playing Blu-Ray movies via component - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 2007-09-27, 10:57 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Outaouais, Qc
Posts: 14
playing Blu-Ray movies via component

I'm looking at adding a blu-ray drive to an htpc to be able to watch blu-ray movie.

On the Pioneer site, on the BDC-2202 page, they mention that to be able to play HD movie you need
"MONITOR & GRAPHICS CARD CONNECTION: DIGITAL: HDMI or DVI (HDCP compliant) OR ANALOG: D-Sub VGA supported (adapter may be required)"

I have an older TV set with Component cable only. Am I out of luck for playing HD movies?
lachance is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 2007-09-27, 12:29 PM
Digital Sage
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,469
You will probably need to use AnyDVD-HD to be able to watch BluRay over component.

AnyDVD comes with a trial period so you could test it out. Of course you would need to buy the driver and player S/W first as well.
jvincent is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 2007-09-27, 12:41 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,321
I'm not into this technology, however, until there is an ICT in place isn't component video fine for at least 1080i signals? (The cable can handle more, but the device may not output more). I realize this is an HTPC and not a player.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 2007-09-27, 02:56 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 910
Generally speaking the component output from computers really sucks in quality compared to VGA/DVI, also adapters etc may not even work in the first place.

With the current prohibiting price of internal HD players, you might as well get something standalone.
PPL4GOLF is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 2007-09-27, 09:19 PM
Digital Sage
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,469
Component output from a video card is, for all intents and purposes, as good as VGA. You might be confusing component with composite or S-video from a video card.

All of the component outputs on video cards that I am aware of use exactly the same DACs for component as for VGA.
jvincent is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 2007-09-28, 01:01 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 910
Good to hear...I am over generalizing, but the 2 mobos I got with integrated 'HDTV' component output are both bad...DVI/VGA were fine.
PPL4GOLF is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 2007-10-02, 11:23 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Outaouais, Qc
Posts: 14
Thanks for the replies.
If I decide to go ahead and try this out I'll post the results.
lachance is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome