music from pc to stereo - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 21 (permalink) Old 2008-01-29, 08:46 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlet View Post
Yes, I also remember that Audigy mess when I was trying to decide between an Audigy and a M-Audio card. In addition, the Audigy products were super convoluted requiring some custom cables nowhere to be found unless you bought the "deluxe" model. I ended up buying the M-Audio Revolution 7.1 PCI audio card with no regret (so far).
Does the above apply to the Audigy SE? That is, are there known problems with the SE if used solely for digital playback?
Marvin G is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 21 (permalink) Old 2008-01-30, 06:24 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Carleton Place, Ontario, Rogers Cable
Posts: 1,748
I don't know and I don't care since I am using the M-Audio Revolution 7.1 audio card.

SA9865HD; Panasonic TH-50PZ850; Denon AVR-X4000; Tannoy: Arden, S8C, S8LR; SVS 16-46PC+; Oppo 971; Harmony 659/680
jlet is offline  
post #18 of 21 (permalink) Old 2008-02-02, 01:59 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 6,296
I find the Audigy SE works fine for digital audio. There were some problems getting DD pass through to work with early drivers but that has been resolved. The analog outputs on the Audigy SE are not the best though. The M-Audio Revolution 7.1 is a better card overall but costs more than the Audigy SE. OTOH, I never did get DD pass though to work with an M-Audio Audiophile 2496.
I_Want_My_HDTV is offline  
 
post #19 of 21 (permalink) Old 2008-02-02, 09:37 AM
Digital Sage
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,469
Quote:
never did get DD pass though to work with an M-Audio Audiophile 2496
That's odd. I've been using a 2496 in my HTPC from day one with no problems.
jvincent is offline  
post #20 of 21 (permalink) Old 2008-02-03, 02:09 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 6,296
I looked up how to do it again. It appears that the setup is very obscure to get DD pass through to work. Those instructions were not available when I purchased the 2496. It's sitting in a box right now. I will give it another try soon. The Audigy was much easier. Just had to check one box.
I_Want_My_HDTV is offline  
post #21 of 21 (permalink) Old 2008-02-03, 02:16 PM
Digital Sage
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,469
Let me know if you can't get it working and I can check my setup.
jvincent is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome