Chrome-based notebooks to go on sale next month - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 2011-05-11, 05:41 PM
Veteran

Google sets sights on enterprise, education with subscription 'Chromebooks'

Launches in June on Samsung hardware...looks like they are trying to eat into the PC paradigm in a big way, and if they get the Chrome "App Store" up and running with all the critical bits, I think they can really do it.

Pros, as i see it:
  • easier on working capital for businesses
  • low cost of entry, and free hardware upgrades
  • Much lower support costs
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 2011-05-11, 08:41 PM

I'm guessing that this will be an epic fail. I love computers and I work in the industry and I see no use for a product like this for the vast majority of people.

post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 2011-05-11, 09:10 PM
Veteran

Looks like a fun computing option, but I doubt a small business or government would get involved until it's more proven.
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 2011-05-11, 09:42 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by pappcam View Post
I'm guessing that this will be an epic fail. I love computers and I work in the industry and I see no use for a product like this for the vast majority of people.
That the problem you love computers. But for a business computers are just tools that need to be upgraded, maintained and secured on top of being used you know to do real work.
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 2011-05-12, 02:08 PM
Rookie

The Cloud

The big problem I see right now, is how secure is the data?