Shaw BlueSky TV Discussions - Page 5 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 54Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #61 of 101 (permalink) Old 2017-03-25, 01:26 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
I currently have a Gateway with 2 portals and can't find a compelling reason to switch. My big want is to watch my PVR content on my iPad or iPhone or Mac.
Trainwrecks is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 101 (permalink) Old 2017-03-25, 03:06 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 4,200
It would be nice to have Cloud DVR that could be accessed on a mobile device (it'll probably never appear on PCs or Macs though due to piracy fears).

Outside of the much improved user interface and maybe voice control for some people, there really isn't a need to upgrade if you're already happy with your existing setup.

That said, much like the Gateway HDPVR, I made a video showing off the new unit.

https://youtu.be/AxfpYv-9ZJk


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
BGY11 is offline  
post #63 of 101 (permalink) Old 2017-04-05, 08:04 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 231
4 new Bluesky 2 year plans added today. Small, Medium, Large, and Limited.
https://www.shaw.ca/television/blues...hero1-all-shaw

Andy K.
andyk is offline  
 
post #64 of 101 (permalink) Old 2017-04-06, 11:49 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: AB
Posts: 1,007
BlueSky TV launched nationally yesterday.

Small, Medium and Large are new TV packages and aren't just limited to BlueSky TV.
Limited TV is the "Skinny Basic" package.
The 3 new packages effectively make all the old ones legacy packages.

@BGY11 nice video review, thanks for posting.
BGY11 likes this.

Shaw Employee, Opinions are my own unless otherwise stated.

Last edited by Shaw Champ; 2017-04-06 at 12:10 PM.
Shaw Champ is offline  
post #65 of 101 (permalink) Old 2017-04-07, 07:54 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 12
Does anybody have any in-depth reviews of BlueSky? Or is it too soon.
SilverBlade2k is offline  
post #66 of 101 (permalink) Old 2017-04-08, 08:00 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 4,200
What are you really wanting to know? I've had mine for a month now and still enjoy it. My video above pretty much shows off the user interface and responsiveness (which hasn't changed). I've also had no crashes whatsoever; neither has my father who has a portal as well as the main unit.

Sent from my LG-H990 using Tapatalk
BGY11 is offline  
post #67 of 101 (permalink) Old 2017-04-16, 07:52 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Downtown Vancouver
Posts: 1,490
Ok quick research and don't see the big draw. That video shows all this blue sky tv is "Siri" for cable? Shaw really needs to work on previous projects, PVR boxes that freeze, missing guide channels and flickering.

Sorry for the sarcasm. But seriously I'm always interested in modern tech,.

Is the selling feature "Siri" for cable?

Optik PVR, Pioneer 1528-K, 58" Panasonic 3D TV, Xbox360, PS3, Panasonic 3D Bluray Player, Definitive Speakers, SVS Sub
stationg is offline  
post #68 of 101 (permalink) Old 2017-04-16, 11:54 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 4,200
Voice control and a much better user interface.

Sent from my LG-H990 using Tapatalk
BGY11 is offline  
post #69 of 101 (permalink) Old 2017-04-17, 06:29 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Interior
Posts: 1,796
hope its better than their customer service voice recognition. A while ago I phoned and they wanted my phone number(automated) so I say 866......... and it's repeated 867... and I say 866... and get 867.... and then I say 8 6 6 and I get 8 6 7 repeated. I gave up. Must have it programmed not to recognize toll-free numbers
gzink is offline  
post #70 of 101 (permalink) Old 2017-04-18, 01:38 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary SonyTVs, ShawXG1 Gateway & 5 Portals, 2x Harmony One
Posts: 3,659
The reason to 'switch' to 'Blue Sky' will become apparent but at the moment, no, there is no reason to make the switch. To me, by the time the Gateway is obsolete, Shaw will already be on to the 'next big thing' making 'Blue Sky' obsolete too.

This pattern with Shaw is now well established.
andyk, BGY11, RickyCV and 2 others like this.

If you can then do rather than not. You're your own worst enemy. They're parking their car over there.
Jetranger is offline  
post #71 of 101 (permalink) Old 2017-04-18, 02:51 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Mission BC
Posts: 718
To me it almost seems like a downgrade from the Gateway. No buffer, no app for remote recording.
andyk and RickyCV like this.
buckycat is online now  
post #72 of 101 (permalink) Old 2017-04-19, 10:51 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 24
I was almost considering switching to Blue Sky after emptied my pvr. Then I found out there was no live tv buffering for bathroom breaks or telephone calls.

Are there any exclusive content related value added features for Blue Sky box renters such as an enhanced library of complementary VOD?
cslusarc3 is offline  
post #73 of 101 (permalink) Old 2017-04-19, 03:01 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 4,200
What do you mean no live TV buffering? You can pause live TV just like normal.

Sent from my LG-H990 using Tapatalk
BGY11 is offline  
post #74 of 101 (permalink) Old 2017-04-19, 03:53 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Mission BC
Posts: 718
^ Probably referring to the fact that you can't buffer multiple tuners at once like you can with the Gateway
BGY11 likes this.
buckycat is online now  
post #75 of 101 (permalink) Old 2017-04-27, 06:27 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 1
Install Question

A year or two ago, I had Shaw come to my house to install the Gateway system. My house is an older one, built in the late 1970's. When the installer came, he eventually said that the system couldn't be installed because it has to be on a 'closed loop'. Any idea what that means and, I'm assuming, that the new Blue Sky also would have a similar problem?

Currently my Shaw modem (I have the 150) is right next to my computer in my office downstairs which is about 10 feet from where the cable comes into the house. TV is done through regular coax to the non-Gateway PVR up a level and the kitchen (non-PVR box) up another level. Both of these are from where the coax enters the house, not from where the cable modem is. There literally is no room for a big box where the coax comes in and, ideally, any system box I wanted placed in my office.
ToddStoon is offline  
Reply

Tags
bluesky negatives , bluesky positives , bluesky tv , shaw cable , xg1 , xg1v3

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome