AMD 780G discussion - Page 4 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #46 of 120 (permalink) Old 2008-03-13, 09:17 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Toronto,
Posts: 1,348
This thread turns out to be very informative.

Anyway, I have a question for you guys. Can it play spiderman3 which requires Shader Model 3 and 250 MB on the graphics card? Can it play the game without an additional graphics card?

The reason I asked is that I bought spiderman3 recently for my grandson to play when he visits, but my single core desktop cannot play it, and I did not read the system requirements when I bought the game. So, I had to buy a new graphics card to make it play.

TIA

Yammy RXV2400 & CDC815, Celestion DL8 fr Mission 73Ci ctr Sansui rear Velodyne CHT8, Vaio TT180, [email protected]
e268 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #47 of 120 (permalink) Old 2008-03-13, 09:20 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,469
Hard to say for sure.

The embedded GPU supports DX10 so it should be compatible. The question will be what framerate you can get.

Most of the reviews have summaries for some popular games so I would suggest checking those out. The review at Anandtech is the most recent I believe.
jvincent is offline  
post #48 of 120 (permalink) Old 2008-03-13, 10:56 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Toronto,
Posts: 1,348
iammossy: would you please run this program to see if your setup can run spiderman3. This test is safe. I have done it a few times, no trojan or spyware. Thanks.

http://www.systemrequirementslab.com/referrer/srtest

jv: how do I check framerate?

Yammy RXV2400 & CDC815, Celestion DL8 fr Mission 73Ci ctr Sansui rear Velodyne CHT8, Vaio TT180, [email protected]
e268 is offline  
 
post #49 of 120 (permalink) Old 2008-03-13, 12:23 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 15
Spiderman 3 Test

I'll run it this evening when I get home!

Remote HTPC power on update: I had to remove front panel, then remove the display from the panel, then disassemble the display by removing the LCD from it's housing. Then remove the powerS/W wires from the motherboard and connect it to the display (slight mod required) Then reattach alternate power wires to M/B. I don't get it. The altered case works well with or without the remote, so why doesn't it already come wired properly?

Has anyone else seen any posts from other people that had this problem? I can't be the only one!
iammossey is offline  
post #50 of 120 (permalink) Old 2008-03-13, 02:19 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,469
Quote:
jv: how do I check framerate?
Honestly, I'm not 100% sure since I'm not a gamer. I believe some of the games have a way to display it builtin or there is an application you run.

The real test is that if it the motion is jerky while you are playing the game then your frame rate is too low.
jvincent is offline  
post #51 of 120 (permalink) Old 2008-03-15, 11:04 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Westmount, QC
Posts: 310
mr_raider is offline  
post #52 of 120 (permalink) Old 2008-03-16, 10:48 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Fraser Valley, BC
Posts: 491
I picked up the GA-MA69GM-S2H 4 or 5 months ago and I have to say I'm surprised that people have found the onboard video working well with HD/Blu-Ray playback. Its running with 2 Gigs of RAM and a LG SuperBLU drive with HD-DVD/Blu-Ray playback. Playback is with PowerDVD Ultra

I purchased this board with high expectations on the onboard video. In my personal experience is that I could not get smooth HD/Blu-Ray playback with the onboard video with a X2 4800. CPU usage was always high at 80-90% and the playback would have hicups. It seemed as if the hardware decoding on the video wasn't working. I tried reinstalling Vista as well as installing XP MCE. Nothing worked for me. I ended up picking up a 8600GT for about $100 and all of my playback issues were solved. Smooth playback and about 20% CPU usuage.

It seems as if most have posted sucess stories with the onboard video. Has there been significant driver upgrades in the past few months? I'd love to get the onboard video working with proper HW decoding as it would be a little quieter than the 8600GT. Does anyone have any suggestions?
FrostyButters is offline  
post #53 of 120 (permalink) Old 2008-03-16, 11:25 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,469
I think the only success that people have had with a 690G based board would have been using S/W decoding for HD-DVD/BluRay playback. For OTA HD, which is MPEG2 based the 690G would probably work.

I haven't followed it that closely but I suspect that would require more CPU power than you have for the new formats.
jvincent is offline  
post #54 of 120 (permalink) Old 2008-03-16, 03:36 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Fredericton, NB
Posts: 3,185
The problem with EVERYTHING from AMD is that there is always something that is not turned on in the driver that should be by default.

Also, you need to make sure that the hardware accelleration in PowerDVD is turned on (I believe it is by default).

I have had sucess with the 690G but that was only with the HD HQV disc. I have not played with an actual movie. My CPU util on the 690G was about 70% with an X2 4000.

This new 780G is a very tempting one piece upgrade for many of us that have the 690G boards. The 780G is scoring a solid 80 points in the HD HQV benchmark and is showing super low CPU utilization on all content.
que3jxp is offline  
post #55 of 120 (permalink) Old 2008-03-16, 11:19 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Toronto,
Posts: 1,348
The thanks Mr Raider for link. I'll give it a try when I get home.

Yammy RXV2400 & CDC815, Celestion DL8 fr Mission 73Ci ctr Sansui rear Velodyne CHT8, Vaio TT180, [email protected]
e268 is offline  
post #56 of 120 (permalink) Old 2008-03-24, 10:28 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Toronto,
Posts: 1,348
Thanks Mr Raider. Using Fraps, I got a max frame rate of 30. Played a little while and average was 26. Don't know what it means, but the game was quite smooth while playing it. This is on a single core AMD64 mobile 4000+ overclocked to 3 GHz, and a EVGA 7600 video card. I think I'll need to upgrade soon. This 780G board sounds great.

Yammy RXV2400 & CDC815, Celestion DL8 fr Mission 73Ci ctr Sansui rear Velodyne CHT8, Vaio TT180, [email protected]
e268 is offline  
post #57 of 120 (permalink) Old 2008-03-27, 01:46 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,331
Too bad they don't make Intel 775 mobos with this integrated graphics. I would prefer having an E8000 series as my CPU and still be able to use onboard video like the 780G.
Wayne is offline  
post #58 of 120 (permalink) Old 2008-03-28, 06:53 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayne View Post
Too bad they don't make Intel 775 mobos with this integrated graphics. I would prefer having an E8000 series as my CPU and still be able to use onboard video like the 780G.
If you're in no rush the Intel version of the Nvidia 8200/8300 chipset would be a pretty good fit. Or the Intel G45.
badkarma is offline  
post #59 of 120 (permalink) Old 2008-03-31, 06:19 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,331
Quote:
Originally Posted by badkarma View Post
If you're in no rush the Intel version of the Nvidia 8200/8300 chipset would be a pretty good fit. Or the Intel G45.
Are there any mobos out yet which have these video chips? I have generally used Asus mobos in the past and have been pretty happy with them.
Wayne is offline  
post #60 of 120 (permalink) Old 2008-03-31, 06:23 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,469
The Nvidia cards are out in Europe but are waiting for a driver update before they are going to be released in the NA market.

Since I am waiting for the B3 Phenoms, probably a 9150, to be available before I make my upgrade they might be available by then.

According to the guys at Anandtech the driver update is due at the end of April. They are working on a major shootout between the various 780G boards and are planning on covering the 8200 as well.

Should be interesting.
jvincent is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome