HTPC upconverting quality - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 36 (permalink) Old 2005-12-25, 12:48 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 77
HTPC upconverting quality

So I've been using my HTPC to upconvert DVD movies with ffdshow for a few months now. IMO it looks even better than a low end LG upconverting player purchased from FS. I'd like to know how HTPC users feel about the upconverting quality of their machines. Are there reasonably priced upconverting players out there or is a HTPC with ffdshow/dscaler pretty good for it?
WilJP is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 36 (permalink) Old 2005-12-25, 01:48 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 823
I love the picture I get from ATI's DVD player upconverting to 1360 x 768. I have the ATI all-in-Wonder X600 Pro connected via DVI to my Acer AT3201W widescreen HD-ready TV.

I only have a 480i DVD player on component inputs to compare with. It is markedly inferior to my HTPC.

Plus ATI's videosoap makes my DVR recordings look better than the original cable broadcast.
Michael DeAbreu is offline  
post #3 of 36 (permalink) Old 2005-12-25, 02:19 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,194
I just got my new htpc setup and the picture quality on a Hitachi Pj-tx10 projector (854*480 1/4 HD chip) looks almost as good as the output from the 6412 hd cable box. It kills the quality out of the upconverting dvd player. The dvd player is being demoted to the basement this weekend.

TBD yet again :)
ctown6412 is offline  
 
post #4 of 36 (permalink) Old 2005-12-25, 11:50 PM
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ottawa,Ont,Canada
Posts: 941
I upconvert to 1776 x 1000i using 1080i timing. It lloks better than my HD 8300HD when looking at regular HD shows but a little worst that say a HD Football game.

It is great!
BHoward is offline  
post #5 of 36 (permalink) Old 2005-12-27, 03:23 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Richmond Hill, ON
Posts: 686
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilJP
So I've been using my HTPC to upconvert DVD movies with ffdshow for a few months now. IMO it looks even better than a low end LG upconverting player purchased from FS. I'd like to know how HTPC users feel about the upconverting quality of their machines. Are there reasonably priced upconverting players out there or is a HTPC with ffdshow/dscaler pretty good for it?

Okay, I haven't done this yet but I'm planning on trying it....

Couple of questions:

Which DVD player software are you using in conjunction with ffdshow (i.e., TheaterTek, ZoomplayerPro, or other....)?

I'm using an PowerColor X700 Radeon video card......if you are using an ATI card, which workaround (i.e., DVDIdle, AnyDVD) are you employing to defeat ATI's 480p output restriction?

Thanks in advance for any and all replies....
bete_noir is offline  
post #6 of 36 (permalink) Old 2005-12-28, 12:17 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 77
I have zoomplayer pro and theatertek but I like ZPP for ease of use.

As for the 480p limit, I think it only applies if you're using ATI's native player with their dongle. It's definitely displaying more than 480 lines of resolution. I am using DVI>HDMI through an Energy adaptor but will try the DVI>component ATI adaptor and post my results.
WilJP is offline  
post #7 of 36 (permalink) Old 2005-12-29, 05:05 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Richmond Hill, ON
Posts: 686
update on HTPC DVD postprocessing

Got it all working today with TheaterTek ver2.2.1.12 and ffdShow. No need for DVDIdle or anything like that, I am upconverting 720 x 480 to 1776 x 1000 - the same as J. Schipmann advises in the HTPCNews article. Used his suggested settings for blur & noise reduction and resize & aspect....I had some weird interlace motion artefact for awhile, and the usual difficulties getting output to both monitor and HDTV (using ATI CCC settings: extended desktop/theater mode/scale to full screen on secondary monitor, and in Theater Tek video settings choose "monitor 1"), but the results are well worth it. The video quality difference playing "Manchurian Candidate", for instance, is readily apparent, as you can switch back to non-postprocessing output in TheaterTek while you're watching......more like a true home theatre experience when you combine it with 5.1 surround sound. Sweeeeeeet.....

Now I just need a bigger monitor than my Samsung TXN2668WHF.....

Last edited by bete_noir; 2005-12-29 at 05:20 PM.
bete_noir is offline  
post #8 of 36 (permalink) Old 2005-12-29, 09:29 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Richmond Hill, ON
Posts: 686
damn Macrovision...

Oops, spoke too soon. Just tried a Macrovision CP DVD (Trailer Park Boys) and the output to the TV monitor via the component cable was just a bunch of coloured blocks. Time to find that copy of DVDIdle......
bete_noir is offline  
post #9 of 36 (permalink) Old 2005-12-30, 08:14 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,898
Quote:
Originally Posted by BHoward
I upconvert to 1776 x 1000i using 1080i timing.
I got my machine to work at that resolution as well last night.

All Windoze apps are useless visually, but with Media Portal as a front end, it's irrelevant.

I noticed a detailed improvement over my 588A (which is not an upconverting player), and the grey sidebars I used to get with 4:3 material are now black. That's a big plus !

Slideshow pictures look great too.

I'm using a DVI/HDMI connector.

Even at (I think the 648? resolution) DVD's look definitely more defined and more detailed in dark areas. I am not using ffdshow or any other processing. My 'old' XP1600 won't handle the crunch (I think).

simplicity is genius...
filper is offline  
post #10 of 36 (permalink) Old 2005-12-30, 02:45 PM
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ottawa,Ont,Canada
Posts: 941
You can get an even better picture with the right tweaks in FFDShow ... but you are right, an XP1600 is not enough power.
BHoward is offline  
post #11 of 36 (permalink) Old 2005-12-30, 02:48 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by bete_noir
Oops, spoke too soon. Just tried a Macrovision CP DVD (Trailer Park Boys) and the output to the TV monitor via the component cable was just a bunch of coloured blocks. Time to find that copy of DVDIdle......
Might simply be the fact that you're outputing to two monitors at the same time.
WilJP is offline  
post #12 of 36 (permalink) Old 2005-12-31, 05:58 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Richmond Hill, ON
Posts: 686
AnyDVD fixed the problem

I fixed it with AnyDVD. Works great now......

bete_noir is offline  
post #13 of 36 (permalink) Old 2006-01-01, 03:42 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 823
What's the Point?

Don't get me wrong, I love my HTPC.

But what is the point of building a hot machine that can do Faruodja quality video upconversion when the component video output is going to be crippled by a Macrovision protected DVD?
Michael DeAbreu is offline  
post #14 of 36 (permalink) Old 2006-01-01, 09:10 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,469
If you use AnyDVD or DVDidle to strip the Macrovision on the fly then you can upconvert via component without any issues.
jvincent is offline  
post #15 of 36 (permalink) Old 2006-01-17, 08:35 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Richmond Hill, ON
Posts: 686
update

Also got excellent results upconverting DVDs with Media Player Classic (freeware) and ffdShow (also freeware)....you may have to back off some of the settings if you get some jerkiness but the resize to 1776 x 1000 really looks gorgeous on an HD monitor. Don't forget to use AnyDVD or DVDIdle if you are outputting via component cable to your TV instead of HDMI....or macrovision will ruin your day.

bete_noir is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome