Shaw Cable Simsub Discussions - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 23 (permalink) Old 2013-01-13, 11:39 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob0082 View Post
I called shaw at 7:10 PM and was told no we are not changeing channels back to Fox's WUHF and KAYU. .
What I found weird was that WUHF channell 49 was the GB @ SF game if
I used the analog tuner on my TV!
watchtoomuch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 23 (permalink) Old 2013-01-14, 10:49 PM
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 243
The CRS was absolutely wrong in this capacity. Contact the CRTC - complain about this.
DTVGuy is offline  
post #18 of 23 (permalink) Old 2015-12-15, 07:45 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 49
Thunder Bay now simsubbing CTV Toronto

An FYI for Shaw customers in Thunder Bay. I just noticed today that CTV news in Toronto is now Thunder Bay Television News. That's because of simultaneous substitution. The fun is over. lol
newsguy is offline  
 
post #19 of 23 (permalink) Old 2015-12-15, 10:03 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario
Posts: 5,408
Tbaytel does the same thing for CTV Toronto and CKPR when they are showing the same thing.

Not sure about during the news.

I can check tomorrow before I go ref.
DSgamby is offline  
post #20 of 23 (permalink) Old 2015-12-16, 07:01 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario
Posts: 5,408
Tbaytel has CTV News Toronto today.

What about Shaw?
DSgamby is offline  
post #21 of 23 (permalink) Old 2015-12-16, 07:24 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 49
Shaw has Toronto CTV
newsguy is offline  
post #22 of 23 (permalink) Old 2016-02-19, 12:25 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: OTtAwa (Byward Market); Sony Bravia KDL46SL140; Mini State HDMS9100
Posts: 239
KVOS simsub?

While visiting Vancouver, I'm noticing that Shaw will insert different commercials on KVOS cable 30 from that of KVOS ch. 12.1 ota. when there is no Canadian station showing the same program at the same time. Why is that? I thought simsub occurred only when a Canadian station carries the same program as an American station at the same time. Does Shaw get part of the revenue from the inserted commercials? If yes, then technically couldn't they do that with other U.S. stations at all times even though there is no Canadian station carrying the same program at the same time?
rmchahn is offline  
post #23 of 23 (permalink) Old 2016-02-19, 02:41 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 74
Just checked KVOS KFFV .
Shaw feed is pixelated, but OTA is not.
Doesn't sound like exact same feed to me.
Just using old FM radio antenna.
zapattack is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome