Keeping internet connection alive - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 2008-10-12, 03:55 PM Thread Starter
Veteran

Keeping internet connection alive

Im new to Rogers high speed. I run a Vista system and it seems to me that my connection drops out or disconnects if i leave my system for a period of time. I have my power settings set to on all the time for max performance, but if im away long enough i fall back to my log in screens(im still logged in however)

I noticed this with MSN requiring me to re-sign in because connection was lost and with Torrent downloads. When im at the PC torrents go no problem when i come back in say 30minutes they all turn red as my connection seems to go to sleep.

Is there any settings or tweaks i need to be looking at within vista? I though a download was considered activity...

Connection however is instant when i select a web page, i never get the "no connection error when browsing, i just noticed that msn and torrents

Licenced HVAC TECH: "Without seeing your problem i can only offer suggestions, no warranty is included with my advice"
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 2008-10-12, 05:10 PM Thread Starter
Veteran

To add to this, my streaming from PC to PS3 via wireless seems to drop too,

Licenced HVAC TECH: "Without seeing your problem i can only offer suggestions, no warranty is included with my advice"
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 2008-10-12, 06:49 PM
Veteran

If you're with rogers you should definitely be "always on".
Even most DSL modems have keep-alive options for PPPoE.
The only explanation I can think of is your pc is setting the network port to go to sleep after a certain time for whatever reason.
Check your drivers to see if there is a setting for this.
I don't have vista, so I don't know the exact dialog names, but in XP it's under System properties, device manager, network adapters.