Help me Build New HTPC (Post here to discuss plans for new HTPC) - Page 5 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #61 of 1073 (permalink) Old 2007-06-27, 11:36 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
I have the X1250 on my Asus M2A-VM motherboard and am also having problems with underscan (about an inch all the way around) and the new Catalyst drivers did nothing for me.

TurboTropic - did you get that new video card or are you still using your onboard ATI video? From you pictures, you don't have an underscan problem and I was wondering if you found a fix?
Broncowolf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 1073 (permalink) Old 2007-06-27, 11:55 AM
Q
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oakville
Posts: 3,974
mine was overscanned and it is easy to fix.

in you go into the ATI control box there is somewhere an option to ADD. This will bring up a default which you have chosen. I chose 1920 x 1080. Then you just scale up or down the resolution till it fits on your screen perfectly.

Then you choose to use that resolution and done.
Q is offline  
post #63 of 1073 (permalink) Old 2007-06-27, 03:53 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Ok, I did what you said and it worked! I have it set up pretty well now, I think.

One thing though, I couldn't get it to work at 60 Hz. It only works at a setting of 30 Hz. Do you think this will cause problems with my TV or video card?
Broncowolf is offline  
 
post #64 of 1073 (permalink) Old 2007-06-27, 04:17 PM
Q
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oakville
Posts: 3,974
I couldn't find it either. I think it is possible but never played around with it enough.

As far as I know. Multiplies of the frequency are fine. So 30, 60, 120. I have a CRT RP though. Not sure if it matters for other types of monitors.

Glad you got it to work with the resolution
Q is offline  
post #65 of 1073 (permalink) Old 2007-07-13, 03:22 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Posts: 489
Your set may only support 1080i, which is 30 frames per second (60 fields per second).

Jeff

HiDef DLP . . . and lovin' it!!
jeff1960 is offline  
post #66 of 1073 (permalink) Old 2008-01-04, 04:20 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 187
HTPC for $500 max....possible???

Need to put together a pc\htpc for my parents. It's mainly going to be used for internet, dvd burning, music, pictures, and the odd classic games for my dad.

The budget is $500 max and this is just for hardware, we will used some already owned softwares, monitor, keyboard and mouse.

So please put together something for us, based on all the info above.

Thx in advance

PS: prefer intel 4 or amd equivalent cpu, onboard graphics and video, and slightly bigger HD
Bullseye is offline  
post #67 of 1073 (permalink) Old 2008-01-04, 04:25 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,469
If you don't go for a fancy case you should be able to do it for that price. You just need to shop carefully.
jvincent is offline  
post #68 of 1073 (permalink) Old 2008-01-05, 10:39 AM
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Shore of Montreal
Posts: 132
«hardware» is vague since we dont know what type of output you would need (Composite? VGA? DVI? HDMI?). Quickly checking ncix's prices + specials:

~85$ ASUS M2A-VM HDMI mATX AM2 AMD 690G DDR2 PCI-E16 PCI-E1 2PCI Video HDMI Sound Motherboard
~75$ AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Dual Core Processor AM2 2.2GHZ 2X512KB 65W 90NM Retail Box
~45$ 2xCorsair Value Select PC2-5300 1X1GB DDR2-667 240PIN DIMM
~100$ Western Digital SE16 500GB SATA2 7200RPM 16MB Cache 8.9MS NCQ Hard Drive OEM 3YR MFR Warranty
~35$ LG G-H20L-S10 Black DVD+RW 20X8X16 DVD-RW 20X6X16 Lightscribe INT SATA DVD Writer OEM
~100$ Antec NSK2400 New Solution mATX Desktop Case 2X5.25 2X3.5INT 380W ~100$ ATX12V V2.0 Silver Black

Total: ~440$.

Note: I prefer to use full size towers such as the Sonata III for about the same price (more expansion possibilities and a more efficient/powerful PSU) but some dont like normal towers in their living room. The 380watt PSU may be limiting if you want to put a recent high end video card in the system at some point.

Last edited by TheIceMaster; 2008-01-05 at 10:44 AM.
TheIceMaster is offline  
post #69 of 1073 (permalink) Old 2008-01-21, 11:32 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2
Question New HTPC

I'm building my first HTPC. I've already bought the following:

Case: Thermaltake Mozart SX VC7001SNS
Power supply: Thermaltake Toughpower 700W modular
CPU fan: Thermaltake Golden Orb II

I'm having a hard time deciding which motherboard to buy. The fact that it has to have a PCIE x16 in the 6th position to accommodate the raiser card restricts the available choices severely. This PC will also be the file server for the home network so dual RJ-45 would be a nice bonus. The GIGABYTE GA-X38T-DQ6 was at the top of my short list until I read more reviews. I would like to stick with a DDR3 mobo. Any suggestions?

Cheers!!
RadBad is offline  
post #70 of 1073 (permalink) Old 2008-01-22, 10:09 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Brampton
Posts: 23
Help me to Build New HTPC

Folks

I read quite a few threads for How to Build New HTPC but I think I have different requirement then others so I need advice from Expert HTPC Folks

My Requirement
----------------
I am trying to Build system with Vista Ultimate
System that Capable to Play Blue Ray (For Future)
Not much interested in PVR
Play Downloded DIVX

Watch OTA HD Chanels
Watch DVB-S HD Chanels with either ProgDVB or MyTheatre
Watch Local Cable Chanels - Rogers


My questions is what Kind of H/W do I need ( specially Display Card, DVB-S HD Card, OTA HD Card, etc..)

Current System I Got..if I can use the same or No Problem to Build New

P4 3.0 Ghz HT, 1 GB Ram, 500 GB HDD, MCE Remote/KB Combo, Wireless Internet card... I do have sat installed watching DN

Your suggestion is highly appreciated...

BTW I Do have Yamaha Home theatre System with HDMI and 47" 1080P LCD so If I can Get Display Card with HDMI would be Gr8

Last edited by motojj; 2008-01-22 at 10:13 AM. Reason: More Information
motojj is offline  
post #71 of 1073 (permalink) Old 2008-01-23, 02:22 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 4
Any comments on this? Primarily I want something that will play downloaded content and DVDs, with TV being a secondary consideration. Also, it would be nice to be able to play a few games and use the box for general downloading and file server duties. I'm also trying to go for best "bang for buck" performance. So far I'm looking at:

Case: Silverstone Lascala LC13
PSU: Corsair VX450W
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
CPU: Intel E8400
HD: WD Caviar SE16 500 GB
RAM: 4 GB (2x2GB) PC2-8000
Video card: Video card: Asus 8600GT Silentcool 256 MB
TV Card: Hauppuage PVR-150
Keyboard: BTC 9029URF-III MCE Wireless Keyboard
Plus: a DVD burner; replacement quiet cooling options for the case, CPU, etc; some kind of mouse.

I'll be hooking this up to a DCT700 (on Shaw) for TV input and a Sony 5.1 receiver for sound output and HDMI splitting duties. TV is a Toshiba Regza 32HL66.

OS will probably by WinXP Pro SP2 for now; maybe upgrading to something 64-bit in the future. I've been looking at Meedios and Media Portal as a front end.

Any comments, good or bad?
bpyoung is offline  
post #72 of 1073 (permalink) Old 2008-01-25, 07:31 PM
.
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, ON
Posts: 6,296
Quote:
I've already bought the following:
Case: Thermaltake Mozart SX VC7001SNS
Power supply: Thermaltake Toughpower 700W modular
Bad choice fo case and power supply. See this review on the case. The power supply is much too large for an HTPC. a 450w-500w high efficiency PS would be better. Buy the largest disk drive available (1GB WD or Hitachi power saving drives) with an option to add a second low power drive later. The difficulty in choosing a MB also discounts the case. Try an ASUS P5K ATX MB. Use a next generation 45nm C2D and low power video card to reduce heat problems.
I_Want_My_HDTV is offline  
post #73 of 1073 (permalink) Old 2008-01-25, 08:17 PM
.
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, ON
Posts: 6,296
Quote:
Case: Silverstone Lascala LC13
PSU: Corsair VX450W
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
CPU: Intel E8400
HD: WD Caviar SE16 500 GB
RAM: 4 GB (2x2GB) PC2-8000
Video card: Video card: Asus 8600GT Silentcool 256 MB
TV Card: Hauppuage PVR-150
Keyboard: BTC 9029URF-III MCE Wireless Keyboard
Plus: a DVD burner; replacement quiet cooling options for the case, CPU, etc; some kind of mouse.
You appear to be on the right track. 2GB of RAM should be enough. LC-17 and LC-20 cases are worth considering. An ATSC tuner might be worth considering where you live. LG DVD-RW drives are quiet and relatively small, good qualities for an HTPC. Arctic Cooling Freezer Pro CPU coolers are a good deal and work well. They need full height cases though. Arctic Cooling 1000 RPM fans are quiet and efficient. I like the Logitech LX7 Cordless Optical Mouse. It has good range and there are good deals available. (I purchased one for $20 and I've seen them as cheap as $13.) I use a Logitech "Mulimedia Mouse" (similar to the LX7) but they have been discontinued. Gyration also has some good mouse products.

MediaPortal is worth a look. I tried Meedios but, since development of the original application has ceased, it has a doubtful future.

Last edited by I_Want_My_HDTV; 2008-01-25 at 08:33 PM.
I_Want_My_HDTV is offline  
post #74 of 1073 (permalink) Old 2008-01-25, 08:31 PM
.
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, ON
Posts: 6,296
Quote:
System that Capable to Play Blue Ray (For Future)
Quote:
P4 3.0 Ghz HT, 1 GB Ram, 500 GB HDD, MCE Remote/KB Combo, Wireless Internet card...
I doubt this system will handle BD. (That also depends on the video card.) Your requirements have been addressed in other posts and treads but your current system should handle it (assuming a capable video card.) Something like this should handle BD:
Quote:
PSU: Corsair VX450W
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
CPU: Intel E8400
HD: WD Caviar SE16 500 GB
RAM: 2 GB (2x2GB) PC2-8000 (edit)
Video card: Video card: Asus 8600GT Silentcool 256 MB
I_Want_My_HDTV is offline  
post #75 of 1073 (permalink) Old 2008-01-30, 04:35 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 25
how good are SD-DVD upconverted with a HTPC? Is it has good as Reon based players?
S.Koivu is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome