Linksys DMA 2200 Media Extender and NAS200 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 2008-05-05, 02:31 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1
Linksys DMA 2200 Media Extender and NAS200

I am looking to setup a Linksys DMA 2200 Media Extender connected to a Linksys NAS200 to replace my existing PVR(5600) with ExpressVu.

My plan is to return the 5600 rental and purchase the standard satellite receiver. I would then use the media extender combined with the NAS (built in media server) to give me my PVR fucntionality.

How does the Media Extender and satellite receiver work together? i.e. are you able to just plug the media extender into the satellite receiver and away you go...

Can the Media Extender fully control the satellite receiver when it is hooked up correctly? i.e. change channels, pull the channel guide etc.

Anyone sharing their experience using either of these units would be much appreciated!

Dave
western592 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 2008-05-05, 02:53 PM
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Quote:
How does the Media Extender and satellite receiver work together?
They don't really.

A media extender works with an HTPC to extend what's on your computer desktop to your television. The signal source, such as cable, cable set top box or satellite receiver, connects to your personal computer.

Now if you can control the satellite box from your HTPC then you can control it from the Media extender.

My advice is to get your HTPC working with your cable of satellite provider then introduce the Media extender.



hugh is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 2008-05-05, 04:15 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,051
Quote:
How does the Media Extender and satellite receiver work together?
They don't, I think.
Quote:
Can the Media Extender fully control the satellite receiver when it is hooked up correctly?
I don't think so.
And BeV PVR doesn't accept external hard drives yet.
And when it does, it will probably be DRM-ed, just like Dish starts tomorrow...
granduncle is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome