PVR Extender bought from Rogers doesn't work - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 2014-04-07, 06:14 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 4
PVR Extender bought from Rogers doesn't work

Hi. I bought a PVR extender from a Rogers store today here in St. John's, Newfoundland. "FreeAgent GoFlex DVR" is written on the box. I have an older Motorola PVR that I bought a few years ago from Rogers. It only holds 20 HD hours and I badly need more storage than that. I have been on the phone with Rogers many times about that issue before I got this extender.

When I connected the extender, it didn't work. I got this message on my tv screen, "The use of external drives is not authorized with your account. Please disconnect the external drive and contact your provider. Alert 08"

I was on the phone today for an hour with different members of Rogers' support staff. As far as they are concerned, the extender should be working. They don't know why it isn't.

I have the extender using the eSata wire to connect it to the eSata port.

What do I have to do to get the extender to work so I can have more storage on my PVR? Any help would really be appreciated.
Blokk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 2014-04-07, 07:21 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,381
1. Welcome to the forum. I've moved your post to the Rogers Atlantic section since they use Motorola instead of Cisco/SA in Ontario.

2. What is the exact make/model of your PVR? Some may not work. What size is the eHDD (External Hard Disk Drive)?

3. I noticed in the Shaw forums (where they use similar equipment) the latest firmware may not allow for eHDDs. I'm not sure if Rogers Atlantic ever allowed for eHDD - you may wish to search for previous threads on that topic in Rogers Atlantic and Shaw.

4. The CSRs may have assumed you had Cisco/SA equipment...

5. I see one person in the Shaw forums mentioned that it worked after switching to component video to format the drive, then switched back to HDMI. Are you using HDMI?

6. FYI, Rogers in Ontario stopped selling eHDDs a few months back.

Here's a post useful for those new to the forum - FAQs, Search Tips, Etc.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=57741

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 2014-04-08, 01:27 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 4
Thank you 57 for your help. Here are some answers to your questions.

The PVR is a Motorola DCT6416 III. The eHH is 1 TB. The CSRs were told by me that the PVR was Motorola. They looked the PVR up on their screen too. One even said, is the PVR silver, and I said yes.

I saw in a thread from about two years ago on this forum that Rogers New Brunswick enabled the eSata. I was told by an employee at Future Shop who told me he used to work for Rogers that if it was done in New Brunswick it was done here too.

I know on the NextBox package it says an extender can be bought for it. The NextBox is sold here now.

I'm not sure how to switch from component video to HDMI. The PVR's remote gives me HDTV settings but doing that isn't one of them. I'm not given a chance to access any setting involving the PVR extender.

Any help is appreciated!
Blokk is offline  
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 2014-04-08, 01:39 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,509
Try this:
1. Unplug the PVR
2. Unplug the HDD.
3. Wait 15 sec and plug in the HDD.
4. Plug in the PVR.
ExDilbert is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 2014-04-08, 02:24 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,381
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blokk View Post
1.The NextBox is sold here now.

2. I'm not sure how to switch from component video to HDMI.
1. Really? I don't believe that the Cisco/SA equipment is compatible with Atlantic Canada. Perhaps they're using the NextBox name for something else?

2. Component Video and HDMI are two totally different connection types. Which are you using?

Cables & Connections: http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=76085

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 2014-04-08, 02:44 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 191
57 - Rogers uses the Nextbox name for its next-gen Motorola equipment in Atlantic Canada.
BoardGhost is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 2014-04-08, 02:53 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,381
Thanks, that's confusing.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 2014-04-08, 08:40 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: New-Brunswick (Acadian Peninsula)
Posts: 356
If I compare the images for the NextBox 2.0 on Roger's website for NB, the box look like the Motorola DCX 3400 or a model with same design.

On the website:


winterwolf is online now  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 2014-04-08, 09:40 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,588
The website changes, based on your location.

In Ontario, you will see for the NEXTBOX 2.0


And the nextbox 3.0

GDKitty
Rogers Ignite Xi6, LG 47LV5400 LED TV, Yamaha
gdkitty is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 2014-04-08, 10:51 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,460
Atlantic region uses the Nextbox moniker but they don't have to deal with the horrendous software that Ontario customers have.
yyzlhr is offline  
post #11 of 15 (permalink) Old 2014-04-09, 09:27 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 4
I did the unplugging and plugging in thing for the Rogers customer service person and it didn't work. I also did it again just as ExDilbert suggested, but unfortunately the Alert 08 message returned.

HDMI is written on the PVR so it must be using that.
Blokk is offline  
post #12 of 15 (permalink) Old 2014-04-09, 02:37 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 743
My extender on the pvr uses esata, got it online, HDMI will not work for an extender.

Hitachi 51 GWX 20B | Sony STRDE845 Receiver | Rogers NB 6208 PVR + 2500 | Proson V6 Speakers | 16 x 22 Basement HT
TheHulk is offline  
post #13 of 15 (permalink) Old 2014-04-09, 03:07 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,381
So, the OP needs to switch to component video connection for it to work? As noted in my post 2, someone at Shaw was able to get the eHDD to work using component and then switch back to HDMI. (Disconnect the HDMI cable completely while activating) Since Rogers Atlantic likely uses firmware that's different from Shaw, switching back to HDMI may, or may not work...

Or perhaps I simply misinterpreted your last phase? "Obviously" you cannot connect the eHDD with HDMI since it doesn't have that connection.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #14 of 15 (permalink) Old 2014-04-10, 12:34 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 4
I mean that the PVR box itself has HDMI written on it. But the extender is connected to the PVR using the eSata ports on both boxes.
Blokk is offline  
post #15 of 15 (permalink) Old 2014-04-26, 11:11 PM
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 66
In my experience, in Atlantic Canada, the PVR extender will not work with any PVR's besides the 3510, 3450, and 3400. The newest of the "silver" PVR's, the 3416, did not officially support it on Rogers either, but I cannot guarantee it won't work.
Bordak is offline  
Reply

Tags
extender , pvr , rogers

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome