More RAM or faster processor? HDD or SSD? - Page 3 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #31 of 74 (permalink) Old 2010-01-15, 05:37 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Edmonton AB
Posts: 2,319
Fine, ill consider it ha-ha.
Thanks for the peer pressure.

From the reviews I'm reading, it seems to be the best are the Intel SSD drives.
They seem to load CS4 in about 7 seconds with an i7 cpu. So that is faster then the raptor.

One thing I haven't read much is how hot do SSD drives get?
Do they need extra cooling?

I have a photographic memory, trouble is most times the lens cap is on.
talljak is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 74 (permalink) Old 2010-01-15, 07:09 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,111
SSD drives are very cool and use much less power then a standard hard drive. there's no moving parts!

theres a great review of SSD's on anandtech. basicly stick to any ssd with an indelix or intel controller as those are the fastest.

ethier Intel or OCZ vertex/agility series
redzone is offline  
post #33 of 74 (permalink) Old 2010-01-16, 04:19 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Edmonton AB
Posts: 2,319
Is a separate controller card needed? I thought they were all SATA drives.
Or am I looking for a certain controller board built in to the drive?

Good to know they do not need additional cooling.

Since its going to only hold the OS and Apps, I am considering getting a small SSD now. Since reading is what they really shine at I think that would be a good setup.
I know if you Raid them they can get insanely fast, but I have to draw the line somewhere budget wise.

I have a photographic memory, trouble is most times the lens cap is on.
talljak is offline  
 
post #34 of 74 (permalink) Old 2010-01-16, 07:59 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 4,200
Quote:
Is a separate controller card needed? I thought they were all SATA drives.
Or am I looking for a certain controller board built in to the drive?
You don't need a separate controller card. Current SSDs use SATA-II. The maximum bandwidth you'll see from a SATA-II drive is about 300MB/s, while current SSDs have sequential read limits of around 250MB/s at best. Write speeds are lower than this.

It's when you go and RAID the drives that you might start running into bandwidth issues. I don't know the maximum bandwidth off-hand that onboard RAID can sustain, but I noticed that benchmark performance definitely wasn't doubled from a single drive. Furthermore, The visible difference wasn't too noticeable either. Perhaps a dedicated hardware RAID card might improve things, but I don't know (mostly since I don't have such a card to try out). Of course, that would simply drive up the cost dramatically, and probably wouldn't be worth it on a desktop.

Bottom line: A single SSD (or multiple separate drives) will run perfectly fine on a SATA-II equipped motherboard/notebook.
BGY11 is offline  
post #35 of 74 (permalink) Old 2010-01-16, 10:30 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,111
the other issue with RAID setup is that trim cannot be used while in RAID
redzone is offline  
post #36 of 74 (permalink) Old 2010-01-16, 03:58 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Edmonton AB
Posts: 2,319
Quote:
SATA-II equipped motherboard
The mother board im planing to get is says it comes with
6x SATA 3.0 Gb/s ports. Does not say SATA II though...

I have a photographic memory, trouble is most times the lens cap is on.
talljak is offline  
post #37 of 74 (permalink) Old 2010-01-16, 04:22 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leduc, AB
Posts: 1,105
no problem, It will work... sata & sata2 are compatible

Epson EX71, Tosh HD-A2, Denon AVR590, Athena P4100, Infinity P362,C250,P162. RCA L42WD22, Pio VSX1016, Athena LS50
DJDiggler is offline  
post #38 of 74 (permalink) Old 2010-01-16, 05:10 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 4,200
To be more precise, SATA 3.0 Gbps & SATA-II are the same thing. Yes, I know the math doesn't line up (300 megabytes per second normally isn't the same as 3 gigabits per second). SATA works a bit differently in that regard.
BGY11 is offline  
post #39 of 74 (permalink) Old 2010-01-16, 05:37 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Edmonton AB
Posts: 2,319
I looked at various mobos and they say SATA 3.0 Gb/s while the drives say SATA II
Kind of confusing, thanks for clearing that up

I have a photographic memory, trouble is most times the lens cap is on.
talljak is offline  
post #40 of 74 (permalink) Old 2010-01-16, 07:18 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 662
Checkout the motherboards from Gigabyte... they feature USB 3.0 in addition to SATA III (not that useful right now). I just did a build using Gigabyte's P55A-UD4P, Intel i860, 8 GB or RAM and it is fast. The new PC can transcode mpeg2 to mp4 (h.264 codec) in less than half the time it takes my old Intel Q6600 quad core powered PC.

You may need the extra memory if ever you decide to use/run Virtual Machines.
cyclo is offline  
post #41 of 74 (permalink) Old 2010-01-16, 07:52 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Edmonton AB
Posts: 2,319
Looking at the Gigabyte mobo, in order to get SATA III you must run your drives in RAID 0
USB 3.0 is cool, though nothing really uses it right now and PCI adaptor card is only about 40 bucks.

One thing I am curious about is monitoring.
With Asus or Gigabyte, how does one monitor fan speed, temps etc? Via the bios, included app or 3rd party app?

Edit: no plans for video editing or coding nor for virtual machines
Just high speed CS4 and general daily computer tasks

I have a photographic memory, trouble is most times the lens cap is on.
talljak is offline  
post #42 of 74 (permalink) Old 2010-01-16, 08:01 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 662
I typically avoid motherboard provided monitoring software (volts, fans, temps). Also some of them might not work under 64 bit OSes. I do use CPUID's HWMonitor (Hardware Monitor)... HWMonitor is from the same guys that came up with the very popular CPU-Z utility.

HWMonitor displays motherboard voltages, various temps from motherboard sensors, temp of the CPU, temp of the GPU, and those of hard drives (including those connected via eSATA). It also displays fan speeds of fans connected to the motherboard. It works under Win 7 x64.

EDIT: Another thing going for Gigabyte's middle to upper range P55 motherboards is the their use of the Realtek 889 soundchip... many are saying this is arguably the best onboard sound chip at the moment.
cyclo is offline  
post #43 of 74 (permalink) Old 2010-01-16, 08:44 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Edmonton AB
Posts: 2,319
I am a big music lover, and always have a tune going while on my pc, so good audio would be a nice feature.
More research...
Ps. cyclo I sent you a PM

I have a photographic memory, trouble is most times the lens cap is on.
talljak is offline  
post #44 of 74 (permalink) Old 2010-01-17, 06:40 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Edmonton AB
Posts: 2,319
Well I have decided.
  • Antec Nine Hundred II Gamer Case*
  • Antec True Power New 650W Power Supply w/ Quad +12V, 120mm Fan
  • Intel Core™ i7 Processor 860 2.80GHz w/ 8MB Cache
  • Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus CPU Cooler
  • Kingston HyperX 4GB PC3-12800 Dual Channel DDR3 Kit (2 x 2GB) w/ Intel XMP
  • Western Digital 1TB Caviar Black 7200rpm SATA II w/ 32MB Cache
  • LG Super-Multi 22x DVD Writer, SATA
  • Asus EAH5750 Radeon HD 5750 Formula 1GB GDDR5 PCI-E w/ DVI, HDMI
  • Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium x64 (64-bit)
I can't make up my mind on the Mobo it will either be the
Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD3 or the Asus P7P55D PRO
Depends which will be in stock.
I have to wait till February, so if anyone has any "woh wait a minute don't do that!" just let me know

I know we had a lot of talk about HDD VS SSD, and I decided to get the 7200rpm drive as the benchmarks showed it being almost identical to the 10k raptor.
Next year when the price of SSD drops I will change my primary drive.

*I am not a gamer, but it was the coolest looking case for my budget

I have a photographic memory, trouble is most times the lens cap is on.
talljak is offline  
post #45 of 74 (permalink) Old 2010-01-17, 07:16 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,700
Looks like that will be a very nice rig indeed! I am sure it will perform well, and will suit your needs very well. On a personal level, one thing I would change is the case. As cool as the Antec 900 series looks, I like the silence factor of the Solo or the P182/P183 cases much more. Even if it isn't going to be sitting right beside you, there is much to be said for a virtually silent PC. You can check out the recommendations for this type of thing at silentpcreview.com
rsambuca is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome