MCE, HDTV, HDMI to Rogers SA box - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 2005-12-31, 10:23 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 27
MCE, HDTV, HDMI to Rogers SA box

What I am trying to do is to connect everything to my MCE box. Here are my components and how I would like to connect them.

Samsung SPR-4212 Plasma 42 inch tv (would like to connect via HDMI as I am pretty sure HDTV won't work properly using VGA and yes I know it's EDTV and only supports 480P native and upverts to 1080i-ish)
SA Rogers HDTV Box (currently using the PVR version but would like MCE to do the recording now but need HDMI input into the computer)

I started to look at ATI's site and it is very confusing on what is supported with HDTV and HDMI.

Some notes. I need HDCP (the copy protection used with HDMI) to be supported as most DVDs don't seem to play and I don't want to have to decyprt a DVD to watch it.

Is there an external IR blaster to help the MCE work with the SA HDTV digital box?

I seem to be fighting the forces of copy protection all the time. Please do not send me any solutions that require OTA HDTV, component, composite or S-Video connections as I am aware how to do that. I need HDTV and I need digital.

Look forward to your responses and Happy New Year!

Nathan Freedman
Oakville, ON, Canada
riptorn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 2005-12-31, 12:07 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,148
HDMI is a connection that is only used for displays. No consumer recording devices will have HDMI, DVI or component video connections capable of recording HD. (ones that have CV inputs are limited to 480i)

See the Digital Home FAQ on "recording HD". The only way to record HD is via firewire and the firewire ports on the SA DVRs are not activated (yet), while the firewire ports on the SA STBs we have in Canada are also not activated (they are in the US, but the activation depends on the firmware, not on the STB).

You will not be able to "circumvent" the forces of copy protection.

If your TV is an EDTV then this doesn't matter much anyway. An EDTV doesn't upconvert to 1080i, it's the other way around. All incoming signals are converted to the native resolution of 480P (I tried looking on the web for the model but came up empty, do you have a link?)

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 2005-12-31, 12:26 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 27
Thanks 57 for the info. So now I am going about this in a different direction and I am still not having any luck. Since HDTV can also be sent over component cables with almost the same quality how about a component input card for the PC. You would think this is possible but...can't seem to find one.

The electronics industry is brain dead. They finally come out with a cable that can carry digital signals (both audio and video) and they don't add any intelligence to the standard. Daisy chaining would be a good start and tags so that the components know what to do. I guess that is what the 2.0 standard is for. Everything they forgot to do. Did they not look at firewire or usb as a starting ground. Once again copy protection takes front seat and customer easy of operation and digital integration is put on the back burner. I didn't know I could steal movies online until an ad told me it was possible in the theatre (good work guys). But now I am ranting.

Nathan...
riptorn is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 2005-12-31, 12:30 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,148
As I stated earlier, even if you did find a consumer recording device/card with CV inputs, they would be limited to 480i (by the device).

It's the way it is.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)

Last edited by 57; 2005-12-31 at 12:48 PM.
57 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome