Scam Phone call offering to clean infections on your computer - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 74 (permalink) Old 2011-01-31, 02:43 PM Thread Starter

Scam Phone call offering to clean infections on your computer

On Friday we received a phone call at the house from the number 123-456-7890. The person on the call told us our computer was likely infected with a new infection that is going around and wanted us to log in to a web page to have them look at the problem and repair it.

Being a computer expert, I didn't trust it. When I told him I was an expert, he hung up. I didn't think too much about it until I was talking with my mother who received the same call, in a location 3 1/2 hours away from me.

My hunch is that this is some company trying to leverage something like GoToAssist or other web remote control software that lets you control someone's computer. This company could get control of the computer and install scanning software that will incorrectly report viruses on your computer and then require you pay them money to clean out the 'infections'.

If we get a call like this, any idea who we should alert, if anyone?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 74 (permalink) Old 2011-01-31, 02:50 PM

You should report this experience to the Canadian government's anti-fraud centre:

http://www.antifraudcentre-centreant.../home-eng.html
post #3 of 74 (permalink) Old 2011-02-01, 07:23 AM

post #4 of 74 (permalink) Old 2011-02-01, 05:29 PM
Veteran

Better yet visit SUPERAntiSpyware Product Information and download the free version.

At 20 I had a good mind. At 40 I had money. At 60 I've lost my mind and my money. Oh, to be 20 again. --Scary
post #5 of 74 (permalink) Old 2011-03-24, 05:16 PM
Rookie

Possible scam