Laptop cannot detect HDMI connection to HDTV - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 2011-04-22, 04:41 PM Thread Starter
slj
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Laptop cannot detect HDMI connection to HDTV

I have a HDMI cable with a displayPort adapter connecting laptop and a Panasonic HDTV. The cable works perfectly with one laptop (IBM Thinkpad with a Radeo Mobile Video card) by displaying videos/screens on the TV, however it does not work with an HP Probook 6550b with an Intel HD Graphics and displayPort as well. The HP does not see the HDMI connection at all. I did notice a flashing laptop screen when I was connecting/disconnecting the cable from the laptop, meaning it was able to detect something.

I have tried to google for all possibilities but failed to find any answers and hope experts at this forum could shed some lights on the issue.

Thanks a lot.
slj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 2011-04-22, 05:45 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 4,200
Does the IBM laptop use displayport as well? Perhaps something is wrong with the Displayport adapter.
BGY11 is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 2011-04-23, 12:11 AM Thread Starter
slj
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Laptop cannot detect HDMI connection to HDTV

Yes. IBM one also uses displayPort. the cable and adapter are the same.
slj is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 2011-04-23, 04:00 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 81
If it works fine with the Radeon machine then it's likely a problem with the Intel graphics. The flashing you see on the laptop screen just means it's doing detection but doesn't necessarily mean it's found anything on the displayport output. I'd put in a call to HP and explain it to them. Make a point that another laptop with a different GPU works fine. This will discount them saying it's your adapter cable.
compguy is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 2011-04-23, 09:42 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 64
Have you checked that the monitor is enabled after you plug in the cable, and it « detects » it? You should check that your driver is up-to-date, that both in the Intel HD Graphics properties and in the Windows Display properties panels, the TV is enabled.

And have you tried rebooting? Often it solves a few problems.
Ed7789 is online now  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 2011-04-23, 03:30 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 4
Try checking the HP website to ensure you have the latest BIOS for the laptop and newest video drivers. If HP's released Intel HD Video driver doesn't do it, goto, intel.com -> support -> Select the Video chipset and DL the generic driver.
pyro is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 2011-04-24, 01:05 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 81
I would not recommend installing a generic driver on a laptop. There are too many potential customizations that happen for the specific machine. If you don't care about power consumption or odd bugs here and there then try the generic driver (if it even installs).
compguy is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 2011-04-25, 12:00 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: K-W
Posts: 67
Do both laptops have the same OS? You should check to see if you need to "Extend the display" for Windows to display on the TV.

.: Panasonic TH-46PZ800 + DMP-BD35 : Rogers 8642 : Nintendo Wii : Xbox 360 : Harmony One :.
CyberStorm is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 2011-04-26, 03:09 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 4
I bet slj would be willing to trade "potential" power consumption for a working hdmi port...
pyro is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 2012-07-13, 06:43 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
E6320

I am attempting to conn3ect my e6320 to my tv but it isn't picking up that there is any hdmi cable connectedc to it.

Any thoughts?
Theskills is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome