Chromecast Discussions - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 52 (permalink) Old 2019-07-20, 06:17 PM Thread Starter

Chromecast Discussions

Just bought a $45 dollar google chromecast devce (not the ultra model)

so far it works good with youtube and other apps. But there are issues with the TSN app

i tried streaming a cfl game yesterday. It was ok but not great, a little choppy. Just wanted to know what i could do to improve the live stream?

My modem and wifi is super old (15 years), and i was thinking of buying new equipment. Would that make a difference?

What if i would have bought the Ultra model instead, would that be better for sports?

Does that phone device that i'm casting from make a difference? I'm using a MOTO E4.

thanks for all your help in advance and please note i'm a bit of a rookie when it comes to stuff like this
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 52 (permalink) Old 2019-07-20, 09:13 PM
Veteran

Quote:
My modem and wifi is super old (15 years), and i was thinking of buying new equipment. Would that make a difference?
Yes. It's likely that the wifi is very slow compared to recent models. It's probably also very insecure. There have been significant improvements to wifi modems in the last 15 years. I suggest you get a new modem that supports 5GHz and AC, at least an AC1750 model.
post #3 of 52 (permalink) Old 2019-07-21, 03:16 PM Thread Starter

thanks for the advice

more information and opinions are welcome

post #4 of 52 (permalink) Old 2019-07-21, 05:43 PM
Veteran

Quote:
What if i would have bought the Ultra model instead, would that be better for sports?
Only if you have a 4K TV. It's possible that TSN is the source of the issues.

Quote:
Does that phone device that i'm casting from make a difference? I'm using a MOTO E4.