.ifo / .vob playback - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 2009-02-25, 09:20 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 46
.ifo / .vob playback

I have a new laptop (from my company) - but it's locked down pretty tight, so I can't install any players / programs etc.....

I have a computer at home that I have all of my dvd's "backed up on" how can I play the .vob files, or the .ifo files so I can watch the movies?

Windows vista business edition / media player 11 is on the machine now.

I also have DivX installed / Xvid and FFDshow - I can't get anything to play the .ifo files like media player does on my winXP home computer. I can get the individual .vob files to play with the DivX plaer, but only one at a time.

I can make a .vob playlist with DivX and put the files in order so they play, but there is a 1-2 second delay between each file.

Is there a way to link the .vob files into one? so the playback is seamless?

or better yet, is there a way to just play them through the .ifo file?

any answers are appreciated (but make them in plain english please, I'm not super saavy with this stuff.)

Thanks.

Kelly
KC1974 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 2009-02-25, 09:29 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 46
follow up

i should clarify -

i can watch them fine at home on my win XP machine - but my questions pertain to trying to watch these files on my new laptop.

thanks

kelly
KC1974 is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 2009-02-26, 07:53 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Scarb
Posts: 2,782
Do you think it's a good idea to try and bypass your company's security policy? That said, you can download VLC Media Player. The zipped version has no installer, just unzip to a directory and run vlc.exe. This player supports everything and anything.
sleemo is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 2009-02-26, 08:29 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 46
i support my companies security policy - but all I'm trying to do is watch movies (at home - not even at the office).

My old laptop worked fine for this - but the new one is locked down tighther than I've ever seen (New IT guy - who likes to control us)
KC1974 is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 2009-02-26, 09:09 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 46
hey - SLEEMO

thanks - that worked.

a little tweaking still - but I think this is the answer I was looking for.

Thanks for the help.
KC1974 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome