problems? I hope I haven't done any damage, I don't think so. I only want overclock a bit so gives stable performance, Like 4.1 Ghz would be nice.
My motherboard and decent cooling should be enough right?

-Chester
LG 42LD520 42" 1080p,Telus 9241, Yamaha HTR-5250,Xbox 360s,ps3,Asus N617Jq 4gb Win 7 64bit
CentaurChester is offline  
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 2013-04-04, 01:27 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 4,200
Looks like you used the Auto settings which shouldn't have caused an issue.
BGY11 is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 2013-04-04, 01:56 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 272
Yeah I've tried to OC with my current GTX 670 and the system and still lagging, glitching and crashing, been fighting with the bios all day and finally got to mostly basic settings, ram at 1600 MHz and almost everything at auto, CPU is at performer mode and says 3.9 MHz but windows is lagging and not getting very good fps with unigine dx 11 at 1920 1080p.

I want keep a min 30+ fps at 1080p with this system I should be able get that.
I7 3.5 ghz showing 3.9 MHz at default setting (everything at mostly auto)
GTX 670 2 GB video card
8 gigs of 1600 mhz ddr3

Tho sales guy stop me from buying the faster 2133 MHz dr3, same guy also sold me crapy 725 watt power supply.
Was that a mistake? Should I have got the faster ram when come to gaming?

http://www3.telus.net/dragonchester/...0403_2244.html
Here my benchmark, not bad.

-Chester
LG 42LD520 42" 1080p,Telus 9241, Yamaha HTR-5250,Xbox 360s,ps3,Asus N617Jq 4gb Win 7 64bit

Last edited by CentaurChester; 2013-04-04 at 02:12 AM. Reason: Sorry made corrections
CentaurChester is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 2013-04-04, 03:10 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 4,200
Running at 8X AA will definitely have an impact on performance. Try running the test at 2X AA and I'll do the same on my card tomorrow. I know my card will offer lower performance, but at least we could get an idea.

If you are still getting a lot of display corruption though (or lots of freezes /stuttering) then it's possible something is still going on with the graphics card. Depending on where you are in Calgary, it's possible we could meet up sometime to swap out video cards and try to isolate the issue.

As for RAM, you probably wouldn't notice a difference between DDR3-1600 & DDR3-2133 (maybe a couple FPS at most).
BGY11 is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 2013-04-04, 03:35 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 272
here is simple overclock and I got this error, This was 4.2 Ghz boost and the errors start to pop up
http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/pict...pictureid=6202
here is the OC tuner,
http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/pict...pictureid=6194

Sooner or later I'll get another one of these, Even when turn everything back to normal.


Here my test, and I wanted to test the system by see what it can handle, I want everything turned on and I know that with all this on it can hit hard on performance. This is when she starts doing the stutter/freezing, then plays, then freezes.

http://www3.telus.net/dragonchester/...ked-39Mhz.html
http://www3.telus.net/dragonchester/...erclocked.html
http://www3.telus.net/dragonchester/...Overclock.html

As you can see there like 1-2 extra Frame rate increase from 3.9 mhz to 4.2 ghz. I was getting higher then that before I was getting all the stuttering.. But I think there a problem with Motherboard and the Video card now. Video card for sure, I don't drive but live in NE of Calgary, and I have ride with friend tomorrow and going go to memory express and see what they say.
I'll take the card in for the 2nd time... Sighs.

Update: System seems be running fine now lol. Here a 720p test
http://www3.telus.net/dragonchester/...erclocked.html

-Chester
LG 42LD520 42" 1080p,Telus 9241, Yamaha HTR-5250,Xbox 360s,ps3,Asus N617Jq 4gb Win 7 64bit
CentaurChester is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 2013-04-04, 04:45 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 272
Now I keep getting this error, I even have bios loaded back to default settings.. (Auto)

http://www3.telus.net/dragonchester/...ver-crash1.JPG

The card is broke or no good or something. Sighs. 15 Fps at 720p? then laggs. Yup card is shot..

-Chester
LG 42LD520 42" 1080p,Telus 9241, Yamaha HTR-5250,Xbox 360s,ps3,Asus N617Jq 4gb Win 7 64bit
CentaurChester is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 2013-04-04, 06:16 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 4,200
Yeah, I'd say something is going on with that card. That kind of display corruption is very unusual, though I was seeing similar things on my 660 Ti after resuming from sleep. I'm also in the NE (Marlborough) so if there's ever a time you wanted someone to go through some troubleshooting we probably could.

Hopefully Memory Express doesn't give you much hassle about the card. Quick question though : how is your monitor connected? DVI, HDMI, or DisplayPort? Doubt it would make a difference but just curious.
BGY11 is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 2013-04-04, 07:09 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 272
Its HDMI-

25' Asus monitor with speakers. I've used few times at parents house when I visited them over holidays for my ps3/360 and laptop. As they only had one HD tv there at the time. I Bought it last year just before xmas and so glad I did.

I originally upgrade my system because my old Evga 680i Motherboard with Pentium D 3 Ghz couldn't cut anymore for gaming. My sis just upgrade her hold system. I had my laptop I was hoping it be strong enough to play most game, Lol found out when StarCraft 2 - Heart swarm came out, it lag too much. It didn't before with just Starcraft 2. But its well known that each expac Blizzard release, there games get more demanding. I played Wow for 5/6+ years went threw a few Video cards because of it lol. (on old Pentium D)

Anywho I'm so mad at my system, been fighting with for last 2 weeks now. I'm starting to wonder if I should go get same motherboard my sister did which was the Sabertooth motherboard. http://www.memoryexpress.com/Products/MX38605

I don't know. After spending almost $1400 and end up fighting with this one for almost 2 weeks, almost temped say hell with it, just wait for ps4/720 lol and ask for my money back. I have never done much OC before, other then my old GTS 8800 card.

Yeah I know PC/Mac far more powerful systems. Consoles will never catch up. I also did some research and a few ppl have been having problems with this motherboard. Sighs.

-Chester
LG 42LD520 42" 1080p,Telus 9241, Yamaha HTR-5250,Xbox 360s,ps3,Asus N617Jq 4gb Win 7 64bit
CentaurChester is offline  
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 2013-04-04, 07:47 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 272
I don't know, I have also read many other post where both ppl say this Mobo and Sabertooth are both good systems.. But I should be able hit OC software that it comes with able do simple OC without all these issues right?

My Asus Laptop has been more stable. Both sis and I have great luck with Asus over the years. My Monitor, My Laptop been great. Just wish I got with better GPU in it. This mobo has been junk.

-Chester
LG 42LD520 42" 1080p,Telus 9241, Yamaha HTR-5250,Xbox 360s,ps3,Asus N617Jq 4gb Win 7 64bit
CentaurChester is offline  
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 2013-04-04, 08:36 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lincoln.NB Pop 492,823
Posts: 6,436
I have a different model motherboard from ASUS and my problems were solved when I updated the BIOS. I had installed the latest i7 in it and everything was wonky. I put in my other CPU in to update the BIOS and once I did that, my problems went away. Do you have the latest BIOS in it?

Home Theatre: Yamaha HTR-6190, Klipsch Speakers, SANYO PLV-Z4, TOSHIBA HDDVD, LG BD555C, Cerwin Vega HTS12 Sub, VIP2300, XBox 360, HTPC.
Danster is offline  
post #13 of 13 (permalink) Old 2013-04-04, 08:40 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 272
Yesh I already updated the bios for the mother board and Installed newest drivers for windows, it did not solve the problem. I'm actually going exchange this motherboard for the sabertooth one, as its same motherboard my sister has, and she had no problems.

-Chester
LG 42LD520 42" 1080p,Telus 9241, Yamaha HTR-5250,Xbox 360s,ps3,Asus N617Jq 4gb Win 7 64bit
CentaurChester is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome