Rogers Digital Cable Channel Discussion Thread - Page 21 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 22Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #301 of 307 (permalink) Old 2020-01-19, 11:12 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 87
@Free Market ,

Not sure which package CTV Sci-Fi is in but it is a flex channel, so providing you don't subscribe to the basic no flex channel option, you can swap it for a channel you don't want.
Flex options start with the Ignite Flex 5 option which is one step up from the basic subscription.
I think Flex 5 is only a few dollars more than the basic.
bluedrongo is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #302 of 307 (permalink) Old 2020-01-19, 11:17 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Whitby, Ontario (Rogers Cable), LG 42PC3D, 8642HD
Posts: 580
SciFi is only in the top level package. I have the one below (Popular) and I don't get it. I would have to pay $7 for it or upgrade to the next package (about $15).


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
whitbyterry is offline  
post #303 of 307 (permalink) Old 2020-01-20, 12:56 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 87
I have Flex 5 in an ignite bundle, I can add CTV Sci-Fi as one of my flex channels by dropping one of my 5.
My tv bundle is only 5$ more than the absolute basic which has no flex channels. ( I assume it is the skinny starter)
If you go to the ignite bundles and look at the flex channels you will find there are more than 100 flex channels to choose from and you can swap them over once a month after the first month.
I think the first month you can swap as often as you like.
The flex options are great.
bluedrongo is online now  
 
post #304 of 307 (permalink) Old 2020-01-21, 07:33 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Toronto - Rogers 8300HD PVR
Posts: 3,657
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluedrongo View Post
Not sure which package CTV Sci-Fi is in but it is a flex channel, so providing you don't subscribe to the basic no flex channel option, you can swap it for a channel you don't want.
Is the basic Ignite package not letting you add channels still?

I was surprised going through the website recently for the $25 basic non-Ignite package, that it now let you add individual channels (and packs) with the same pricing as those with bigger plans.
nfitz is offline  
post #305 of 307 (permalink) Old 2020-01-21, 11:23 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,393
I think that's always been available. The issue is that individual channels are so expensive that it's not worth getting basic and adding them. That's also true for some of the theme packs such as those for sports. It would be nice if Rogers offered add-on flex packages with 5, 10 or 20 channels for a reasonable price like some other BDUs. Flex 5 and Flex 10 are a good start but why not a Flex 15 or Flex 20. Also, why does the Popular package have so few flex channels? Adding missing channels quickly inflates the price to Premium pricing so it's not worth getting. Popular has fewer flex channels than Flex 5 and Flex 10. That doesn't make sense. There is a big gaping hole in reasonable offerings between Flex 10 and Premium.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #306 of 307 (permalink) Old 2020-01-22, 08:14 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 11
Interesting info. What about the sports channels - Sportsnet and TSN...are they available as flex in every package also? The rogers site makes it look like only the top two tiers have these.
Free Market is offline  
post #307 of 307 (permalink) Old 2020-01-23, 02:08 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 87
@Free Market ,

These are not flex channels but theme packs.
I signed up for TSN yesterday and also included Sportsnet for 15$ a month for 1 year.
I only want it until the Oz Open is finished then I will cancel.
Have not been able to figure out how to record matches, it confirms recording but then shows a red circle with a slash.
bluedrongo is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in













Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome