Computer (VGA) to LCD (HDMI) - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 2008-03-18, 07:29 PM Thread Starter
Rookie

Computer (VGA) to LCD (HDMI)

I've got my laptop in which I'm trying to connect it to an LCD TV which has a HDMI and a VGA input.

I need have it setup so that laptops with either a 'DVI out' or 'VGA out' can display their picture onto the LCD TV. So basically, it needs to have digital and analog signal (right???).

Correct me if I'm wrong (I'm new at this) but.. a DVI-D cable won't work with my setup BECAUSE... its "only digital" and would need a DVI-D (digital) to VGA (analog) converter at my laptop end to plug the DVI-D cable into the VGA input of my laptop.

So I read about the DVI-I cable.. and it can do analog and digital signals. So, can I have this 'DVI-I' cable hooked into the LCD via a "DVI-I(female) to a HDMI(male)" passthrough piece? and then since the cable has the analog and digital signal it would work with VGA out and DVI out Laptops right??

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 2008-03-18, 07:36 PM

You need two cables.

1. A DVI-HDMI cable, which will allow laptops with DVI ports to connect to the TV via the HDMI port.

2. A regular old VGA cable that will allow laptops with standard VGA connectors to be hooked up to the TV via the VGA port.
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 2008-03-18, 07:47 PM Thread Starter
Rookie

but why have 2 cables? Its my understanding that DVI-I can do analog and digital signals. Wouldn't a DVI-I cable allow me to connect a VGA passthrough piece on my laptop end so that VGA input can still work? Or does it depend on if my LCD TV can except a DVI-I input (as opposed to excepting a DVI-D) input?

post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 2008-03-18, 07:52 PM

What is a "VGA passthrough piece" ?