Anyone here have a Raspberry Pi? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 48 (permalink) Old 2012-09-23, 12:39 AM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,331
Anyone here have a Raspberry Pi?

I ordered one a couple of weeks ago but they take a while to ship.

If so, any interesting applications that you have used it for?

ps - For anyone who isn't aware the Raspberry Pi is a $35 computer that is about the size of a credit card. It usually runs a form of Linux.

http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2407058,00.asp

Last edited by Jake; 2012-11-26 at 08:44 AM. Reason: added link
Wayne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 48 (permalink) Old 2012-09-23, 12:46 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 796
I've got a couple. I'm working on an I/O extender board for it.

Bill
My blog
blueroomelectro is offline  
post #3 of 48 (permalink) Old 2012-09-23, 10:39 AM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,331
That doesn't surprise me. Have you done a blog posting on this?

I may try an RPi out as a cheap HTPC client running XBMC. It seems that there may also being a Plex release for it in the near future.
Wayne is offline  
 
post #4 of 48 (permalink) Old 2012-09-23, 03:01 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 796
Not yet, I'm working out the options first. Not going to use it as a media center (the new Roku uses the same CPU as the Raspberry Pi). More an I/O controller, generally these things are headless and setup like a NAS via a web interface.

I've revised the design dozens of times, I may even consider putting it to Kickstarter (needs US citizen & bank account).

Summary
4 relay, 4 opto inputs, RS232/422/485, USB, XBee S2 (ZigBee), DS1307 RTCC
Supports Raspberry Pi or ATmega 328p (Arduino compatible) or PIC 18F26K80.

daisy-chainable up to 8 units via ribbon cable (same cable as the RPi uses).

Getting it to support all three CPU choices is the fun part.

Bill
My blog
blueroomelectro is offline  
post #5 of 48 (permalink) Old 2012-09-27, 11:21 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,130
Wow that sounds really cool!

I ordered one back in Aug. I called the other day to check the status, December it should be here. I am planning on trying to build a Linux PVR /MC.
j0dest3r is offline  
post #6 of 48 (permalink) Old 2012-10-01, 09:23 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Regina, SK, CA
Posts: 620
I have a couple of Pis but I haven't done anything terribly useful with either one yet. They work well for what they are.
PhotoJim is offline  
post #7 of 48 (permalink) Old 2012-10-01, 09:44 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SaskTel
Posts: 1,101
I've been thinking for a few weeks now of an easy way to integrate one into my camper/trailer that could just plug into the back of a smallish LCD panel and use as a HTPC of some sort. everytime I think about it though, I end up just thinking how much easier it is to just pack the laptop and wire out the audio and be done with it. definitely looking forward to seeing some folks come up with solutions
Tikker is offline  
post #8 of 48 (permalink) Old 2012-10-22, 04:27 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,130
Mine finally came in wasn't expecting it until December. Grabbed a quick basic distro from the RPi website to try and boot it and no issues. Worked great on a 720p Samsung 24" TV. Going to try that XBMC distro next.
j0dest3r is offline  
post #9 of 48 (permalink) Old 2012-10-22, 04:34 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,331
It would be great to hear how it is for media playback. An RPi could also make a great car computer, especially if the Android build for it works well.
Wayne is offline  
post #10 of 48 (permalink) Old 2012-10-26, 11:04 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,130
Wow the XBMC Linux build for the RPi is really polished. It makes it work pretty hard though CPU usage is quite high. I had it flake a bit too lock up etc. Still playing with it though. I was a bit that I got a 256Mb instead of a 512 and it shipped in October.
j0dest3r is offline  
post #11 of 48 (permalink) Old 2012-11-24, 12:04 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 15
Just a note if you want to run XBMC on a RaspPI and want to play MPEG2 videos you will need to buy the license for the MPEG2 support. It is available from XBMC website and I think it only costs like $3.

There is some interesting reads online about using a Pi as an extender too. Currently I am using a couple of Xbox360's with my HTPC but I might make the switch after the LiveTV support for XBMC improves (under Frodo it is still a work in progress).
Brendanf is offline  
post #12 of 48 (permalink) Old 2012-11-26, 08:03 AM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,331
Speaking of this, is anyone actually getting a Pi shipped to Canada? I started this thread after ordering my RPi from Allied in September (Sep 4 to be exact). December will soon be here and I don't even have a sniff of a shipping date yet.
Wayne is offline  
post #13 of 48 (permalink) Old 2012-11-26, 08:46 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,104
Wayne, I added a link in your OP.

How does the processor compare to some of the tablets out there now?
Jake is offline  
post #14 of 48 (permalink) Old 2012-11-26, 09:30 AM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,331
I am guessing that the processor is much less power than what you get with tablets. But this wouldn't really compete with tablets, it is a very open architecture where you choose your OS and everything else. The target market is the educational and hobbyist market but HTPC could be an interesting sideline, especilly if the Android version appears.
Wayne is offline  
post #15 of 48 (permalink) Old 2012-11-26, 09:46 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,104
Sorry I was not clear. For decoding HD video how does the RPi compare to tablets? Is the Broadcom VideoCore IV GPU pretty capable?

Edit: I just read it is the same unit as in the Roku 2. So I guess the answer is most definitely yes!
Jake is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome