Wireless HD Transmission - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 2014-10-27, 12:44 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Kingston, Ontario
Posts: 436
Wireless HD Transmission

Hello, I have a TV in my bedroom that I'd like to connect to my Shaw 650 receiver. Getting wires to it is not an option so I am looking for a wireless solution. Since the Shaw receiver only has one HDMI output and it is being used I will need to use the component outputs to feed the HD signal to whatever transmitting box I purchase. I have looked at a few of these transmitters on the internet but it is hard to find one that has component (RGB) inputs. I also have a Roku attached to this TV and I have a media computer running Plex however I'm not sure if any of that would help. Any advise would be appreciated.
jcol is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 2014-10-27, 01:08 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 4,462
Buying 2 Monsoon Vulkano LAVA used to be an option, but the company's financial situation makes it difficult to recommend.
The more expensive Slingbox may be an option and using the Roku (not all Roku's have Slingbox built in) as your viewer.
Look up the term Place Shifting.

When it comes to humility, I am the greatest!
magnet is online now  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 2014-10-27, 02:31 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
Brite View make a product that would work, I have one, not sure of the model, works great.
Pinza is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 2014-10-27, 03:28 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: St Catharines
Posts: 1,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcol View Post
Any advise would be appreciated.
I have the same set up you want.

I have been using this for 1.5 years: http://www.iogear.com/product/GW3DHDKIT/

The hdmi runs out of your STB into the iogear box and then out the your TV.

Works perfect!

Cheaper on amazon.
dsspredator is online now  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 2014-10-27, 03:41 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
Here is the one I use;

http://www.amazon.ca/brite-View-BV-2.../dp/B0043BPZWA

I have it connected to a Bell HD Receiver and a Blu Ray.
Pinza is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 2014-10-28, 11:12 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Kingston, Ontario
Posts: 436
Thanks for the replies. I hadn't thought about the pass through HDMI feature. I will check out both the Brite-View and the IOGear.
jcol is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 2014-10-30, 10:21 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Toronto,
Posts: 1,348
Have a question:
Can iogear or brite-view do 3 TV's? i.e., it comes with only one receiver for the 2nd tv, but if I want to add a 3rd tv, can it be done?

Yammy RXV2400 & CDC815, Celestion DL8 fr Mission 73Ci ctr Sansui rear Velodyne CHT8, Vaio TT180, [email protected]
e268 is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 2014-10-30, 10:50 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 188
Quote:
I also have a Roku attached to this TV
I would also consider magnets Sling option.

A Slingplayer attached to the Shaw Direct receiver and the Slingplayer app installed on the ROKU would probably be cheaper - depending on which Slingplayer you get - as well as reducing the clutter in your bedroom since you wouldn't have to add any extra gear.
Wetware is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 2014-11-26, 10:51 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
Quote:
Originally Posted by e268 View Post
Have a question:
Can iogear or brite-view do 3 TV's? i.e., it comes with only one receiver for the 2nd tv, but if I want to add a 3rd tv, can it be done?

Yes, as far as know.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Pinza is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 2014-11-26, 11:06 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 559
I would go for Wetware's idea. I have a SlingBox, that transmits to a SlingCatcher - which are no longer being sold. I bought the Catcher around 2009... I still remember telling Best Buy employee's what it was and what it does when it came out, as they had no idea, and instead of them getting me some questions answered for it, they phoned Sling directly and handed me the handset in store to talk to Sling!

Afterwards, I explained to the Best Buy employees exactly what the SlingCatcher does, and told them additional info I got from Sling about my questions. I was talking to (training) 5 or 6 of the Best Buy employees at once after I got off the phone with Sling! I'll never forget that. I never got compensated either by Best Buy for training their employees!

But since the SlingCatcher is no longer made, and the SlingPlayer is available on a multitude of devices now, including the Roku, you'll only need the SlingBox anyways.
Simonizer is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome