Wired LAN loses Internet connection. - Page 3 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #31 of 43 (permalink) Old 2011-03-14, 09:13 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Calgary, Bell
Posts: 844
It does seem fishy but it was his wired PC dropping out not his wireless.
Coop is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 43 (permalink) Old 2011-03-14, 10:57 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Oakville, Cogeco
Posts: 3,211
^^
But his modem isn't directly connected to his PC. The router is in between the computers and modem.

If it is the modem, I'd appreciate if someone could explain how that would happen, so we know what to look out for. In the same setup at my home, we have a problem sometimes where one computer has slower internet than the others (pages take forever to load). I always assume that would be a problem with the computer itself.
asif9t9 is offline  
post #33 of 43 (permalink) Old 2011-03-14, 11:52 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Edmonton AB
Posts: 2,319
I do not get it either, but computers are funny that way.

I have a photographic memory, trouble is most times the lens cap is on.
talljak is offline  
 
post #34 of 43 (permalink) Old 2011-03-15, 12:25 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,334
I had a similar problem recently and it appeared to be that the NIC on my mobo (an Asus P7H67) had gone bad as it would dop the connection and then I got to a point where it would only connect with a 10 Mbps connection. I put in a PCIe ethernet card and now all is working well.
Wayne is offline  
post #35 of 43 (permalink) Old 2011-03-15, 03:42 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Edmonton AB
Posts: 2,319
My speed has always been 100.0 Mbps on the network.
Though the network is rarely used for file transfers. I would need to do some testing to see if things are working as they should.

I have a photographic memory, trouble is most times the lens cap is on.
talljak is offline  
post #36 of 43 (permalink) Old 2011-03-15, 09:28 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,334
Shouldn't it be 1Gbps, assuming that your router, switches, etc support Gigabit?
Wayne is offline  
post #37 of 43 (permalink) Old 2011-03-15, 11:31 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Airdrie, AB
Posts: 4,260
We have a very similar problem with only one of our computers (we have 5 in the house). That computer is wired and once in a while, it will suddenly report that the connection is down. A reboot fixes the issue. And it's only on that computer. But here's the kick... I recently replaced that computer with a new one and restored the image backup of the older machine. The same problem still persists with the new hardware so it's definitely a Windows problem.

I'm on Telus too with a D-Link modem. I'll call them to see if I can get it replaced. There's already a known problem with it in regards to UPnP.
MarcP is offline  
post #38 of 43 (permalink) Old 2011-03-15, 11:36 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,334
Are you plugging it into the same port on your router? It could be a flaky port. I would also try changing the ethernet cable and upgrading (or downgrading) the driver for your NIC.

I have been able to temporarily fix similar problems by unplugging and replugging the network cable, a reboot isn't always requried.
Wayne is offline  
post #39 of 43 (permalink) Old 2011-03-15, 11:39 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Airdrie, AB
Posts: 4,260
I have tried everything. Changing port, changing cable, using a hub, plugging it on the cable of other working machines, etc. This has been going on for weeks. I have physically moved the computer to another area of the house (i.e. different wiring involved) and it still happens.
MarcP is offline  
post #40 of 43 (permalink) Old 2011-03-15, 11:58 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,334
Have you tried buying a NIC card - either PCI or PCIe. You should be able to get one for less than $20.
Wayne is offline  
post #41 of 43 (permalink) Old 2011-03-15, 12:05 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Airdrie, AB
Posts: 4,260
I changed the whole computer and it made no difference. Read my original post. Anyhow, we're repeating what has already been discussed for several pages now. I'm not the only one with this annoyance. I'm getting the Telus router replaced which has known issues.
MarcP is offline  
post #42 of 43 (permalink) Old 2011-03-15, 01:09 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Edmonton AB
Posts: 2,319
Quote:
Shouldn't it be 1Gbps, assuming that your router, switches, etc support Gigabit?
Its a older router. Only 10 and 100 mbps. Its not even an N router. I plan to upgrade one day but since the modem replacement fixed the issue I will wait a while as the router works just fine.

MarcP
I am very confident that the D-link modem is the culprit. When you get your replacement let us know if your issue is fixed. Telus told me 5-10 business days to ship. I had it in 3.

I have a photographic memory, trouble is most times the lens cap is on.
talljak is offline  
post #43 of 43 (permalink) Old 2011-03-15, 01:12 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,334
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarcP View Post
I changed the whole computer and it made no difference. Read my original post. Anyhow, we're repeating what has already been discussed for several pages now. I'm not the only one with this annoyance. I'm getting the Telus router replaced which has known issues.
I did read your post above and noted that you restored your Windows disk image. Therefore you may rentroduced a software problem as well if it is something like a bad driver. A new NIC with a different chipset and driver may work better.

Hopefully it is your modem.
Wayne is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome