Roger Cable and TiVo - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 18 (permalink) Old 2010-07-29, 06:50 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 26
Well the CRTC plans to follow the american government and eliminate all analog, antenna, etc. signals by 2011. We have no date yet.

I firend of mine working at Rogers told me that as long as the CRTC would not force anyone it would stay the same.

But keep in mind that when you call in they will not offer it to you you will have to demand analog for now.
n4d3k1ng is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 18 (permalink) Old 2010-07-29, 08:41 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,073
Quote:
Well the CRTC plans to follow the american government and eliminate all analog, antenna, etc. signals by 2011. We have no date yet.
It's not all analogue, it's only OTA analogue. Here's the thread on the topic and there is a firm date as indicated in post 1 and discussed often on this forum:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=90621

There's also the following post regarding Cable analogue in that thread, which has also had lots of speculation in this forum. Some (smaller) providers are already going all digital (in most cases providing one or more free digital STBs to their customers).

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/show...389#post805389

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #18 of 18 (permalink) Old 2010-08-07, 02:49 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto/Etobicoke - Bloor/Royal York/Queensway/Islington
Posts: 1,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by airwave007 View Post
Thanks - I'm going to call Rogers and see what can be arranged... I am so attached to my TiVo that I am willing to forego HD and stick with Analog!
If you have a TiVo Premiere (maybe even a series 3??) and live near Toronto, Ottawa, Montreal, Vancouver, or a US border area, you can have SOME HD on your TiVo.

I use both of the coaxial connections - Rogers analog on the "cable" one and my Channelmaster antenna on the "antenna" one which gives me 19 OTA HD channels. The tuners on the TiVo seamlessly integrate all received channels and of course program guide data for all of them.

A-D DB4e & CS5, CM 4221 & 7778, TiVo Premiere & Roamio

Last edited by El Gran Chico; 2010-08-07 at 02:50 PM. Reason: typo
El Gran Chico is offline  
Reply

Tags
analog , rogers , tivo

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome