Linux Lite took away internet from Windows 7 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By JamesK
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 2017-07-21, 11:10 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 80
Linux Lite took away internet from Windows 7

I recently experimented with Linux Lite on an old Dell laptop with W7.

It all installed and worked well enough. But when booting on W7, there was absolutely no internet connection. It was as if the machine was actually not internet capable.

Yet it still connected when using Linux, just not for W7.

Uninstalling Linux proved trickier than other uninstalls but then W7 and internet was resurrected.

I did some googling and it seemed to be a common issue, not just for Lite.
Monsieur Rioux is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 2017-07-21, 11:38 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,071
????

I've never heard of that happening and I've been dual booting Linux & Windows for years. I currently have OpenSUSE 42.2 and Windows 10 on my notebook computer.

I haven't lost my mind. It's around here...somewhere...
JamesK is online now  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 2017-07-21, 01:17 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 80
I guess if you never had the problem there's no reason to hear about it.

I was googling for a solution and there were so many results from people having the same issue, all saying I know there's nothing wrong with wi-fi/network/ethernet/router etc etc because Linux is connected, and as is the usual way of things, people responding on the various forums and articles would say "I have this too"

Last edited by 57; 2017-07-21 at 01:40 PM. Reason: Unnecessary Quote Removed.
Monsieur Rioux is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 2017-07-21, 01:26 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,071
It's not just me. I know of others who have no issue. Is it something peculiar with that hardware? The only issues I've had have been due to Windows, such as having to turn off fast start in W10, or making sure Windows doesn't touch the hardware clock.

When they say "I have this too", is there any sort of pattern?

I haven't lost my mind. It's around here...somewhere...
JamesK is online now  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 2017-07-21, 02:30 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,436
As JamesK said, Win10 fast start may be making assumptions about the state of the hardware. Win10 is not very Linux aware so booting Linux may change the state of the ethernet port in ways that Win10 or the Win10 driver does not know about. Fast start is basically a resume from hibernation so some hardware may not be fully initialized. I've seen hardware stop working on resume even without Linux dual boot. I would be turning off fast start in the BIOS and in Win10.
ExDilbert is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 2017-07-21, 05:13 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 80
I don't mean to be rude but you're both talking W10 when my OP said W7. Four times.

@JK I didn't spot any common denominator and to be honest I can't even recall how old the discussions were.
Monsieur Rioux is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 2017-07-21, 05:48 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,071
^^^^
My current computer was originally W7 and updated to W10. Prior to that, I had another notebook that was Linux & XP.

Also, without an Internet connection, you're less likely to get a virus. ;-)
Monsieur Rioux likes this.

I haven't lost my mind. It's around here...somewhere...
JamesK is online now  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 2017-07-21, 06:14 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,436
Point taken. Some of the same things could be said of Win7, less the fast start. If it hasn't been done already, I'd be looking at the Windows NIC drivers. A lot of motherboards used in Windows PCs use Realtek NICs and they can be very finicky, especially with the drivers MS provides.
ExDilbert is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 2017-07-21, 08:10 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,721
Quick solution would be to wipe windows, and just use Linux.
half kidding.. That's what I did years ago, and never looked back.

What does your internet connection consist of?
Is your computer connected directly to a DSL or Cable Modem sans router?
Or is there a router in between your computer and the modem your using?

DB8E/VHF Yagi rotor FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 8way split LG lcd.
majortom is online now  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 2017-07-22, 04:14 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 80
@JK Who needs an AV when you can just disconnect? I can see the letter in Viz now. "Why bother worrying about viruses? Simply disconnect from the internet."

@majortom

I had an old Dell netbook that I considered converting just as you say. I tried LL on that, booting from the thumbdrive only just to get an idea but the screen was really too small. I also tried it just from the thumbdrive on what was then my main laptop. No internet issues on either although maybe the installation on the third attempt made the difference.

We have BellAliant's excellent fibreop, all laptops involved working well wirelessly.

I was just a bit curious and thought let's have a spare that runs one of these alternatives that I hear so much about. It's no longer something to follow through as with a couple of new purchases in the home we now have good ones to fall back on.

I had fun trying it though.
Monsieur Rioux is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome