Question about DVI Cable from Video Card to Monitor - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 2007-01-21, 04:06 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Question about DVI Cable from Video Card to Monitor

I bought a 19" widescreen lcd that supports DVI, because someone told me in order to use HDTV you need a monitor with DVI or HDMI (I think) support. However, I don't know what usage the DVI cord is. I can't figure out where to plug it in.

Thanks,
Brian
sunkentheory is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 2007-01-21, 04:52 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Vancouver - OTA, Pioneer KURO Elite Signature PRO-141FD, 27" iMac, WDTV Live.
Posts: 2,781
What is the make and model of the LCD? Also, what is the make and model of your Videocard?
Cyclism is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 2007-01-21, 04:55 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
He's using an ATI HDTV Wonder that he's having trouble with. Maybe he needs a DVI adapter?



stampeder is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 2007-01-21, 05:07 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Vancouver - OTA, Pioneer KURO Elite Signature PRO-141FD, 27" iMac, WDTV Live.
Posts: 2,781
The ATI HDTV Wonder is a tuner card, not a GPU (I believe) so we will need to know what the make and model of the videocard is. If the videocard only has a VGA output, then as stampeder notes, you will need a VGA to DVI-I adaptor.
Cyclism is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 2007-01-22, 01:53 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 6,296
Quote:
If the videocard only has a VGA output, you will need a VGA to DVI-I adaptor.
I doubt that will be useful as it would just provide DVI-A, which provides no advantage over VGA. Many monitors (and HDCP) require DVI-D. It's best just to run a VGA cable if that is all the video card supports. To take full advantage of DVI, a video card that supports DVI-D and HDCP is required. Since such cards are in short supply right now, it would be best to wait until DVI video cards that support HDCP become cheaper. Unless the monitor supports both DVI and HDCP, the question is somewhat moot anyway. Any VGA or DVI video card should be Ok. Just use whatever cable supplied with the monitor that works. If no VGA cable was supplied, the one from the old monitor should work.
I_Want_My_HDTV is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome