Scam Phone call offering to clean infections on your computer - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 74 (permalink) Old 2011-03-25, 03:56 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Whitby, Ontario (Rogers Cable), LG 42PC3D, 8642HD
Posts: 570
If they scare the average person enough, it might seem harmless. Especially if they convince them to see the "errors" on their system.
whitbyterry is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 74 (permalink) Old 2011-03-25, 05:56 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,780
Quote:
Originally Posted by snorlax View Post
I like the line "they control the internet in Canada".
Yup. That right there is the give away that it is a scam.

Everyone knows Bell, Shaw and Rogers own the internet.
peano is offline  
post #18 of 74 (permalink) Old 2011-03-25, 07:37 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 7,959
^^^^
Unfortunately no, they don't just hang up. Many people know very little about computers and are also gullible.

I haven't lost my mind. It's around here...somewhere...
JamesK is offline  
 
post #19 of 74 (permalink) Old 2011-03-27, 09:00 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 21
The number they called from was 760-705-8888. 760 is from California and he said he was in Toronto.
mark123 is offline  
post #20 of 74 (permalink) Old 2011-03-27, 11:18 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 7,959
^^^^
That doesn't mean anything. Call agents can be anywhere, but show a common number for the company. I did some work, a couple of years ago, setting up remote phones for employees of a company in Mississauga. The employees, IIRC were in Ottawa, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia. They all had Mississauga numbers. For another company, employees in Edmondton and Vancouver, appeared in Calgary. I have done a fair bit of such work extending PBXs to remote locations.

As another example, at one company that I worked at a while ago, I had a line on my desk with a Seattle number, even though I worked in the Toronto area. When I used that line, it would appear that I was in Seattle, even though both the customer and I were in Canada.

With modern phone technology, there's often no relationship between phone number and location. VoIP makes it even easier and cheaper to do that.

I haven't lost my mind. It's around here...somewhere...
JamesK is offline  
post #21 of 74 (permalink) Old 2011-09-07, 09:43 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 76
New scam warning

The phone rang a couple of day ago during diner. here is how it goes.
ring... ring..
me: hello
caller: I want to talk about your computer
me what about my computer?
caller It is full of errors
me where are you calling from
caller: megabyte computer solutions
me: go away! clank! I hang up and go back to diner.


the next day I phone my friend Paul from a computer service company and ask him if he heard of a new scam going on, he said he got a call and the caller claiming to be from Microsoft and wanted him to go to a particular web site for a fix. he ask for the caller for his microsoft id and got dead air.
one of his client actually follows the caller's directions and gave control of the computer to the scammer. We may laught at such a stupid ploy, but a lot of office stall might think the caller is from their IT support company and gets into deep doodo. The RCMP actually had issued a warning about this new phom scam. BTW the call center is in India.
tseto is offline  
post #22 of 74 (permalink) Old 2011-09-07, 10:18 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
Sadly this is not new, it has been going on for months now.

They told me I had a problem with my Windows, I agreed, they were old and there is some rot but they said it was my computers Windows, which is impossible, I run a Mac. They then hung up.
Pinza is offline  
post #23 of 74 (permalink) Old 2011-09-07, 10:40 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Scarb
Posts: 2,782
New thread merged with old thread.
sleemo is offline  
post #24 of 74 (permalink) Old 2011-09-07, 01:58 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinza View Post
They told me I had a problem with my Windows, I agreed, they were old and there is some rot but they said it was my computers Windows, which is impossible, I run a Mac. They then hung up.
lol, this is what they said to me. Same thing, I asked him how he could know my computer had a virus when I use a Mac. He also just hung up. I tried to keep him on the line by playing dumb with him for a bit before I mentioned I had a Mac.
jshel101 is offline  
post #25 of 74 (permalink) Old 2011-09-07, 02:28 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dandelion City
Posts: 7,131
I've received these calls several times. Telling them not to call again didn't work. The last time, I told the caller I had 500 computers. He hung up. I'm amazed he would hang up on such a lucrative prospect.

I believe these people may also be responsible for making prank calls regarding computers. Then, when the target is shaken by the prank calls, they call back. Nasty business.

At 20 I had a good mind. At 40 I had money. At 60 I've lost my mind and my money. Oh, to be 20 again. --Scary
ScaryBob is offline  
post #26 of 74 (permalink) Old 2011-09-07, 03:22 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 7,959
Quote:
I run a Mac. They then hung up.
I've noticed they also have problems fixing that "virus" with Linux systems.

I haven't lost my mind. It's around here...somewhere...
JamesK is offline  
post #27 of 74 (permalink) Old 2011-09-08, 01:15 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Caledon, Ontario
Posts: 97
If they call me I will let them try to fix my Linux system, which will waste their time. I did that with another telemarketer. I had them on the line for almost 10 minutes before I changed my mind about sending them money. They never called again.
Balun is offline  
post #28 of 74 (permalink) Old 2011-10-08, 12:38 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sackville nb
Posts: 309
they called me told me they where with Microsoft i said ok they wanted me to go to team viewer and get the app. after 20mins of trying to find the link he hung up on me. lol stupid people. kept saying i don't see it i kept asking if he could send someone to my home and he would just ignore my request lol was fun while it lasted
greenshadow is offline  
post #29 of 74 (permalink) Old 2011-10-16, 05:35 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,113
I had them call me once. Being a compuer guy I was already expecting the call.

I had time to waste so I thought I'd have a little fun with them.

He had me do the usual, check for errors, etc.. I made sure that part took about 15 minutes. Then he wanted me to go to Log Me In to allow remote access.

He kept giving me an access code, which I kept telling him wasn't working. He transferred me to his "supervisor" who tried generating several new codes, all of which "didn't work".

Then this "supervisor" was asking how I'd pay for the service. I told him I don't have a credit card. He insisted that I should to to Walmart and get a pre-paid CC while they were working on my computer.

A few new access codes later and I finally told the guy "hey, that code looks like it worked, but the screen says that the technician is a scammer!" He insisted that he wasn't and then hung up.


People who aren't computer savvy can really get caught up in this. All they have to do is correctly guess your ISP (Can't be that hard) and the victim thinks it is their ISP calling.

One scammer called me from "Internet support" and insisted that my computer was sending out viruses. I told him that I didn't have a computer, but he insisted that I did.
ssbtech is offline  
post #30 of 74 (permalink) Old 2011-10-16, 09:21 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sooke,BC
Posts: 756
The last one who called me (been many calls) I tried my new tactic - I asked how his family felt about him being a criminal. Do your kids like the fact you are a criminal? Does it make your parents proud? He hung up after a minute or so.
dabell is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome