New advice planning HTPC..newbie - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 2008-11-27, 03:33 PM Thread Starter

New advice planning HTPC..newbie

Hello all from NB...

I'm new to HTPC, but very technologically inclined...

I have massive renovation plans for my house. I am switching the current locations of the dining and living rooms. (i.e. the living room will be where my dining room is now).

I'm looking at a 52" Samsung LCD (650 model) 120hz 1080p to go with a nice Onkyo 7.1 surround sound system.

I would like to integrate a HTPC with this in order to play Blu-Ray discs from it (150$ Blu-Ray drive is cheaper than 400$ PS3) and I would like to PC game on the flat panel TV. Also would be nice to play my music from my HD and browse the internet from the couch.

My work PC will be located in my office directly below the future living room. Would be nice for this PC to double as a HTPC. My thoughts would be to run a HDMI cable through my floor and up to my HDMI receiver.

Now, my problem would be to get the details going. How do I get a keyboard and mouse to work from upstairs? I don't think wireless peripherals will work properly through the floor. Would one have to extend a USB cable upstairs and plug in the keyboard wireless receiver up there? Since I will be gaming, I want the mouse and keyboard to be free of delays or inaccuracies.

Also, is it possible to have a remote turn-on setup so that I could turn on the PC from upstairs? I do realise I would have to load discs from downstairs, but that's not a big deal...

Thanks in advance !

Cheers

Jeff
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 2008-11-27, 03:57 PM

wow! if you want to do all of that you might was well get another pc to set by the tv. i can't imagine running usb cables that far. of course a ps3 will be cheaper, but it won't do any of your tasks quite as well (except blu-ray).