PC Card OTA Software Problems - MCE, ATI, Avermedia, Etc. - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 155 (permalink) Old 2005-07-10, 03:51 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 145
PC Card OTA Software Problems - MCE, ATI, Avermedia, Etc.

I am currently running Media Center 2005 with ATI HDTV Wonder card. I'm getting full signal on 9-1 but the channel isn't coming in anymore. It worked fine up until a few weeks ago. I've tried to add 40-1 but get no signal on that channel. Does anyone know what frequency the channel is actually on?

fish

Roger Cable 3250HD | JVC AV48WP | Panasonic DVDRP-82 | Kenwood VR-509 | XBOX
poisson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 155 (permalink) Old 2005-07-24, 09:11 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 257
There is still a problem with CTVs DTV channel. I get audio-only on 9-1. My ATI card doesn't have any procedure for manually selecting 9-2 or 9-3. I'm deleting this channel from my list for now.
johnnysmoke is offline  
post #3 of 155 (permalink) Old 2005-08-22, 01:45 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 439
Still seeing a black screen on CFTO

I just picked up my HDTV wonder last weekend and am experiencing the problem reported by poisson and Lex with CFTO. That is, the signal strength on 9-1 and 40-1 is excellent, but there is no sound and the screen is simply black. Other than CFTO, my reception experience is similar to other GTA reports here.

poisson and Lex, did you ever get CFTO working on your HDTV wonders?
ralph_sinclair is online now  
 
post #4 of 155 (permalink) Old 2005-08-22, 02:12 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Markham -- Bayview & Steeles
Posts: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by ralph_sinclair
I just picked up my HDTV wonder last weekend and am experiencing the problem reported by poisson and Lex with CFTO. That is, the signal strength on 9-1 and 40-1 is excellent, but there is no sound and the screen is simply black. Other than CFTO, my reception experience is similar to other GTA reports here.

poisson and Lex, did you ever get CFTO working on your HDTV wonders?
Must be your card -- because my built-in ATSC tuner on my TV works fine since the PSIP problems were fixed. The only thing I still get wrong is the time and program info -- it only says DTV program.
intrac is offline  
post #5 of 155 (permalink) Old 2005-08-22, 02:12 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by ralph_sinclair
I just picked up my HDTV wonder last weekend and am experiencing the problem reported by poisson and Lex with CFTO. That is, the signal strength on 9-1 and 40-1 is excellent, but there is no sound and the screen is simply black. Other than CFTO, my reception experience is similar to other GTA reports here.

poisson and Lex, did you ever get CFTO working on your HDTV wonders?
I'm having the same problem with my Avermedia A180. I get signal, but no image or sound. I've mapped to 9-1 with a frequency of 43, I've tried 43-1, -2, -3. Nothing. Other channels come in great.

Ken
Kenbo is offline  
post #6 of 155 (permalink) Old 2005-08-23, 07:53 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 145
I am still having the issue as reported. I'm not using the ATI sofware, I'm using MCE2005. There is an MCE based thread in the HTPC forum if you want to check that one out too.

fish

Roger Cable 3250HD | JVC AV48WP | Panasonic DVDRP-82 | Kenwood VR-509 | XBOX
poisson is offline  
post #7 of 155 (permalink) Old 2005-08-31, 01:22 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 257
I'm also still having the same problems with my ATI HD card for CFTO-DT. Audio is there, video is black. It's been like this for a few months.
johnnysmoke is offline  
post #8 of 155 (permalink) Old 2005-09-25, 02:07 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Ontario
Posts: 172
I've been having lots of problems getting CFTO on my newly-built Windows Media Center PC w/ ATI HDTV wonder card. Most times when I tune the channel it says no TV signal, but sometimes it comes in perfectly. Changing the channel back and forth a few times works on occasion.

Forget about setting up timers for programs

not having any problems receiving it on my other PC w/ the MyHD MDP-130 card

what is CFTO up to?
plutoz is offline  
post #9 of 155 (permalink) Old 2005-09-25, 02:14 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Markham -- Bayview & Steeles
Posts: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by plutoz
I've been having lots of problems getting CFTO on my newly-built Windows Media Center PC w/ ATI HDTV wonder card. Most times when I tune the channel it says no TV signal, but sometimes it comes in perfectly. Changing the channel back and forth a few times works on occasion.

Forget about setting up timers for programs

not having any problems receiving it on my other PC w/ the MyHD MDP-130 card

what is CFTO up to?
Must be an ATI issue. My TV is fine. No more issues with CFTO since earlier this year.
intrac is offline  
post #10 of 155 (permalink) Old 2005-09-25, 09:51 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by ralph_sinclair
FYI I have found that using the HDTV wonder and setting the channel as physical channel 40, major channel 9 and subchannel -1 (first available), I am able to tune into CFTO-DT... sometimes. I just keep flicking back and forth until it works. Good enough to get me some Canadian Open golf this weekend anyway.
I don't see where you can even manually set physical, major or subchannels with the ATI software. I got video on CFTO-DT once but I can't get it back now.
johnnysmoke is offline  
post #11 of 155 (permalink) Old 2005-09-26, 08:51 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Ontario
Posts: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by intrac
Must be an ATI issue. My TV is fine. No more issues with CFTO since earlier this year.
Hrrmm, are you (or anyone else) using Windows MCE w/ another card? just curious if it is in fact ati or mce
plutoz is offline  
post #12 of 155 (permalink) Old 2005-09-26, 11:27 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 257
I'm using the ATI software version 9.1.
johnnysmoke is offline  
post #13 of 155 (permalink) Old 2005-09-26, 07:26 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1
ATI HDTV Wonder and CFTO-DT

I have experienced a similar problem. I currently have a problem ticket open with ATI. I'll let you know how I make out.

I also have a Sony KD34XS955 which includes an ATSC tuner. The Sony has no problems with CFTO-DT.
Aidan A. O'Brien is offline  
post #14 of 155 (permalink) Old 2005-09-26, 10:39 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mississauga and Toronto
Posts: 175
Hello,
I'm new to this forum, found u guys on google.
I recently bought the ATI HDTV Wonder card and everything works just fine, up until a few days ago now im having trouble with ctv, before I would have to switch channels up/down then it would work, now its once in a blue moon i cant get video, otherwise its just audio, no matter which program i use both watchhdtv and ati dtv problem. At least I now know that I'm not the only one.
dcorreia is offline  
post #15 of 155 (permalink) Old 2005-09-28, 09:13 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 145
It is pretty difficult to try and troubleshoot this problem with the information we have available. I'm glad to see someone was able to open a ticket with ATI for this issue as they don't currently offer support with this product. Hopefully we will see some resolution soon now that CTV is "officially" on the air.

fish

Roger Cable 3250HD | JVC AV48WP | Panasonic DVDRP-82 | Kenwood VR-509 | XBOX
poisson is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome