Help me Build New HTPC (Post here to discuss plans for new HTPC) - Page 69 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1021 of 1073 (permalink) Old 2011-12-19, 10:35 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,334
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsambuca View Post
I have never had a cpu failure, but I have had 2 motherboards die from capacitor failure.
Were these in the period when we were particularly prone to capacitor plague?
Wayne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1022 of 1073 (permalink) Old 2011-12-19, 11:08 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,700
I assume so, seeing that I suggested you look up 'capacitor plague' in the first place
rsambuca is offline  
post #1023 of 1073 (permalink) Old 2011-12-20, 02:04 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Hawkesbury Ontario
Posts: 199
HTPC Take old setup / may upgrade it.

Motherboard = Abit AV8
CPU = AMD 939 Sandy 4000+
Memory = 3Gb DDR400Mhz
GPU = ATI Radeon HD 4650 AGP 8X
Hard Drive = 120GB O/S Win XP SP3
Hard Drives = 2 X 40gb 1 X 20GB for video files
TV Tuner = MSI TV @nywhere plus /works real well
PSU = Orion 585Watts

Maybe I upgrade this PC better CPU and Better HD and drop a satallite card in it and keep using it has my main HTPC /My friend is using it now.
it needs a case, the curent case is a modded case in a snap-on tool chest big



Many PCI slots
FrankTurbo is offline  
 
post #1024 of 1073 (permalink) Old 2011-12-20, 09:43 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 954
Ahhh yes, the dreaded capacitor plague! I have yet to experience it in a motherboard (knock on wood), but I have experienced it in 2 other electronic devices - a FTA receiver, and an AVR receiver.
Classof83 is offline  
post #1025 of 1073 (permalink) Old 2011-12-20, 10:12 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dandelion City
Posts: 7,131
Component failure due to overheating very much depends on the individual device. For CPUs, the individual CPU rating must be referenced. I've seen CPUs with maximum temperatures as low as 55c and others as high as 100c. (Intel and AMD publish these figures.) Support chips must also be considered, especially with motherboard video chips, which tend to run quite hot and usually have passive cooling. Air flow and ambient temperatures have a big effect on these components. Many disk drives are rated to operate at up 60c and I've seen them generate errors and fail at slightly over 60c.

At 20 I had a good mind. At 40 I had money. At 60 I've lost my mind and my money. Oh, to be 20 again. --Scary
ScaryBob is offline  
post #1026 of 1073 (permalink) Old 2011-12-20, 11:36 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,334
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsambuca View Post
I assume so, seeing that I suggested you look up 'capacitor plague' in the first place
Sorry, I missed that post. Serendipitously I had to look up the topic a couple of months ago as a power adapter for my Hauppauge HD-PVR failed. Here is an interesting blog article on the issue.
Wayne is offline  
post #1027 of 1073 (permalink) Old 2011-12-20, 11:38 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,334
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScaryBob View Post
Support chips must also be considered, especially with motherboard video chips, which tend to run quite hot and usually have passive cooling.
In the instance of Sandy Bridge processors, which is what I have in my build, is the video chip not integrated into the CPU?
Wayne is offline  
post #1028 of 1073 (permalink) Old 2011-12-20, 12:45 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 3,370
Wayne,

The important thing to remember is that the CPU (which is the CPU and GPU in your case) will monitor its own temperature, and if it gets too hot it will slow down to cool off. Even if you select a case that has craptastic cooling and air flow you chip still won't die because it will slow down to protect itself.

The capacitor issue is unrelated and probably irrelevant in your case. The era of bad capacitors in the popular PC motherboards is past us, at least for reputable vendors. Most of the motherboard manufacturers elect to use high quality capacitors these days, including Zotec, and use it as advertising material.

Here are two quotes from reviews of your motherboard:

Quote:
Layout idiosyncrasies aside, the Zotac is remarkably well specced, with on-board 802.11n wireless, four USB 3 ports (two rear-mounted and two via a header), and an on-board clear CMOS button. The board also uses high-quality chokes and capacitors for its VRMs, as opposed to the cheap iron core chokes found on the Foxconn.
(source)

Quote:
Zotac has even bothered to use high quality chokes and capacitors in the power circuits of the H67-ITX Wi-Fi
(source)

I know that every Asus and Gigabyte motherboard that I've purchased in the past 5 years or so have had what are advertised to be high quality "solid" capacitors and I haven't seen any "capacitor drama" about those boards in the tech media.


TLDR? Don't worry - be happy. Your setup will probably be just fine, even if you choose to transcode video 24x7 for the next ten years on it. The most likely causes of death of your CPU/motherboard will be static or power surge related, and even those are remote.
audacity is offline  
post #1029 of 1073 (permalink) Old 2011-12-20, 01:08 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,700
That is some good info, thanks Audacity. I must be holding onto some paranoia based on a couple of older bad experiences.
rsambuca is offline  
post #1030 of 1073 (permalink) Old 2011-12-31, 10:53 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London Ontario, Pioneer Kuro PDP-5020FD, Panasonic TC-P55ST60, Pioneer VSX-1326-k, HTPC, PS3, PS4
Posts: 113
Almost done my HTPC build......just waiting for the Optical Drive (which is being shipped) and of course the purchase of the Case.

Thoughts on the build?
CPU: Intel i3-550 LGA 1156 (GOT IT)
Motherboard: Zotac H55-ITX Wifi (GOT IT)
Memory RAM: Corsair XMS3 4GB DDR3 (GOT IT)
Hard Drive SSD: OCZ Vertex II 60GB (GOT IT) (will host the OS and apps)
Hard Drive HDD: Seagate Barracuda 2TB (GOT IT) (will host my media)
Optical Drive: LG-CT21N-OEM (ORDERED IT) (awaiting its arrival)
OS: Windows 7 Home (64bit) (GOT IT)
Case: SilverStone Sugo-06 450W Power Supply (NEED IT)

Now I plan to install XBMC on the HTPC, is that the best way too go? Really like there interface straight forward......etc. With cover art looks awesome.

Now you may notice above that there is no GPU, I am planning to just use the on board video (there is HDMI out) for the following build. Are there any pros to go to an independent GPU for my build. The Intel On-Board graphics should give me the 1080p I am after correct?

Planning to plug the HTPC to my newly purchased Pioneer VSX-1326-k which then takes it up to the Display which is a Pioneer Kuro PDP-5020FD. Is there a specific HDMI port I should use on the Receiver (dedicated slot) for the HTPC?

Any info greatly appreciated.
wozman is offline  
post #1031 of 1073 (permalink) Old 2011-12-31, 12:05 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Nepean, ON
Posts: 373
That's a beauty box you've got there, but I didn't see a digital TV tuner card. Why turn your back on commercial free recordings, networking livetv,recordings,videos and music throughout your home(and your phone)?

Srvr:ASUSF1A75-VPro,RadHD6000,A6-3670K,WD2TB,W7Ult
NPVR,5.1,2xHaup2250MC,ATI650,CM7777,WGHD8800,5clts
OTAJuncqui is offline  
post #1032 of 1073 (permalink) Old 2011-12-31, 03:11 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London Ontario, Pioneer Kuro PDP-5020FD, Panasonic TC-P55ST60, Pioneer VSX-1326-k, HTPC, PS3, PS4
Posts: 113
I was debating on adding a tv tuner card (only have one pci slot) with my mini-itx board.

Was going to add one in the future, maybe I should put it in the build now? What model should I be looking at too complete the build?

I do have a Rodgers PVR 8300 part of this home theatre setup already.
wozman is offline  
post #1033 of 1073 (permalink) Old 2011-12-31, 07:28 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Nepean, ON
Posts: 373
with only one slot open a dual tuner would be smart i.e. Hauppaugge 2250 MC kit(includes remote) but I am pretty biased on that. Chances are that your PVR is a constant struggle of what to keep and what to dump because of storage limitations. Why not record to your hard drive in the future(only because the price of HDs has jumped due to flooding in Thailand). My 2TB drive was only $89 two months ago (now $189).

BTW-where are you located?

Srvr:ASUSF1A75-VPro,RadHD6000,A6-3670K,WD2TB,W7Ult
NPVR,5.1,2xHaup2250MC,ATI650,CM7777,WGHD8800,5clts
OTAJuncqui is offline  
post #1034 of 1073 (permalink) Old 2012-01-01, 01:01 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,334
I don't know that it makes much difference but a 450W power supply is about 3-4X what you will need. I doubt your system will pull more than 100W or so when everything is at full load.

You might also want to consider Plex in addition to, or instead of, XBMC.
Wayne is offline  
post #1035 of 1073 (permalink) Old 2012-01-01, 02:03 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dandelion City
Posts: 7,131
A TV tuner card is not necessary. USB tuners (Hauppauge 850q) and TCP/IP tuners (HDHomerun) are a good alternative. The 450w P/S is overkill but is included with the case. A 250w-350w P/S would be adequate for this build. I wouldn't go below 200w with the Intel i3-550 (max TDP 73w) and 2 HDs, especially if a tuner card is added. An Intel Atom board and one HD might be OK with a 100w P/S.

At 20 I had a good mind. At 40 I had money. At 60 I've lost my mind and my money. Oh, to be 20 again. --Scary
ScaryBob is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome