Seagate Disk Drive Failures - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 48 (permalink) Old 2009-01-17, 03:33 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 403
Seagate Disk Drive Failures

Hi All:

New Seagate disk drives are failing, on boot up, due to faulty firmware. The number of failures is, apparently, quite large.

It is called "the boot of death".

Find out more at these two sites:

http://seagate.custkb.com/seagate/cr...p?DocId=207931


http://forums.seagate.com/stx/board/...cending&page=1

[Edit] -- applies to several Seagate drive types, including Barracuda 7200.11
Camera.Ken is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 48 (permalink) Old 2009-01-17, 06:30 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,115
Jake is offline  
post #3 of 48 (permalink) Old 2009-01-17, 07:55 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,317
Thanks for the heads up!
It seems I was one of the lucky ones who bought this brand....
I'm on hold now, to get a new firmware upgrade ?
Hopefully I won't have a failure, as I backed up most of my old harddrive onto this one, because I was worried the old 500gb was going to fail....
i hate tv is offline  
 
post #4 of 48 (permalink) Old 2009-01-17, 08:25 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,115
Barracuda 7200.11
ST31000340AS
ST31000640AS
ST3750330AS
ST3750630AS
ST3640330AS
ST3640630AS
ST3500320AS
ST3500620AS
ST3500820AS
ST31500341AS
ST31000333AS
ST3640323AS
ST3640623AS
ST3320613AS
ST3320813AS
ST3160813AS

Basically 1.5TB, 1TB, 750GB, 640GB, 500GB, 320GB and 160GB drives! Then they also list these models.

Barracuda ES.2 SATA
ST31000340NS
ST3750330NS
ST3500320NS
ST3250310NS

DiamondMax 22
STM31000340AS
STM31000640AS
STM3750330AS
STM3750630AS
STM3500320AS
STM3500620AS
STM3500820AS
STM31000334AS
STM3320614AS
STM3160813AS
Jake is offline  
post #5 of 48 (permalink) Old 2009-01-17, 08:29 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 826
Thank you...I guess

I have 2 500 GB drives in my NAS that are affected. I've sent an email to Seagate and hope they will tell me where to get the firmware update. It's apparently due out next week.

Congo

Panny TC-P60GT50, Vizio SB3651-E6 Soundbar, Harmony One, Android Box
congo is offline  
post #6 of 48 (permalink) Old 2009-01-17, 08:39 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,317
New firmware is expected on Wednesday, or so I was told via web chat...
My drive is only 1 month old, so I'm not too worried, but still, a tiny piece of me wants to get another, different brand to back up, the REALLY important files to.
I was wondering why the NEW 500gb drive was only $57...
I'm sure it was only coincidence
i hate tv is offline  
post #7 of 48 (permalink) Old 2009-01-17, 08:50 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 4,670
Count me with a failed 500GB 7200.11 ... hand't bothered to look into doing something about it until now ... thanks for the post.
JohnnyCanuck is offline  
post #8 of 48 (permalink) Old 2009-01-18, 01:33 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 403
My Computer Stays On

Hi All:

I think I'll leave my PC "On" until the firmware has been released and I can find few or no complaints about it.
Camera.Ken is offline  
post #9 of 48 (permalink) Old 2009-01-18, 02:20 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oshawa
Posts: 175
I have a few 1tb drives on the list and about 30+ 500g drives on the list that are from a few of my clients workstations.


Dam.... so I think I'll take a wait and see approach if flashing the new firmware is safe enough. Backing all those drives will keep me busy.
tbusa is offline  
post #10 of 48 (permalink) Old 2009-01-18, 02:25 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 4,200
I have the 1TB and 1.5TB drives... wonder if the firmware update will also fix the random "freezes" I get with the 1.5TB drive (basically, it's as if the drive stalls for a bit and then restarts itself -- freezing my computer in the process).
BGY11 is offline  
post #11 of 48 (permalink) Old 2009-01-18, 09:38 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 662
For the "freezing" issue on 1.5 TB drives, check out this item on Tech Report:
The Tech Report: 1.5TB Barracuda freezes: Seagate speaks out

For the "bricking" issue on on 1.5 TB and down (7200.11 drives), there is also more info here:
The Tech Report: Seagate offers fix, free data recovery for bricked Barracudas

For a discussion of performance related issues as a result of questionable firmware on 7200.10, here is a 2007 discussion on Slashdot:
http://hardware.slashdot.org/article.../08/28/2031234

I myself have a 100 GB Seagate drive on my year old Lenovo Laptop and Vista has started giving me warnings to backup my files and replace the drive. I ran HDTune and sure enough I got a warning on the Spin Retry Count parameter. Oddly enough, Seagate's own Seatools Diagnostics gives the drive a clean bill of health.
cyclo is offline  
post #12 of 48 (permalink) Old 2009-01-18, 11:14 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,317
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyclo View Post
I ran HDTune and sure enough I got a warning on the Spin Retry Count parameter. Oddly enough, Seagate's own Seatools Diagnostics gives the drive a clean bill of health.
And I was feeling all warm and fuzzy after running Seatools...
i hate tv is offline  
post #13 of 48 (permalink) Old 2009-01-18, 01:39 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,700
I just purchased a couple 500GB drives in December for my new rig. Thankfully, I just checked the serial numbers and mine are not affected.
rsambuca is offline  
post #14 of 48 (permalink) Old 2009-01-18, 05:22 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 4,200
My two Seagate drives aren't affected by the boot of death bug, but my 1.5TB was affected by the freezing issue.

Seagate is going to be e-mailing me instructions on how to update that drive's firmware.
BGY11 is offline  
post #15 of 48 (permalink) Old 2009-01-19, 12:08 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,700
The new firmware has been released. Instructions are on this page.
rsambuca is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome