WiFi Antenna for point to point @1.65 miles? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 45 (permalink) Old 2009-11-16, 01:46 AM Thread Starter

Question WiFi Antenna for point to point @1.65 miles?

Hopefully it's okay to ask the question here in this forum. Seems there is a lot of expertise in antennas here.

I want to connect my place - 15 floors up in an apartment to my friends house that is 1.65 miles apart - direct line of sight.

What would be the best antenna to do this, or is this even possible?

--- information that may be relevant --
I'll be using the Atheros CM9 wifi cards -
http://www.mini-box.com/s.nl/it.A/id.387/.f
http://resources.mini-box.com/online...CM9/specs.html

card has two antenna connections if needed. It can do 2.4 or 5.8 Ghz, 802.11/a/b/g

I don't know anything about antennas, I'm a computer programmer than can easily build linux kernels, drivers, etc. etc. I have two left over SBC's (Wrap 1C from PC Engines with these wifi cards) from a project I did some 4-5 years ago using nycwireless pebble to create free wifi access points. I'd like to connect my house to my friends house via wifi.

----

Thanks for any help, if you have any other questions, feel free to ask.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 45 (permalink) Old 2009-11-16, 10:44 AM
Veteran

Im not sure how those cards connect up, but for an antenna, a bi-quad on an old small satellite dish will give you about 24 - 31 dbi, which should be plenty and is simple to build. Im very happy with my non dish biquad.

http://martybugs.net/wireless/biquad/
http://koti.mbnet.fi/zakifani/biquad/
http://www.trevormarshall.com/biquad.htm

Analysis of the biquad here : http://www.lecad.uni-lj.si/~leon/other/wlan/biquad/

For feeding a dish, you want to stick to the basic biquad, not the double biquad.