How many movies will PVR hold? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 2015-12-21, 11:28 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 21
How many movies will PVR hold?

We're going to be away for 2 months and want to auto-record some TV shows to watch when we return.

How much does the PVR hold in terms of hours?
Benni is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 2015-12-21, 01:03 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,519
To answer that, would need to know WHICH PVR model you have. And then which size drive is in it.
The older units (8300), and the NB2s (8642) could have varying size of drives in them.
The NB3, only has a 1g drive.

I believe there is a sticker on the back/bottom, which says the size.

The 1gb drive on the NB3, is 'supposed to' be able to record of up to 240 hours of HD.

So depending on your drive size.. a 500g drive should be roughly max 120h, etc.

GDKitty
Rogers Ignite Xi6, LG 47LV5400 LED TV, Yamaha
gdkitty is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 2015-12-21, 01:42 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 21
Ours is an older one -- 500gb. That should be enough for us to record some episodes while we're gone. Thank you so much!
Benni is offline  
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 2015-12-21, 02:12 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,519
Didn't think on this.. being ATLANTIC..
Different boxes than Ontario..

So not sure, if they have switched over to MPEG4 for the storage of recordings..

IF they are still on MPEG2.. then you MIGHT only get 60 hours..

But if you don't have a bunch on there right now (pretty empty) you should be fine, as long as you don't record like 10 shows a night

GDKitty
Rogers Ignite Xi6, LG 47LV5400 LED TV, Yamaha
gdkitty is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 2015-12-21, 03:22 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 21
Thank you! There's only a few movies saved on there right now and we'll be recording only 3 one-hour shows per week for 8 weeks.
Benni is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 2015-12-21, 03:47 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,040
Worst case then is 19 mbps / 8b/B * 3600 s/h * 3 * 8 / 1000m/G = 200 GB

More typically 1 hour of 13 mbps MPEG2 requires about 5-6 GB/hour.

It would be very easy to test - record 10 hours of programming, make note of the % space used/left, then delete the 10 hours and subtract. I suspect you'll use roughly 1% per hour, perhaps a bit more. Utilize the channels you'll be recording when away for the testing since it can vary a bit by channel.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 2015-12-21, 05:01 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 21
Thanks! Will do!
Benni is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 2019-02-13, 10:20 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 229
I’m new to Rogers myself.......just got installed yesterday. I left Bell over price reasons. I was wondering the same thing. Yesterday when they came over to install they gave me the most horrible bulky PVR box I’ve ever seen. My mom owned a PVR that displays the time on it made by Arris so I quickly swapped it out, its also a HD dual tuner, it’s nicer looking. She had it for a few years before she cut the cord. Hope I made a good decision in terms on space on the box. I also hope Rogers has better units then the one they wanted to give me yesterday lol now.

Last edited by wmjfoley85; 2019-02-13 at 01:13 PM.
wmjfoley85 is online now  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 2019-02-22, 09:31 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Fredericton, NB
Posts: 1,787
No, they don't have better ones in the Maritimes. Rogers equipment out here is archaic, as it's based on the old network Shaw had and not the one Rogers uses in Ontario.

Hopefully they'll update it to the Comcast X1 platform when they roll that out and it'll finally reach parity with Rogers in Ontario.
Tridus is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome