All About Building An HTPC (MoBo, CPU, Cards, Other Gear, Software) - Page 8 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #106 of 340 (permalink) Old 2007-07-29, 01:26 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 910
Q,
The Pure Element is not compatible with the LC11 if I need to use and of the PCI slots.
If you look closely, even though the first slot is PCI-E, it is actually in the second slot!!
PPL4GOLF is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #107 of 340 (permalink) Old 2007-07-29, 01:29 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 910
For Captain Jack,
You also want to look at the ATI 2600XT, ATI mobo and ATI graphic card gives you a few more functions like 3-4 monitors support.
PPL4GOLF is offline  
post #108 of 340 (permalink) Old 2007-07-29, 03:51 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Fredericton, NB
Posts: 3,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by PPL4GOLF
If you look closely, even though the first slot is PCI-E, it is actually in the second slot!!
Not on the PI series. Take a look...

PI-AM2RS690MHD

It has 1 x16, 1 x1 and 2 PCI. That is 4 slots and none of them are shared.

The board that Jack bought was the PE-AM2RS690MH .

His purchase is in no way inferior to the PI series but the PI has additional features that some may want. Like firewire, additional USB and the better positioned PCI-E x16 slot.
que3jxp is offline  
 
post #109 of 340 (permalink) Old 2007-07-29, 07:48 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 910
Yes and No...

While I can use the PCI-E (if I were to plunge another $50CAD for the PCI-E riser), I still can't use the PCI slots because they have to be adjacent to the PCI-E (and in the PI, it is the PCI-E x1). The TV cards I have around are all Legacy PCI's.

Believe, I would very much love to have the HDMI port on the mobo itself.
PPL4GOLF is offline  
post #110 of 340 (permalink) Old 2007-07-30, 07:40 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Southern Ontario
Posts: 1,066
Quote:
Originally Posted by que3jxp View Post
To add to Jack's discovery, there is also the Sapphire PI-AM2RS690MHD. It picks up where the PE-AM2RS690MH leaves off and has:
  • 3 internal USB connectors (Total of 10 internal and external USB. Two more than the PE)
  • 2 internal firewire connectors (PE has none)

And to PPL4GOLF's issue, the PI-AM2RS690MHD also has the PCI-E x16 slot in the right place for use in cases like the LC11 and the LC04.

You know Jack, this is a sweet find! Thanks! Just too bad you had to buy it second.
One lives and learns, I got so fed up with that other mobo, that I just felt like smashing it up, and that is what is going to happen to it.
jacksparrow is offline  
post #111 of 340 (permalink) Old 2007-07-30, 07:40 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Southern Ontario
Posts: 1,066
Quote:
Originally Posted by PPL4GOLF View Post
For Captain Jack,
You also want to look at the ATI 2600XT, ATI mobo and ATI graphic card gives you a few more functions like 3-4 monitors support.
Whichever card I end up with, has to be HDCP compliant, because the board ain't
jacksparrow is offline  
post #112 of 340 (permalink) Old 2007-07-31, 12:02 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
Reccommend a Motherboard / Videocard

I like to build a HTPC but need advice on which motherboard or Video card to get. My requirement is that it has to play 1080p flawlessly, also needs to work with blue ray dvd, and uses HDMI.

Thanks.
BodhiDharma is offline  
post #113 of 340 (permalink) Old 2007-07-31, 12:56 PM
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ottawa,Ont,Canada
Posts: 941
Try this for a start...

Asus P5K (either full or mATX)
Intel e6600
ATI HD2600XT or Nvidia 8600gt or gts
2GB DDR2 ram
BHoward is offline  
post #114 of 340 (permalink) Old 2007-07-31, 02:17 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Nepean, Ontario
Posts: 2,980
That's pretty close to my setup:

Asus P5K
Intel E6600
2GB of DDR2-800 RAM
8800 GTS 320MB Video Card
darrylr is offline  
post #115 of 340 (permalink) Old 2007-07-31, 03:01 PM
.
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, ON
Posts: 6,296
Question

Does the 8600GT do HDCP?

DVI and HDMI video are compatible. The only difference is that audio cables must be run separately with DVI.
I_Want_My_HDTV is offline  
post #116 of 340 (permalink) Old 2007-08-02, 12:58 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Fredericton, NB
Posts: 3,185
Here is some awesome news for all of us 690G owners!!!

http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=41419
que3jxp is offline  
post #117 of 340 (permalink) Old 2007-08-02, 04:51 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Southern Ontario
Posts: 1,066
sweet ......nice one
jacksparrow is offline  
post #118 of 340 (permalink) Old 2007-08-02, 08:43 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Fredericton, NB
Posts: 3,185
Also...

I looked on the ASUS site and they now have a beta BIOS available so I imagine everyone (Mobo makers) are just about to release the updated BIOS and then it is off to the AMD/ATI site for the latest IGP driver pack!!!

Yay!!!
que3jxp is offline  
post #119 of 340 (permalink) Old 2007-08-05, 08:23 AM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Fredericton, NB
Posts: 3,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by I_Want_My_HDTV
Does the 8600GT do HDCP?
That is a very valid question as there are, believe it or not, some versions of even the newest cards that are not coming HDCP compliant. It is all down to the board maker as all of the GPUs have been capable/ready since late 2005 but noone implemented the HDCP chip on the vid cards till early spring of 2006.
que3jxp is offline  
post #120 of 340 (permalink) Old 2007-08-15, 06:49 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Fredericton, NB
Posts: 3,185
I just can't stop playing/spending!!!

So I have been back at it again!!!

The prices on RAM, CPUs and such have got so low that I just could not hold off any longer.

The bedroom HTPC got upgraded to an AMD X2 setup so I figured that I would update this thread so my HTPC adventures are still updated. I have commented on my upgrade in other threads but it should be in here too.

Precisely, I upgraded to:
  • AMD X2 4000+
  • 2 x 1GB DDR2-667
  • ASUS M2A-VM HDMI (AMD 690G based motherboard)

One thing to keep in mind if you are building a new HTPC and you plan on using onboard video, is that although the Intel C2D CPUs are faster than the AMD X2s, the new AMD 690G based motherboards are debateably the best boards to use. The 690G chipset is only available for AMD CPUs.

As I have comments all over the place on other threads, I will summarize my 1 month of use of this new setup:

If you are looking for confirmation on how much horsepower you may want for the future or if onboard video can perform, the answers are:

Get a dual core anything! I must say that although the previous guts were quite responsive, it is VERY nice having a dual core CPU so that the multitasking nature of an HTPC is smoothed out. Every press of a button on the remote is immediately responded to now.

Yes, onboard video can get the job done! In particular, the new AMD 690G based boards and the latest drivers now bring performance that we ALL would never have associated with onboard video. AMD now rates the 690G as 1080p in MPEG2, VC-1 AND H.264 capable so long as the CPU is at least an X2 4600+ and you have at least 1GB of DDR2-667.

The only issue to watch out for with the 690G boards is that there are some that are laid out well and some that are not. For instance, the ASUS boards are good but there are much better out there. Excellent options are the Sapphire PE-AM2RS690MH, Sapphire PI-AM2RS690MHD and the Gigabyte GA-MA69GM-S2H. The best thing to remember is that there are many board makers that are producing 690G solutions and if one board layout is not what you need, another board maker likely has a design that fits your needs.
que3jxp is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome