im new to all of this!! - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 2008-10-15, 08:46 PM Thread Starter

im new to all of this!!

hey guys, im interested in this, but have no knowladge about htpc at all, i have a hitachi television, 52 inch dlp hdtv, i have many questions, ill just throw a few of the first ones out there and hope that you can all help me out. first has anyone use one of these things? (VGA to Component Video Converter) and are they any good at all?? the reviews ive read seem to make it sound good, now my next question, is i need a new computer anways, so would getting a devent computer, then upgrading it with the components required. now the other thing, when i go for a new computer, i want a blu-ray burner, i am a photographer and they disc will hold a whole lot more than dvd which makes a whole lot of sense for storage. so since i will have that installd anyways, will i be able to play blue ray movies and still have the great quality that they deliver??
thanks guys, all of thse may sound simple but like i said, i have no idea!!

Last edited by 57; 2008-10-15 at 11:59 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 2008-10-16, 10:14 AM

Do some reading on this and other HTPC forums first. Make your questions more precise.

VGA to component can work well. Depending on the transcoder. Better get a video card with component output.
Blu-ray burning ain't a good idea... yet. It's more expensive than hard drive storage (per GB).
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 2008-10-16, 12:23 PM Thread Starter