Powerline Networking and Switches - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 2009-04-16, 02:37 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 96
Powerline Networking and Switches

Is a powerline network able to work with a networked switch or switches?
punisher101 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 2009-04-16, 04:29 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 228
Yes it is, I'm using to act as a bridge to a switch downstairs that has my HTPC, 360, PS3 and television connected to it.
gnunn is offline  
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 2009-04-16, 04:30 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 96
Excellent. Thanks for the reply.
punisher101 is offline  
 
post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 2009-04-18, 02:26 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: K-W
Posts: 67
I have a follow up question... if I use a Powerline Adapter in a condo building, how secure is the connection?

.: Panasonic TH-46PZ800 + DMP-BD35 : Rogers 8642 : Nintendo Wii : Xbox 360 : Harmony One :.
CyberStorm is offline  
post #5 of 22 (permalink) Old 2009-04-18, 06:08 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: North York
Posts: 2,163
The ZyXEL's that I have and I believe some of the DLink's can be set to encrypted mode. The ZyXEL PLA-401's use 128 bit AES.
NeilN is online now  
post #6 of 22 (permalink) Old 2009-04-19, 09:19 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
Powerline Networking and Switches

Have been using Dlink 301 for over a year. REALLY easy to set up and configure. Just need to run the admin program once to give the units a name. They connect to each other without effort. Not sure anyone should care about the encryption, perhaps in an apartment building, not required in a house. Units overheat. Had to exchange 3 pairs, at least one of each pair dying within 2 months. This happened even though unplugged as much as possible. So keep your bill handy for returns. Took the covers completely off to keep them cool, that has increased the lifespan.
They also don't work well through a UPS, so can't protect them from power surges.
totoc is offline  
post #7 of 22 (permalink) Old 2009-04-19, 11:28 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 954
I had the D-Link DHP-301 Powerline connectors, and they failed on me as well after about 4 months. They would really overheat, and then the throughput rates on them dropped. I tried a different outlet, and while the throughput rate on them increased for a little while, it dropped back down again quickly.

So I exchanged them via D-Link. They sent me a new sealed box which I haven't opened yet.

I'm not sure if these new models are any better, perhaps someone can post a review soon.

But I was using the DHP-301 connectors to connect my SlingCatcher to my SlingBox, but then I went with a wireless gaming bridge by D-Link and connected that to my SlingCatcher. The performance with the bridge has been much better than the D-Link Powerline connectors. Now I truly have a wireless solution when placeshifting my cable box / DVD source from one TV to another TV!
Classof83 is offline  
post #8 of 22 (permalink) Old 2009-04-20, 10:45 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 690
I had failure problems as well - went through two sets before I gave up and exchanged them for something else.
taxtwit is offline  
post #9 of 22 (permalink) Old 2009-04-20, 10:48 AM
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Good feedback guys. Three consecutive posters having problems with heat and premature failure certainly would make me wonder if this gear is ready for primetime.



hugh is offline  
post #10 of 22 (permalink) Old 2009-04-20, 04:19 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: North York
Posts: 2,163
I went with the ZyXEL's specifically because they were supposed to be of higher quality. Only had them for a couple weeks but they're barely above room temperature when touched.
NeilN is online now  
post #11 of 22 (permalink) Old 2009-04-20, 04:50 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 96
I've heard good things about the Corinex HomeAV adapaters there supposed to go up to 200Mbps (which I would imagine is more theoretical). I'm considering this is an alternative to fully wired LAN.

HT guys indicated some positive results:
http://www.htguys.com/archive/2009/February27.html
punisher101 is offline  
post #12 of 22 (permalink) Old 2009-04-20, 04:56 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by CyberStorm View Post
I have a follow up question... if I use a Powerline Adapter in a condo building, how secure is the connection?
Both Dlink and Corinex use 3DES Encryption which is fairly robust and is used by the electronic payment industry.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Triple_DES
punisher101 is offline  
post #13 of 22 (permalink) Old 2009-04-20, 06:24 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: North York
Posts: 2,163
Limited by a 100 Mbps router and port I'm getting about 5.3 megabytes/sec doing two concurrent FTP transfers to my Popcorn Hour.
NeilN is online now  
post #14 of 22 (permalink) Old 2009-04-23, 04:54 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: K-W
Posts: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by punisher101 View Post
Both Dlink and Corinex use 3DES Encryption which is fairly robust and is used by the electronic payment industry.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Triple_DES
Perfect, I wasn't sure the powerline system used 3DES, thanks.

.: Panasonic TH-46PZ800 + DMP-BD35 : Rogers 8642 : Nintendo Wii : Xbox 360 : Harmony One :.
CyberStorm is offline  
post #15 of 22 (permalink) Old 2009-10-07, 05:56 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Toronto,
Posts: 1,354
I am looking into these devices. There are 85 Mbps and 200 Mbps units. The latter is limited by the 100 Mbps Ethernet port of the router. So, does it make more sense to get the 85 Mbps units which are way cheaper?

Yammy RXV2400 & CDC815, Celestion DL8 fr Mission 73Ci ctr Sansui rear Velodyne CHT8, Vaio TT180, [email protected]
e268 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome