TVersity Multimedia Streaming Software - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 2008-02-15, 08:59 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 702
TVersity Multimedia Streaming Software

Hey,

What I have?

PS3, and a desktop computer running windows xp

What I want to do?

I want to setup a media server so I can watch videos, view pictures, and whatever else possible on the ps3.

My house is wired to every room for internet.

I currently have a dlink splitter. Dont think it can used for a network at all.

I have downloaded TVersity.

http://www.tversity.com/home

So my question is, for someone who has never done this, and has no clue, what do I need to make it work?

thanks
ClgShaft is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 2008-02-15, 09:08 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 702
This is what I have:

http://www.dlink.com/products/?pid=478

So from what i know, it should work.
ClgShaft is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 2008-02-15, 10:01 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 702
like i figured it out.

ps3 is now seeing tversity.
ClgShaft is offline  
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 2008-02-16, 08:44 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,898
ClgShaft,

I am thinking of doing the same set up...

Where there any issues you encountered ?

Did you install ffdshow ?

Are you able to stream .vobs to the PS3 to decode ?

My only difference in set up is I have wireless to the PS3, but my XP PC is wired to the router.

simplicity is genius...
filper is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 2008-02-16, 01:43 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 926
The biggest problem I had setting up TVersity was making sure my firewall was setup properly to allow it to be accessed. Once I fixed that (I had multiple firewall programs running--not wise), everything worked fine.
Stargazer is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 2008-03-10, 08:34 AM
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
TVersity, PS3 and WMA Files playing for 30 Seconds

I have all my music stored on a NAS device, run TVersity on my computer and will use my PS3 to draw music to my stereo and photos/videos to my television.

I am running into a weird problem and am hoping someone out there can help figure this one out.

It appears that some (but not all) WMA songs that I try to play on the PS3 will only play for 30 seconds and then stop.

I have googled the web and found a couple of threads on the Sony PS3 forum that suggested that the Sony v2.1 firmware does this for all WMA but that is not the case.

I find most of my WMA songs play fine but some stop at 30 seconds. Interestingly if you fast forward the problematic ones for to 10 or 15 seconds, they don't seem to stop at 30 seconds.

Anyway, I have stopped using the PS3 to stream because its such a crap shoot.

Anybody can shed some light on this?



hugh is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 2008-03-10, 09:41 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 4,670
hugh, have you tried TwonkyMedia instead of TVersity? I know it's not a free solution, but it is very inexpensive. I haven't experienced the 30 second cutout and I'm running Twonky both from my NAS and from my Vista PC. You might want to give the trial package a run and see if that resolves your problem.
JohnnyCanuck is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 2008-03-10, 09:45 PM
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
I am close to certain, I know what the issue is and a possible solution but I am still testing. Actually I like TVersity so I want to stick with it.



hugh is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 2008-05-26, 11:06 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: North York
Posts: 2,135
TVersity and NASA TV

Has anyone succeeded in streaming NASA TV http://www.nasa.gov/multimedia/nasatv/index.html through TVersity? I've tried various URLs with no luck.

Last edited by NeilN; 2008-05-26 at 11:07 PM. Reason: added link
NeilN is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 2008-05-26, 11:27 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 1,768
Try this one, worked for me:
Code:
http://playlist.yahoo.com/makeplaylist.dll?id=1369080&segment=149773
It is from inside the Windows Media .asx file, but I can't guarantee how long it will be valid before they change it.

And here's the Real Media and Quicktime ones (but I haven't tested them).
Code:
http://www.nasa.gov/ram/35037main_portal.ram
http://www.nasa.gov/qtl/151335main_NASA_TV_QT.qtl

Mike / technut
technut is offline  
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 2008-05-27, 10:05 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: North York
Posts: 2,135
Thanks. I had my firewall blocking Windows Media Player so that was the main issue (doh!). Now, my ultimate goal is to have NASA TV stream to my PS3. Clicking the link in TVersity causes WMP to start playing the clip but selecting the same link using the PS3 results in a blank screen. I know that the stream is being sent to the PC as I see a steady level of network traffic coming through. Other video podcasts and YouTube clips show up fine.
NeilN is offline  
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 2008-06-23, 09:03 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 300
Can't get TVersity to work with PS3

I couldn't get TVersity to work at all.

I have a headless machine running XP HE. It has all my files. I connect to it through a remote desktop connection from my Vista desktop. The PS3 and both computers are hardwired to the router. I've changed the port for TVersity, checked the router, the firewall, etc. It just will not find the server.

Any ideas why?
willise is offline  
post #13 of 13 (permalink) Old 2008-06-23, 09:29 PM
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Try this...

First, check and make sure TVersity is working on your Vista Computer by playing a song and a video.

Second, check that your router is setup to multicast and upnp.

Third, turn on your PS3 and make sure it can connect to the internet and works on your network.

Fourth, go into tversity and under the Advanced menu item click on Restart Sharing. Click on the Yes dialog box.

Fifth, go back to the PS3 and see if your PS3 sees the TVersity server.


then my suggestion is turn your PS3 on and make sure its running. Next boot up TVersity.



hugh is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome