Best device for movie rentals in Canada? - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 24 (permalink) Old 2014-04-25, 08:07 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,573
Me too, Netflix, Hulu, Amazon, BBC, etc
brownstar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 24 (permalink) Old 2014-04-26, 06:15 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,130
@brownstar some folks don't like not having a physical remote. That was pretty much why the chromecast was rejected in my house. I have performance issues with mine as well which didn't help. Although that has more to do with just tuning the wireless to cover the front living room a bit better. Still I have two hard wired connections for the two main TVs. This makes hard wiring the Roku and Xbox a no brainer.

peternm22 don't discount a gaming console for your needs, even used ones (assuming they are newer models only however) for about the same money. Both the Xbox 360 and PS3 function fantastically as media machines. The PS3 has optical out I can't say for sure on the newer models same with the 360. Of course PS3 also has built-in Blu-ray support + cinema now app. You would need a converter for the remote unless your harmony supports Bluetooth. The Xbox 360 supports regular IR commands but the damn thing requires an annual live subscription for the video apps but there sure is a lot of them. Cinema now + Xbox Video for movie rentals vimeo, vevo twitch CBC and Hockey Night in Canada. I think you get the picture.
j0dest3r is offline  
post #18 of 24 (permalink) Old 2014-04-26, 09:48 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,573
I understand that but as the Netflix app, for example turns the phone into a touch screen remote I cannot understand the difference other than habitual comfort.
brownstar is offline  
 
post #19 of 24 (permalink) Old 2014-04-26, 10:01 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,237
I don't need to look at my remote to use it. By tactile feel I can bring up lists, hit play, FF, etc. Something that simply cannot be done with a touchscreen. To each his own, but I prefer to be able to feel my way around, not to have to look at a remote.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #20 of 24 (permalink) Old 2014-04-27, 12:05 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,573
As you say, each to their own.....I had a configurable touch screen remote for my home theatre for about 7 years so I'm used to it, is the price differential between a Chromecast & Apple TV really worth it just to be able to use a remote with buttons when it would take a few days to get used to a touch screen?
brownstar is offline  
post #21 of 24 (permalink) Old 2014-04-27, 12:51 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 796
Quote:
Originally Posted by 57 View Post
I don't need to look at my remote to use it. By tactile feel I can bring up lists, hit play, FF, etc. Something that simply cannot be done with a touchscreen. To each his own, but I prefer to be able to feel my way around, not to have to look at a remote.
Same here, I prefer buttoned remotes.

Bill
My blog
blueroomelectro is offline  
post #22 of 24 (permalink) Old 2014-04-29, 11:12 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,130
I use an iPod touch with the chrome cast. It works fine, but takes a bit longer to spool up Plex content v.s. the Roku. I find it easier to navigate the collection on the big screen as well instead of the little screen due to aging eyes. As you say, personal preference.
j0dest3r is offline  
post #23 of 24 (permalink) Old 2014-05-02, 09:58 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 15
Can you change the DNS on Chromecast or Roku? Seems not. We've got two AppleTV's and two iPads getting Netflix US by simply chaining the DNS. No extra cost at all. Works very well.

I was thinking about the ROKU 3 because of the headphone jack in the remote which I thought would be great for a handicapped son who likes turning the volume up. Problem is having to change the DNS on 2 wifi routers. I tried that today and it was not as simple and easy as simply putting in a current working US DNS (that one can quickly find on the web) in the device. Also, the touch remote on the AppleTV does work very well.
grandriver125 is offline  
post #24 of 24 (permalink) Old 2014-05-03, 05:58 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,573
There are many devices that allow you to change the DNS setting locally. And yes you can get a US DNS for free but there are services such as Unotelly that give you much more control than simply accessing US Netflix.
brownstar is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome