Help-additional outlets/boxes/renting - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 2008-09-14, 03:10 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Orillia, ON
Posts: 5
Help-additional outlets/boxes/renting

I just got basic Rogers digital cable with the MeTV package. We have one digital box in the living room. I'm new to the whole digital cable thing so any help would be appreciated.

By hooking up other TV's to coax outlets from previous cable hookups, will we be able to get any channels?

If we need more digital boxes, can we rent them from Rogers video, or do we have to buy them from the video store?

If we already have one digital box installed, are we able to install others, or do we need a cable guy to come back?
Ri99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 2008-09-14, 03:14 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,112
Yes, you can get the analogue channels to which you subscribe on the other TVs

Rent or buy, your choice.

You can usually pick them up and install/activate yourself, especially if you buy.

Do you have an HDTV?


Being new to the forum, you may wish to check out the following post if you haven't already:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=57741

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 2008-09-14, 03:19 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Orillia, ON
Posts: 5
Thanks, I didn't find that thread when I searched.

Our main TV is HD.

I just have one more question...without hooking another TV up, how do I know which channels are analogue?
Ri99 is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 2008-09-14, 03:20 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,112
The analogue channels are typically channels 1-70 or so. Since you have the ME and not the ultimate pack, there are probably some of those channels that you don't get. ME is a grandfathered pack if I recall correctly. You may wish to consider switching to the Digital VIP pack, which gives you more channels (along with up to 4 free outlets and a free SD STB), but may not cost you any more, depending..

Since you have an HDTV, do you have an HD STB for it? You mention digital, but digital is not HD.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Reply

Tags
installation

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome