Chromecast Discussions - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
Digital Home Canada

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Consumer Electronics and Home Computing > Home Theatre Personal Computer (HTPC) and Media Extenders
Home Forum Favourites Active Topics Help Register Today's Posts Search Calendar Advertise

Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes

Unread 2019-07-27, 06:32 AM   #16 (permalink)
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 7,919
Quote:
In Ontario, Rogers often provides free modem upgrades and speed upgrades due to the improved efficiency of newer units.
I'm on Rogers. When I got a new one, I got a new plan that saved me about $50/month and enabled IPv6. I run it in bridge mode, with my own firewall/router.
__________________
I haven't lost my mind. It's around here...somewhere...
JamesK is online now   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Unread 2019-07-27, 07:03 PM   #17 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 84
thanks for all the help and info guys and girls.
Classy1 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Unread 2019-08-01, 04:49 PM   #18 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 84
just talked to a shaw rep.

He said that you need 8mbps to properly steam HD and that you would lose speed on wifi compared to being wired. live streaming on wifi is not recommended.

thoughts?
Classy1 is offline   Quick reply to this message
 
Unread 2019-08-01, 05:21 PM   #19 (permalink)
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 7,919
^^^^
That depends on the WiFi. With modern equipment, you'll get much more than 8 Mb. I have no problem streaming over WiFi and it's only "g" WiFi. On the other hand, if it's only 802.11b, then yeah, you could have problems.
__________________
I haven't lost my mind. It's around here...somewhere...
JamesK is online now   Quick reply to this message
Unread 2019-08-01, 09:29 PM   #20 (permalink)
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43░ N, 81.2░ W
Posts: 8,021
Agreed. I get the full internet connection speed with wifi and an AC router. It's as good as wired unless I'm in a weak signal spot. It sounds like the Shaw rep is trying to blame the problem on wifi in general when the problem is really with their crappy 15 year old router. Like I said before, I'd be looking for another internet provider. That Shaw plan sounds like a ripoff.
ExDilbert is offline   Quick reply to this message
Unread 2019-08-02, 04:26 PM   #21 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 84
just received a new modem/wifi router from shaw.

Cisco DPC3825

I guess it's better than the old one.
Classy1 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Unread 2019-08-02, 05:22 PM   #22 (permalink)
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 7,919
Quote:
Cisco DPC3825
That looks like one I had on Rogers a few years ago. The WiFi is only up to 802.11n and on 2.4 GHz only. I had to change modems to get IPv6, as Rogers wouldn't provide it with that modem. I got a Hitron instead and also a $50/month cut in my bill.
__________________
I haven't lost my mind. It's around here...somewhere...
JamesK is online now   Quick reply to this message
Unread 2019-08-02, 10:57 PM   #23 (permalink)
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43░ N, 81.2░ W
Posts: 8,021
Quote:
Cisco DPC3825
That's still an incredibly outdated and possibly insecure modem/router. Shaw is ripping you off.

I think the problem here is the slow speed plan. Not sure what the current plan is but Shaw's Internet 15 (Mbps) plan is ridiculously overpriced. Their Internet 100 (Mbps), 500GB plan with a better modem is much better and is just $10 more but still overpriced. Right now they are offering that for $50/mo for 24mo to new customers so there is probably room for negotiation. I would call Shaw and see if they will offer a better deal with an upgrade. I see that Teksavvy has Cable 75 (Mbps) Unlimited Internet in some western areas for $50/mo plus modem purchase. (About $13 for 12 mo.) I would mention the Teksavvy price for your location as part of the negotiation. If Shaw won't budge on pricing and modem I would sign up with Teksavvy. Do not cancel with Shaw as that could cause service transfer issues. Teksavvy will take care of the cancellation. Be sure they know that Shaw is the current internet provider.
ExDilbert is offline   Quick reply to this message
Unread 2019-08-07, 07:51 PM   #24 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 84
shaw didn't rip me off because the modem was free. Unless your suggesting that my old connection was better (Motorola Surfboard SB 5102 with a data transfer rate of 30 MB/S and download speeds of 10/100 mbps +my wireless has 2.4 GHz, 54 MPBS, and, 802.11G)

I streamed a MLB baseball game off youtube last week and the quality was very very good. I streamed a CFL game off the TSN app and the quality was very very bad.

I guess for me it's all dependent on weather or not a website/app has chrome casting capabilities. You tube has it, and TSN doesn't.

I tried streaming a game off the sportsnet app (because they have Chromecast capabilities). But for some reason it wouldn't let me sign in (even though I am a sportsnet subscriber through my cable company.) I've read lot of complaints about that crummy app.
Classy1 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Unread 2019-08-07, 09:36 PM   #25 (permalink)
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43░ N, 81.2░ W
Posts: 8,021
The modem is not free since most ISPs include modem rental in the price. When I said Shaw was ripping you off, that included the internet plan and modem. Other ISPs offer much better plans for the same or lower price. Even Shaw offers better plans and modems for a lower price. From the information given, it sounds like Shaw is charging $68 for 10Mbps internet and a ridiculously outdated modem. If so, that's a very bad deal.
ExDilbert is offline   Quick reply to this message
Unread Yesterday, 02:59 PM   #26 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Delta BC
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by ExDilbert View Post
.... it sounds like Shaw is charging $68 for 10Mbps internet and a ridiculously outdated modem. If so, that's a very bad deal.
I concur on the ridiculously bad pricing and equipment offering by Shaw. As suggested, you should research other providers and then see what Shaw Loyalty Retentions can offer. Be informed and firm on what it will take to keep you as a customer.....be prepared to walk if they won't budge.

Fortunately, I happen to be served by Telus using their fibre optic network. My current promotional price, for 2 years, is $50/ month at 150mbs up/down including a router that supports both bands plus offers a guest network. Feel free to use this information as part of your bargaining with Shaw.

I have multiple Chromecast devices in the house, have no issues streaming (apart from TSN) and range is not an issue.

All the best.
Skifan.
skifan is offline   Quick reply to this message
Unread Yesterday, 11:00 PM   #27 (permalink)
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43░ N, 81.2░ W
Posts: 8,021
Quote:
My current promotional price, for 2 years, is $50/ month at 150mbs up/down including a router that supports both bands plus offers a guest network.
Shaw offers something similar to new customers for two years. The problem is that a lot of areas just have cable internet or fibre internet, not both. In that case, prices tend to be higher and the ability to switch is more limited. TPIAs like TSI and Start are usually an option but they often have limited offerings. TPIAs typically max out at 250Mbps where 1Gb internet is available from incumbents. Here in Ontario, Start and TSI customers sometimes suffer mysterious outages that don't affect Rogers customers. I rarely had issues with TSI when I was with DSL but the switch to cable changed that.
ExDilbert is offline   Quick reply to this message
Unread Today, 03:06 PM   #28 (permalink)
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Stratford, PE.
Posts: 3,710
Hey. Aren't we getting a little off topic? What does Shaw have to do with Chromecast?
reidw is offline   Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


 
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:45 PM.

Search Digital Home


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.