Shaw Cable analogue to digital migration - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 491 (permalink) Old 2011-04-26, 08:24 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 18
Will Shaw have analog cable available indefinitely

I searched but couldn't find the answer i was looking for. Will Shaw eventually force me to their digital TV box? If so, is there a set date? Bonus question Do the Americans still have analog cable or are they all digital now?
NolanGrayson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 491 (permalink) Old 2011-04-26, 08:43 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,333
1. Eventually, everyone will be digital only.

2. There is no set date and each provider is different.

3. Most cable providers (Canada and US) still provide some analogue cable, however, the trend is towards digital with fewer analogue channels available, eventually none. Some (usually small) providers are all digital in certain areas. Here's the thread on the topic:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=90621

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #18 of 491 (permalink) Old 2011-04-26, 08:58 PM
Zod
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 832
I think shaw can add 3 HD channels for every analog channel they remove. It's only a matter of time.
Zod is offline  
 
post #19 of 491 (permalink) Old 2011-04-27, 01:36 AM
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: AB
Posts: 1,007
For each Analogue channel space consumed is roughly 10-12 SD and just over 3 HD digital stations. There are plans for some reclamation of the "Tiers" first not including the basic cable channels (pretty much the first 20 or so in most communities) in order to create more space for further channel additions as well as the freed bandwidth in other uses within our network.

Shaw guys here will be happy to share more when we can. For now please understand there are some plans for partial conversion but not full.

Shaw Employee, Opinions are my own unless otherwise stated.

Last edited by Shaw Champ; 2011-04-27 at 11:39 AM. Reason: Edit amount clarification
Shaw Champ is offline  
post #20 of 491 (permalink) Old 2011-04-27, 11:06 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,333
Quote:
roughly 10 SD and 4 HD digital stations
I'm pretty sure that for HD stations it's either 2 uncompressed or 3 compressed HD channels per QAM.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #21 of 491 (permalink) Old 2011-04-27, 11:43 AM
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: AB
Posts: 1,007
Hey, yes I did change it I was slightly off. One channel is equal to about 38megs. So for HD we would compress no further than 12 and SD no lower than 3 typically speaking.

Shaw Employee, Opinions are my own unless otherwise stated.
Shaw Champ is offline  
post #22 of 491 (permalink) Old 2011-04-28, 04:46 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 79
Isn't this a result of the planned digital transition required by the CRTC August 2011?

Last edited by 57; 2011-04-28 at 05:22 PM. Reason: Merged threads, please read post 17.
ghostrider06 is offline  
post #23 of 491 (permalink) Old 2011-04-28, 05:11 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,071
^^^^
No. One has nothing to do with the other.

I haven't lost my mind. It's around here...somewhere...
JamesK is online now  
post #24 of 491 (permalink) Old 2011-05-04, 03:53 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: White Rock, BC
Posts: 268
So if you have Digital Basic and you acquire a HDTV box will you get the HDBasic
channels 200 to 215?

FaxCap

Shaw, Motorola DCX-3400
FaxCap is offline  
post #25 of 491 (permalink) Old 2011-05-04, 05:01 PM
tux
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 1,329
That's correct. HD Basic (ch 200 - 215) is available for free to everyone who has a Shaw HD box or Shaw HDPVR, and has at least Basic cable (but not the "Personal TV" plans).
tux is offline  
post #26 of 491 (permalink) Old 2011-05-08, 04:35 AM
Premium Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Calgary
Posts: 3,741
Exclamation Off topic posts removed

Let's not get into a comparison with OTA — that is not the point of this thread.
Additionally, let's not compare with Shaw's HD equipment either, as that is also not the point of this thread.
Several posts have been removed.
downbeat is offline  
post #27 of 491 (permalink) Old 2011-05-26, 02:22 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 487
it looks like Shaw is going all digital in august
to make room for there new internet plans
mike10 is offline  
post #28 of 491 (permalink) Old 2011-05-26, 02:36 AM
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: AB
Posts: 1,007
@Mike10 this is for the Analogue "Tiers" only for now. There is a Calgary Herald news article on the subject here (partial quote below)

Quote:
The basic cable channels will remain analogue. He added that 80 per cent of Shaw’s customers are already digital.

Shaw Employee, Opinions are my own unless otherwise stated.
Shaw Champ is offline  
post #29 of 491 (permalink) Old 2011-05-26, 08:54 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 206
Shaw Going 100% Digital In Aug 2012!!

Actually the 2 previous posts are not quite accurate. Shaw will indeed be going totally digital but it will happen next year in Aug 2012 as per this quote I got from Cartt.ca. It doesn't say anything on Cartt about analog basic remaining there so I don't know, it says "all" customers will be digital.

"That second phase will be enabled by the complete reclamation of all analog cable TV spectrum, which will be done over the next 16 months. That means all Shaw Cable customers will be digital come the end of August 2012.

Reclaiming that network spectrum will increase the network’s capacity “six-fold,” said Bissonnette who pegged the project’s cost at $100 million."
jericho is offline  
post #30 of 491 (permalink) Old 2011-05-26, 09:19 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,834
@jericho, it seem the Cartt article is incorrect according to everything posted here and the Shaw web page (basic will still be analog):
Quote:
One of the biggest decisions we have made is to undertake a major upgrade of our network by converting our television analog tiers to digital. In making this move we will triple the capacity of our network, freeing up space for more Internet, HD and On Demand programming.
Dr.Dave is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome